We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we only had breakfast here”
Review of Hotel Pelikan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pelikan
Ranked #3 of 8 Virpazar B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The fact that we had a beautiful apartment in Sveti Stefan only served to highlight the divide between our place and this. We were met by pushy people the second we stepped out of the car and, if I said we were frogmarched into the hotel's dining area I would be exaggerating - but only just. We had bags of herbs, plant cuttings and God knows what placed on our table, together with blank envelopes. They continued to try to sell us boat trips even after we had said no. We didn't buy herbs or plants or anything else. We only wanted breakfast. The dining area would have Alex Polizzi hyperventilating - but it did add to the place's character. Breakfast itself was adequate and, as wea te, we watched other poor souls subjected to the hard sell (the hotel is next to where the boats leave on Lake Skadar - they clearly are desperate to get numbers up).
Try your best to avoid this place. Say you've just eaten, say you already have a place booked, say you're allergic to herbs, say you get seasick. Say whatever you need to in order to avoid being led into this hotel. It certainly was not typical of the rest of Montenegro that we saw and loved.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ootytooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 223 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have just came back from this place. Fortunately we were not staying there for a night but only we took the cruise on the lake & lunch. Just after entering the village we were attacked by the owners. Mr Marko (the son) shows you price list which you can('t) negotiate, but seems (by looking at others reviews) the price is still pretty high.
The boat is extremely noisy and the cruise itself is different from what you agreed (and paid before entering the board). In the end you don't see much.
The lunch in the "Pelikan" restaurant is also not the best choice. Cold food, rude service, tap water.
Rude and greedy guys, be careful!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Uzzytkownik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We've been there on august 2012. We are more than disappointed and did not feel at ease at all. We found greedy and agressive persons there (which is very different from the people you can meet in Montenegro). Just before we entered the city by car someone from the hotel tried to sell us boat trips (we were still in the car!). There was nearly no visibility because of forest fire when we were there but every half an hour a very agressive man from the hotel chased us to convince us to go on his boat tour (with nothing to see in this case !). He came while we were in the car, in the room and in the restaurant ! Even with a very clear no ! We found him counting its banks notes in his car parked in front of the hotel just after ! Everything in this hotel gives a bad feeling. Rooms are smal and overpriced but very clean.
The town in itself is fine and the region is nice. We liked doing kayak on the river a little bit further north.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SC_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

It is a pity that I read the previous feedback from Russia55 too late. I can confirm each word of it. Only one difference: we were deceived on 34 euro. the excurcion was boring,not 3 hours,but 2,5, we saw nothing,only coasts.the man who organised this excurcion was very agressive. He is professional lier without conscience. I hope that in the future less people will fall in to this trap and their lying business becoms bancrupcy!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
7  Thank Kate0505_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

attention on manager

Very good manager can make confusion in your head. They have room next hotel in very bad condition. It smells mustiness. It's good for one night. We payed 12€ per person. We had not know what is real price per person. Virpazar is very nice small town on the lake but i not recomend hotel Pelikan.since morning at 5 o'clock is very loud and not possible to sleep well
Next night we spent in privat room in Kolasin - 10 € per person.New room, perfect condition.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Szymon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I and our baby arrived, tired after a long day on the road. The town looked interesting and it was early evening so we stopped. The hotel was in need of a makeover but it seemed fine. Check in fine but quite pricey by locak standards. Room was good size but quite shabby. Unpacked, settled down and noticed a few small insects on my pillow. Brushed them off and thought nothing if it. More insects, looked under mattress and there were dozens of ants. We called reception to report the problem. Eventually after a long wait, a man in his 40s arrived, we showed him the ants and he proceeded to make fun of us and mock us. We asked for another room and were shown to a very dingy place at the back of the hotel. Told him it was not good enough and were told take it or go back to your other room. Said wanted money back we were checking out. Told not possible. Argued and was not until I started dialling Montenegrin Tourist Board that he relented. Refund processed ok-we left and drove to Tivat area and found a wonderful private house with rooms-beautiful location on edge of Kotor Bay and only €25 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jebem_Ti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here with friends while touring Montenegro as it seemed the only place available.
The hotel is quirky to say the least. We arrived after a hair-raising ride along the road above the Lake (hairpin bends, single track with few passing places, vertical drops and no barriers, suicidal drivers.) By the time we arrived all we wanted was to drop our bags and go for a stiff drink!
But, having checked in and been shown our rooms by 'Madame' (the owner I think) we then carried our bags up the stairs. We hadn't even got the doors open before the son (I think) accosted us and pestered us to book a boat trip on the Pelikan Boat. "It was very good value, we must register before 6pm (it was now 5pm) to get on the next day's trip" on and on barely taking breath. Talk about a hard sell. We told him we thought it was expensive and would think about it. He would have got more brownie points if he'd offered to help with the bags! We went back to the square, talked to a young girl who had approached us when we arrived and arranged a boat trip on her father's boat (the Milica) for half the price. It was a lovely couple of hours on the Lake next day and the four of us had the boat to ourselves. We were later approached by the son who said he could do a 'deal' on the price. Too late.
I have to say Madame was very helpful sorting out our hot water and batteries for the aircon remote. Breakfast at the Pelikan was the usual omelette, tea/coffee, bread and jam. We did have dinner there but it was very over-priced and all four of us had funny tummies the next day.
The second day we had a drink at the July 13 Hotel, the other side of the bridge, and went there for dinner. Much better quality and cheaper.
I think if I was staying at Virpazar again I would investigate the July 13 Hotel. I feel the Pelikan has been resting on its laurels for some time as there has been no competition.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank HighAird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Virpazar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vir
Hotel Vir
#5 of 8 in Virpazar
45 reviews
2 mi away
Guesthouse Skadar Lake
Guesthouse Skadar Lake
#9 of 10 in Virpazar
13 reviews
0 mi away
Apartments Jovanovic
Apartments Jovanovic
#8 of 10 in Virpazar
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Country House Djurisic
Country House Djurisic
#2 of 10 in Virpazar
29 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Apartment Vir
#7 of 10 in Virpazar
1 reviews
1 mi away
Outdoor Club OK KORAL
Outdoor Club OK KORAL
#5 of 10 in Virpazar
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelikan

Address: Virpazar B.B | Montenegro, Virpazar, Bar Municipality 81305, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Bar Municipality > Virpazar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Virpazar
Price Range: $30 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pelikan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Pelikan" is a private company that is operating and developing a family business since in 1960. We are situated in a small rustic village on the banks of Lake Scutari. In our business we have developed a tradition from the very beginning for Cruises on Lake Skadar, and today we offer several varieties of cruising the lake , during which you and your clients could rich an impressive flora and fauna, remains of impressed historical and cultural monuments of antiquity. Boat trip services we are providing with our boat for up to 80 people, with a cabin and a toilet. The ship sails with a staff that consists of 4 members of the crew, led by the Captain .For small groups and private cruises we can offer two smaller boats. At the Virpazar, a small town with only 200 residents in the central hotel building with capacity of 17 beds we own restaurant with 50 seats indoor and 50 seats in the restaurant preparing terrace. In the restaurant we are preparing a Montenegrin national cuisine and fish specialties from the area of Skadar Lake. We can extract and some of them, such as Carp in fruit and Eels in rice. We own the annexes house with the accommodation capacity of 29 beds. Our staff speaks several languages we can mention: German, English, Italian, Russian, etc. In the future communications we can continue write each other in English or Italian. Virpazar is very well known in the field of production not only wines and spirits, but it is also known for the production of cheese, so as a part of our service we can also offer to you a visit to the wine cellar where you can see the plantation of grapes, wine production process as well as taste homemade cheeses, prosciutto, olives, ... In addition to these routes of wine and cheese, also, it is possible to organize hiking, and biking trips, fishing, etc. I hope that we have made our presentation attractive to you, and that you will have an interest in coming , we will represent our region to you and contribute to your satisfaction so we hope that the impressions which you will take with you will last. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pelikan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing