We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hospitality,Best View Of Chembra Peak” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planet Green Plantation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Planet Green Plantation Resort
Ranked #5 of 80 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pondicherry, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hospitality,Best View Of Chembra Peak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

excellent view of nature,good accomodation, clean beautiful surroundings, good escort by shaiju, homely food by cook, verygood service by radhakrishnan and justin....nice place to relax ourselves from our busy lifestyle

Room Tip: premium suite rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinothsystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    159
    19
    2
    5
See reviews for
200
123
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Pick the Tree House, it's an ideal place to relax and unwind memories. A real good experience that you may have to go through to believe. You will definitely feel the rooms are clean and cozy compared to many resorts. They specialise in South Indian Food especially Kerela cusines. Get to eat the food of your choice and spice up your taste buds. One of the major highlight of this resort is the hospitality, they are extremely courteous and kind. Radhakrishnan and Justin are the two people in the resort who are always on top of the game and will ensure your stay is memorable.

Note: Plan your travel well. If you are traveling from bangalore I suggest a drive on your own, buses are extremely tiering.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sivaram83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Very good hosts. Excellent walk through the tea and coffee estates.. Beautiful sunset and good host ramakrishna and Justin guiding our way through ... Recite facts about the local food , culture , etc

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santoshsmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

#1 STAFF WAS GREAT. #2 VIEW IS BREATHTAKING. #3 Grounds are very nice. #4 Way out if you want to get away.
The staff tried so hard. Note this a westerner's review.
Beds are awful. Mattresses like boards and the pillows were so thin. (they did try to make it better and moved us to a suite and got somewhat thicker pillows). Food is more a Home stay and not a resort. You have a general request of type of food, but it is family style.
Lost electricity at 3:30 in morning on last night. Turned out to be a breaker or fuse, but we ended up getting ready in the dark to leave the last day.
No AC, more for humidity. No Screens on windows to keep out bugs. NO HOT WATER (I asked and was told to flip the lever to the left and turn on hot and wait 5 - 10 minutes. I complained again and just assumed no hot water. Someone else checked in on our side of hotel the last day of our visit and the last morning there was scalding water that I could not make warm. (Had to bath with a bucket) Wireless only on the other end of the hotel. (I manage IT services and this would be an easy fix with 3 or 4 CISCO Wireless Access Points (WAPs) and a single controller for a small investment. It would provide seamless wireless throughout property.) Linens should be checked and thrown out if torn, stained or worn. I expected (a travel agent booked it) 4 start hotel and ended up feeling like I was camping with a TV. Last suggestions, keep the property litter free (the area down the slope under the tree house had litter scattered all about), spend some money on some paint, new furniture, a few rugs, some throw pillows and some local art or textiles for the walls. It would warm the place up and keep rooms looking updated, clean and less stark.
Value your staff, they are amazing and I gave three stars due to their efforts. Most likely my travel agent's fault, but my expectations were not met in the hotel. People and guests, yes. Property, no.

Room Tip: Stay to the right of the office facing the building if you want wireless access and uninterrupted ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelfenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Resort is 5 km from kalpetta bus station. Once you go there you are in for an experience unlikely to be topped. We were a family of five and everything we needed was available at the door step within a matter of minutes. The view from the balcony is gorgeous and almost tempts you to stay at the resort rather than go for other spots in wayanad. All services promised were available better than you would expect. Food was simply superb. You can give your preferance in advance so that you find what you want. Dont plan for dinner outside. The prices are very economical and the quality of food is top notch. Service from the resort staff Mr. Radhakrishnan, Mr Akshay and Mr Justin is very pleasant. They are the most friendly and caring people you are likely to see in a hotel. Mr Radhakrishnan also took us for a 6 km walk around the nearby plantation. The driver suggested by the resort (Mr Aziz : 9447297990) was so friendly and service minded that we ended up visiting his place and spent an hour drinking payasam (local sweet drink) with his family after sight seeing. No bargaining required as the prices are so nominal and the experience is so good that you are likely to end up showering praises on them. This is the best hotel experience i have ever had. Suggest this place for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thiaghu1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We (couple) stayed here for 3N/4D in 3rd week of November 2013. I would like to call Planet Green Plantations more as homestay rather than resort. And when you say homestay, everything is as comfortable as you are staying at home. This is one of the budget hotels in Wayanad but still rooms are quite good. They are always well maintained & clean. Intially you feel like the space is cramped and there is not much space to move around in resort but once you enter room, its a different feel. Rooms are spacious (Premium) and view is excellent. There are plenty of trees, birds, butterflies in front of you along with huge tea plantations. And you also get good view of Chembara peak although it depends on weather how dramatic it will look. Another point I was really happy about was that rooms had proper cotton mattress instead of springbox bed. I felt this as huge plus point as it gives excellent sleep compared to spring mattress which you find in most hotels. Hot water is available throughout the day. Candlelight dinner with cake was arranged for us as per package. Staff at resort are excellent and they take very good care of you. Mr Radhakrishnan & Justin were very helpful to us throughout our stay. Mr Radhakrishnan in particular will offer lot of local information about surroundings if you are interested in talks. They will also take you for a walk to adjacent tea plantations. Its little long walk and mini hike to reach the place but its worth it once you get there. You get good views and from one point, you can also view nice sunset, if you are willing to walk a bit more. You can go as many times as you want. Food is excellent as you will find at home. They always ask you what you prefer for each meal. So each time you can make specific request if you want. We enjoyed local kerala food on all days and it was excellent. Internet WiFi is suppose to be available but router had problem when we visited so we couldn't connect to internet from room. Although Asif offered to use computer/internet from front office if you need to any urgent task. Overall I would say its a great place if you just want to relax for few days (which is excatly what we did) and not bother much about sightseeing. Although cab for sightseeing is also available if you ask. Shaiju is one of the driver who works here and he knows all places and road very well and more importantly he speaks excellent Hindi so that's a plus point. Since we didn't really wanted to go for much of sightseeing, we loved this place eventhough its bit isolated. Overall a very good experience.
-Abhijt & Shyamala

Room Tip: Go for premium rooms. They are at upper level so offer good view and more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhijit2184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
274 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

I had seen from the earlier reviews of Trip advisor on this resort regarding the excellent treatment they got from the staff of Green planet foundation resort. Now I understand that they had made understatements. It is something to be experienced than to believe what some one says. This type of overwhelming cutomer care, not only from the staff but also from the management compensates any shortcoming about this resort. That does not mean that there are short comings.
As a regular tourist staying in so many resorts and Hotels I always feel that the following four are the most important requisites for a comfortable and pleasant stay. 1. Ambience of the Suit or Room which gives you nice feeling and peaceful sleep. 2.Food 3. Cleanliness of the bathroom and 4. The spontaneous and instant care from the staff. This resort is excellent in the first three and outstanding in the fourth.
Mrs. Aparna Anand, the M.D of the resort, whom I have not seen or met personally, co-ordinated everything from the booking to my other needs, sitting far away in Belgaum, just by phone itself. I was very much impressed with the way she spoke on the Phone and explained and organised all my requirements. There is no wonder that the staff also reverberate the nature of their boss in their dealings with their cutomers. The only short coming if any one can say about this resort is that it is not in the walking distance of the shopping complex or any other urban facility. It is away from the main road in a quiet place, overlooking the valley below. . If you are going in your own car then you have to tell them in advance so that they can send some one to pilot guide you in a motor cycle, otherwise you will find it difficult to reach the place on your own.
But I do not consider this as a set back, especially when you are coming from big city life, and looking for a peaceful and green environment with the balcony overlooking the valley and getting up in the morning hearing the sound of the birds. And there are people like Radhakrishnan and Jestine keep coming to attend to your needs, instantly with smiles all the time. The best thing I liked than seeing the local attractions, is walking tour organised to the nearby tea plantations and stream under the guidance of Mr. Radhakrishnan who keeps you amused with interesting facts and informations throughout your walking tour and speaks many languages. Mr.Asif, Raghu and Jagdish at the reception Office are there to attend to your calls and organise with all the care and alertness. All the transport requirements and visit to local attractions are taken care by them. And they keep asking you whether you have any problem.

The food was very good and the most important is the very moderate rates make you feel that you do not need outside restaurants. Wifi signal was very good in the room. The solar heated water was very hot available all the time. Even though I stayed there FOR THREE DAYS only, But I felt sad when I left the place, indicating that it is a home away from HOME.

Room Tip: All the rooms are overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gajarajan1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalpetta hotels
10.1 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#2 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#1 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
8.2 mi away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#4 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
#5 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rippon Mount Resorts
Rippon Mount Resorts
#11 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wayanad Wind Resort
Wayanad Wind Resort
#4 of 80 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Planet Green Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Planet Green Plantation Resort

Property: Planet Green Plantation Resort
Address: Manjilamkoli,Chuzhali | Via KSRTC Depot, Kalpetta 673121, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Planet Green Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This resort has the best view from all the rooms of the Mount Chembra, the highest peak of Wayanad. There are two types of rooms- 4 nos of Premium apartment suites having approx 675 sq ft full furnished drawing room, two balcony, bedrooms, two balconies and six rooms with balconies and 300 sq ft excellent quality rooms. There is a mountain stream inside and the resort is surrounded by tea gardens and natural forests.We can arrange trekking, camp fire, tribal dance, archery classes and tribal cuisine. River walk, rafting, tea garden walk etc are other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Planet Green Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Planet Green Plantation Resort Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing