We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepper Green Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pepper Green Village
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

We reached PGV on the 23rdMar'12. Me n my husband had booked the Garlic Cottage. The place on the first look did not excite me much. Our cottage was close to the entrance and hence we had not yet looked around the whole place. Though the facilities are nothing fancy and rather basic, yet PGV amazed me by its simplicity. The location of the property is one of its biggest attractions. Its bang on the bank of the Kabini river, and like the fancy sea resorts have their personal beaches, PGV has its personal river bank!!! Just Loved IT!!! The staff there were nice n co-operative, special mention of Mr. Nitin (resort Manager). Food was simple and tasty (loved their Buttermilk!!). Its was the perfect weekend getaway. The place is kept very neat which again is a big Plus point!
Overall my personal opinion about Pepper Green village is that its a nice place for a weekend getaway with family & friends!

Room Tip: Choose the lavender room, which is the last room at the end of the resort and faces the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paromitab16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    70
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
108
57
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Pepper Green Village resorts is ideally places very close to Kuruva island. This place is full of trees, just next to a river and the bamboo huts are amazing. The rooms were quite big, made of bamboo with a beautiful balcony facing the fields. The bathroom was clean. The staff is very helpful and friendly and quick in service. They are eager to accomodate any special request. We wanted to make our barbeque in the evening, wanted some help from the staff and they helped us with all the stuff.
I drove from Bangalore, via Srirangapattana (mysore road) -> Hunsur -> Nagarhole sanctury->Kutta -> Tholpetty->Kattikulam->PGV resport and the road is in excellent condition all throughout. The drive through Nagarhole sanctury with some sights of deer and elephants were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manoj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Actually we were traveling to Waynad. But as we were tired of driving, we planned to stay in PGV by reading trip advisor reviews.

The bamboo cottages were very clean. Rooms were very simple, neatly furnished. You sit in balcony and can enjoy the beauty of nature with every sip of tea. Kabini flows on the other side of the resort. Nice view.

The early morning walk in the plantation b/w those green plants, Its an awesome experience.

As we visited in November, It was exactly the same way as it looks in pics... green every where.., chilllllllllllll weather, birds music. There is no noise of vehicles , no disturbance, no pollution. Its just green.

Food was good. We tried some kerala food. It was of different taste. You cant find varieties. But you can enjoy and ambiance was good.

There is option of few activities. Fishing, swimming, billiards, trekking, kuruva Island visit.. You can try.

I would recommend anybody for a leisure stay completely filled with pepper plantation and green , .

We felt , it is little bit costly... But it is memorable one in our life. You will never regret for visiting here. :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anupama G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

PGV is located nicely, adjacent to Kuruva Island and very close to Tholpetty and Bawali forests. Ideal for trekkers in forests. Very peaceful.

We were two couples with kids. Journey from Bangalore via Mysore and Nagarahole was uneventful. The Nagarahole road was not bad, but has many bumps some of them difficult to negotiate.

We stayed in Ginger-Garlic twin bamboo cottage made like a tree house. The cottages were nicely designed and clean. the beds, bathroom were clean and comfortable. It had a very good balcony. Only problem was constant sound of the borer insects eating the bamboo in the night, but we got used to that.

Though the resort lacks in amenities, it is well maintained. The staff is very courteous, especially the manager, Nitin who even accompanied us on one of our treks into the forest. The food quality needs improvement and variety.

We went for night safari in adjoining forests and encountered many elephants, gaurs and deers. We also saw elephants on a forest trek. A trip to more popular locations in Wayanad were not enchanting due to the Christmas crowd.

The resort is slightly over-priced for facilities offered. But, considering the overall experience, we did not mind it too much.

Room Tip: Choose the cottage by the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arun_Murthy_65a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

This resort is heaven and hell.

The location & Treenhouse rooms are amazing, however, for the $$$ room rate . Our rooms weren't cleaned or towels changed in 5 days. We were advise we were allow 1 bottle of Drinking water per room for 5 nights & 1/4 roll of toilet paper.... that pathetic its not a cheap hotel .Only 15% of the menu was actually available. On our day of departure (7.00am) we could not get breakfast as the kitchen wasn't open until 8am that day. lots of little annoying things.

Its really hard to pinpoint how the staff thought as no tours or services were offered .They were never rude but not helpful in any way. Little things really got on my nerves e.g.like being surcharged for breakfast juice (included in room rate) , Tea is not available after your meals unless you order 1 hour prior . I felt that when the Bangalore Weekend crowd arrived on saturday everything changed and everything improved- if you are there midweek its optionless.

This property is confussed on what it wants to be . Its has the most amazing location and rooms but no service . It is not a resort in the modern sense fo the word.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

the resort was great. as the name described there is pepper and green all around,beautiful resort to relax with nature and pets (rabbit,ducks,dog,fish) around neat cottages,good room service, great food, close to river & other places of interest & very friendly people giving excellent service.

Room Tip: higher floors rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vidya21415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

One of the best resort I have come across with a silent environment , cleanliness as home. The food served was simple and best. Truly value for money. Thanks to nitin and team for making our stay memorable one

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venkams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
14.7 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#2 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
7.9 mi away
Wayanad Blooms
Wayanad Blooms
#1 of 2 in Kenichira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
15.3 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#1 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Wayanad Wind Resort
Wayanad Wind Resort
#5 of 80 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pugmarks Jungle Lodge
Pugmarks Jungle Lodge
#2 of 12 in Mananthavady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
17.4 mi away
Planet Green Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepper Green Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Green Village

Property: Pepper Green Village
Address: Near Kuruva Island | Palvelicham, Kartikulam, Mananthavady, Kalpetta 670646, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The land, here, stands clothed in all shades of green. Sink into the space, the silence borrowed by Pepper Green from nature. The Village was not built. It does not trespass nature. It blends. It simply is. Pepper Green beckons - fill your senses with the aroma of wood, bamboo, lemon grass. Fill your eyes with green. Transport yourself to an ancient way of being, where time was a silken yarn at the fingertips of nature. Unwind and Rewind!! Unleash the poet, the artist, the writer in you or simply immerse yourself in zazen. Meet yourself!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pepper Green Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepper Green Village Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing