We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Mount Cottage
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were there two weeks ago and stayed there for a couple of nights.. though we were not sure about this place, we had decided that we are not going to stay at a regular hotel.. we took our chances and were pleasantly surprised. Its a very clean and spacious room with all the peace one an ask for. The landlords are a very friendly lot, he offered to pick us up as early as 4 in the morning without a fuss. The breakfast is simple but we could make out they were not making just because its their responsibility. It is centrally located in kalpetta and easily accessible to all other attractions.
Probably the only disadvantage I would see is its not possible to get tea, coffee or a meal at the comfort of the room, but that's a choice you make when you choose a home stay instead of a hotel.
A suggestion from us would be to handle the mosquito menace a little bit... probably spraying the repellent once in a while in the evenings would make the balcony a more comfortable place!
I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to have a peaceful time in wayanad.
We had a very good time

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabhu_christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    55
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
57
39
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

If you are on a shoe string budget and want to travel with the family, this is the place for you.
The plus points of this place are the great location, spacious rooms and bathrooms and a very friendly host to welcome you!
The room price include a nice "eat all you can" breakfast, for lunch and dinner you can find several restaurants just a few mins walk away. Try the "chicken chukka" at a nearby restaurant, I think it's called "New Hotel", it supposed to be a big "hit" at this restaurant.
Just nearby there is a temple and a few mosques are also located on the main road.
Although the placed is called a cottage, it does'nt give you that impression, the rooms are quite basic just like any normal hotel room. I think with a bit of creativity Mr. Marting could give it a bit more authentic Kerala feel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saif2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Accommodation was excellent and Martin sir was very helpful. We stayed for 2 days and it was a girls only trip. This place is very safe for girls. And Martin Sir took care of booking cab and helped us to locate the right place to shop and right bus to catch to return back. It was a pleasant stay and great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemajadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Recently I have visited wayanad with my family and stayed in Green Mount Cottage at Kalpetta.The stay at the cottage was really excellent and it is in the centre part of the city and access to shopping,restaurents,etc. The hotel management was excellent,especially the service rendered by Mr.Mortin and the team was fantastic. They were very kind and polite, and helping/guiding us in very good manner. The upkeep of the rooms were neat.The breakfast was tasty and given in time. We all have enjoyed the trip nicely.There are still more and more...to say

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulRaj_AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had recently visited wayanad , It was a very good experience, main advantage of this homestay is that it is closer to the main road and was fitting our budget.. Mr. Martin was very polite and helpful in arranging and guiding us. Our room was spacious and clean.
We had Aapam, puttu, idli , idiappam etc for our breakfast which was really tasty. All you guys who are planning to visit wayanad, have a wonderful stay in Green Mount Cottage & a happy journey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swathitk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had visited wayanad in October 23rd & 24th, 2012 & stayed in this cottage for 2 days. We were around 14 members including kids. We had a pleasant stay & the cottage was good, well maintained & perfect for family stay. Kids had really nice time by playing in front of the cottages. We had pure vegetarian food & the food was really nice. Mr. Martin was very generous & we recommend this cottage to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savithanavada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hi People, tourists and travelers who are looking for a Bed and Breakfast, non-luxurious without much amenities except the basic ones, this is the right place.

Pros:

1. Mr. Martin is a very helpful and cheerful person who helps people with all the information they need to travel around.
2. Very good, clean, and healthy breakfast and dinners (assuming that you have lunch outside).

Cons.
1. Furniture could have been a little better for appearance and coziness.
2. Water heater needs to be a bit bigger for having bigger portions of water for bathing.

Overall a good experience for us who would just prefer to sleep in the night and travel out in the day.

Room Tip: I had the first room on the ground floor where I was not really impressed at all, maybe you people s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijayendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalpetta hotels
1.6 mi away
The Kallat Hotel
The Kallat Hotel
#9 of 22 in Kalpetta
156 reviews
8.6 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#1 of 22 in Kalpetta
819 reviews
7.4 mi away
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Haritagiri Hotel
Haritagiri Hotel
#12 of 22 in Kalpetta
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Summer Villa Homestay Wayanad
0.3 mi away
Misty Hills Hotel & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mount Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mount Cottage

Property: Green Mount Cottage
Address: Old Market Road, (Opp Post Office), | Kalpetta, Kalpetta 673121, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Mount cottage is an exclusive home for the tourists to Wayanad, which offers superlative facilities to the visitors. The Green Mount Cottage is conveniently located in the heart of Kalpetta, the head- quarters of Wayanad, popularly known as the green paradise! Even though it is situated in the heart of the city, it presents a calm and quiet atmosphere to make you feel refreshed and healthy alive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Green Mount Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mount Cottage Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing