We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, not so-good place - and be prepared for some or other problems” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Gates

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Gates
Ranked #17 of 80 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location, not so-good place - and be prepared for some or other problems”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I went there in the month of April 2012 over a long weekend from Bangalore. We had booked 4 deluxe rooms and everything was confirmed beforehand.
Travelled 300+ kms to reach the place dead tired...first impression of the facility was good..but then the horrible story started...we were made to wait for more than 2 hrs in the lobby as the guest in our room had gone out with the keys...they could not arrange the keys and could not open the room as the guest luggage was still inside (none of my problem). With kids and elders waiting in the lobby for hours was absolutely terrible and irritating. The manager was not available and the jr staff couldnt understand/speak english/hindi. We yelled and yelled and yelled...finally the manager decided to open the room. Then came another shocker...the deluxe room was in no ways deluxe..the balcony had a wall covering it. It was dirty and the mattress was soiled...we yelled again. The manager upgraded us to the cottage room. This was much better.
Food was average - not much variety though..room service was just average..you have to keep yelling to get the work done.
Overall..it was relaxing only because of the greenry it provides and the location it is in - close to all famous hotspots...but which this price...I would rather suggest to see something better to stay and enjoy peacefully...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SatBang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    99
    41
    11
    12
See reviews for
98
72
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Green gates is a nice place to stay. Overall theme of the hotel is go green so you can find yourself in the arms of nature. Its location and travel desk is awesome. The staff is very helping and cordial. It has nice package of food which includes breakfast, lunch , dinner. This package is good as it is difficult to find good food nearby.They have maintained the cleanliness and theme very well

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dspswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during monsoon season. The property is very well maintained, service is good and the best part is food which is quite tasty and spread is decent. Being in Kerala, this is probably the best north Indian food you can get. Hotel is situated reasonably close to the town and near to the highway so getting there is easy. They have very good offers for group bookings. They also help in arranging campfire and some games if you are a bigger group. We stayed here twice, first time in a corporate group and second time as a couple and had good time both the times. Recommended for a peaceful holiday break ...

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaivijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

it was a weekend gateaway to wayanad for us frnds , n we got into this hotel to spend the night, it was an awesome stay !!!! the location is super , the ambience is kool , the food is awesome and the staff help ful. Didnt get a chance to stay in the tree cottage but next time surely i l stay in the cottages.
best place for a perfect stay!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_aniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Whats tops is the location in wayanad, Beautiful scenic hill station, Very good for outdoor & adventurous activities like trekking,raft building,rafting,camping,night outs and rock-climbing.
The location of the hotel is very good, I stayed there with my family & my kids enjoyed the most in Bamboo tree house, This hotel is ideal in food & location when compared to vythiri. But once needs lot of time for outdoor activities as it take minimum of 30-80 km to reach any location for outdoor activities. But end of the day we can relax with good south & north Indian cuisine. we happen to travel to calicut from wayanad its ghat road with superb view.

Room Tip: Better opt for deluxe rooms, The best in Bamboo tree house, But F&B service is restricted to thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhuraly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had stayed there for 4 days during dec-2010. It was a holiday with family . The first thing that i want to highlight was that the booking experience was a good and smooth one. I had directly contacted the reservation desk via phone and there was no hassales in booking remotely.

The hotel is a very good one .We had gone there with our son (3 yrs old then). The food was OK and the service was good. Their travel helpdesk was wonderful and they helped plan pur daily schedule.The rooms were good and hygenic. The play area and swimming pool os an good attraction for the kids. If i remember correctly , alchol consumption in public is restricted. The location is great. Overall the experience was a good and unforgettable one.
One suggestion though --there is no in house medical facility (at that time) which i think is a must.

Room Tip: The standard room is sufficient for a small family
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SudhaPonnalagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grouw, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed here only for one night, which was enough. We booked this hotel only because we wanted a hotel with a swimmingpool. Upon arrival we found out the pool was closed for maintennce, which was a major disappointment to us. If we had known this, we would have gone to a cheaper hotel. But we booked this one way in advance. When I mentioned this to the staffmember who brought us to our room, whe said the manager would call us within the next 10 minutes. But we dindn't hear anything.

At first site, our cottage room looked lovely. But then we noticed lots of long black hairs lying on the floor, which disgusted us a bit. After that, we found out that the toilet wasn't attached to the bathroomfloor. When sitting down on the toilet, it felt as if the whole toilet came loose. Also there were clean sheets from housekeeping lying on one of the rocking chairs on our terrace. When we asked them to be removed, they just put them on the chairs of the neighbouring terrace. They still were there when we left. I wonder who's bed they were going to make with those sheets??

We had lunch here, which wasn't very good. Diner was better (best jeera rice we've had!), but service was very slow. You keep wondering if you can see six people serving in the restaurant with only four guests, why you have to wait half an hour even to get drinks? Whe just wanted to have a coke. When drinks finally arrived, they were light, which we do not drink. When we asked for a regular coke, the waiter answered that there was a problem with refrigerator space, so regular coke was available but not cold. We ended up with two cans of lukewarm coke. Bhwagh! Breakfast was the same pattern. Six men walking around, but we didn't get our coffee until after we finished the food....

We still had the swimmingpool issue to deal with. In the evening we spoke to the manager at the front desk. At first he stated it was clearly mentioned on their website that the pool was closed. But we booked way before and did not check the website again before we left home. Then he offered to give us a free lunch, which we accepted. As we already had lunch, we didn't have to pay the ticket. But on checking out we found out that only the food we had for lunch was removed form the bill ans the drinks were still on. As our patience with this hotel and its staff had to this point dropped below sea level, we started another argument. Which after two phonecalls resulted in not having to pay for the drinks.

We left Green Gates, knowing for sure we would never, ever return here. Although looking beautiful from the outside, this hotel really suffers from a severe lack of management, which is such a shame.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marganne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalpetta hotels
0.0 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#2 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#1 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#4 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn
#5 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rippon Mount Resorts
Rippon Mount Resorts
#11 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gates

Property: Green Gates
Address: T.B. Road, Kalpetta 673122, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Gates 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Green Gates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Gates Hotel Kalpetta
Green Gates Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing