We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding holiday at Olives”
Review of Olives Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Olives Homestay
Ranked #2 of 82 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding holiday at Olives”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I couldn't wait till I wrote this review. I chose this place based on previous reviews on Trip Advisor and was little sceptical to be honest. However from the minute I entered this beautiful place till I checked out, I was completely mesmerized by the charm of the property and the hosts. We (me, my wife and our two kids) stayed here for 4 nights between 27th to 31st December. The property has 4 rooms. We stayed in one of the rooms on the first floor which is newly constructed and has wonderful interiors. There is common dining and sit out area where you can spend hours doing nothing.

Biju took care of everything from arranging vehicles for our sightseeing to personally dropping us to Kalpetta town couple of times. Despite being very busy in his other commitments, he was always a phone call away . During breakfast and dinner time, he would always be around to ensure all the guests are properly taken care of.

Last but not the least, delicious food prepared by Raji. This has to be the highlight of the entire holiday. We had opted for breakfast and dinner in our package. Raji, next time we will make sure you include even Lunch in it.

We will surely be back very soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nitin12092014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    41
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
166
118
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Biju Thomas & his wife Raji are both professionals but ensure that the guests are well looked after. Biju is always present during breakfast & dinner(we did not have any lunch). Food is excellent. Raji tries out variations every day and the preparations are very tasty. There are 4 double rooms with lots of common spaces available around to sit down and enjoy the time. The rooms are well provided and elegantly furnished. Biju guides the guests with local maps, routes for local sight seeing. Overall an excellent stay.

Room Tip: The better rooms are the one at the flanks(one new, one old). Three rooms are on the first floor &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chandanmohinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Really a good place to hang out and very much accessible for site seeing. Place was simply superb and the food was amazing. Raji and Biju were very much helpful to make the stay memorable. The quality of the services were really excellent with reasonable prices. We strongly recommend this place for your stay in wayanad.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamPrathipati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hosur, India
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We travelled to Wayanad on 6th December 2013 and stayed 2 nights at Olives Homestay.

Rooms: Every Room's Interiors are fantastic, very thoughtful design. Personally liked the King size bed and Watch tower in our room (middle room at first floor).

Food: One of the Best and First thing to do at Wayanad is to have a food at Olives Homestay. Very Very tasty , Good quality and quantity….finally Its home made.

Don’t require to think too much….Go here and have fun. Mr. & Mrs. Biju Thomas always make your stay pleasant at their facility.

Room Tip: Total 4 rooms, All are Best in their way of Arrangements/Uniqueness...! 3 rooms at first floor rema...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manikandan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

a 4 day trip at this place was a truly awesome experience. Raji and Biju, welcomed us to this cozy place which is situated in the midst of hills and plantations around. Meticulously done up apartments, superb hospitality and warmth is what we needed and what we got when we went there. Raji is an excellent cook. the quality and variety of food served was way above any resorts offer. I cannot forget the fish fry, chicken roast, idiappams, custard, appams, idlis, dosas, and lots.. All so fresh, hot and made with love... :) Rest.. the photos should explain all... I

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachana8679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We ,four senior citizen friends travelled to Wayanad on15th of November and stayed at Olives. Because of harthal on 16th we were forced to leave. Even though we couldn't explore much, the little time we spend there was really nice. Biju and Raaji made us very comfortable in every little thing we wanted. Food was very good and tasty.The few collection of books and magazines were a good thought but we had no time. The location was not far from town but a quiet place..Biju's design of rooms are different and good. Elders who can't climb stairs may find the place difficult, otherwise it is a beautiful place to relax and enjoy Raaji's food.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BangaloreMathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at Olives between 11th November to the 13th November 2013 and had 3 rooms booked. One for my husband, son and I , one for my cousins and one for my parents. The Thomases- Raji and Biju (even their little daughter) are extremely hospitable. Their staff are also very prompt and professional. Raji, we couldn't stop discussing all the delicious and elaborate meals you so lovingly cooked for us and served fresh and hot! Biju, thanks for all your tips and for constantly enquiring if we reached safely even after we left.

All the 3 rooms at Olives were extremely comfortable and very clean. The right-most room is very modern but doesn't beat the view from the one on the left. All rooms are beautifully designed and differently done. The little lounge with books and magazines is very well thought of. We loved the dining area too. Everything about Olives makes us want to come back for more. Thanks Biju and Raji for the fond memories you've given us. P.S.- Raji, the leach bites from Chembra peak are fading but we'll never forget our hike and the rogue elephant ;-). Little v remembers you both :)

Best,
Deepti, Vijay, little v, Rakesh, Roopa and The Raos

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruckus_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
7.4 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#7 of 22 in Kalpetta
794 reviews
7.3 mi away
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
6.4 mi away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#3 of 22 in Kalpetta
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Vythiri Village Resort
5.8 mi away
Kudajadri Drizzle Homestay
2.4 mi away
Planet Green Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olives Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olives Homestay

Property: Olives Homestay
Address: Carolina gardens, Kalpetta 673121, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Olives Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olives Homestay Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing