We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveler rating
77
3
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
3
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews undiscovered montenegro local community great hosts lake skadar off the beaten track breathtaking views activity holiday wine tasting sun loungers fabulous week a lot of fun fellow guests beautiful location surrounding area shared kitchen great fun whole experience
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 82 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Miela. Thanks to Ben and Emma for organising a fabulous week, despite the heat, which was thoroughly enjoyed. Come here if you want a mixture of hiking, swimming, kayaking, off-roading and exploration of the beautiful countryside and an all round family adventure holiday. Don't come here if you expect to be pampered with all the latest trappings of luxury and have your own private space. The villa is modern, beautifully kept and clean. The bedrooms (4 of them) are modest and you'll share a kitchen, living room, terrace, dining table with other guests but that's part of the fun. You'll share experiences with the group, make new friends and enjoy the scenery and the local culture. Hats off to Ben and Emma who have integrated so well into the area and have put responsible tourism on the map. A pleasure to stay here.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family_LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017

We are a family with three children aged 15, 14 and 11 years. We wanted an activity holiday to keep us all engaged and ensure the kids spent less time on their electronic devices. It definitely fulfilled our expectations and more. Villa Miela is a lovely location with great views of the local landscape looking out across mountains. It was a comfortable place to stay with lovely bedrooms, a shared kitchen and living area, hammock, sun loungers, fruit trees and BBQ on the terrace. Our hosts Ben and Emma have made Montenegro their home and have fully integrated into their local community. They were incredibly knowledgeable about the country and were able to take us on excursions which were not only beautiful, but as described, 'undiscovered'. This meant that each day of activity was fully planned and made the best use of our short time there. All of us enjoyed the holiday and we would definitely recommend to families who enjoy nature and the great outdoors. There are plenty of opportunities for swimming in fresh water which was very welcome as during our stay there was a particularly hot spell of weather with temperatures nearer 40c!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2017

We had never been to Montenegro before but fancied a change. Undiscovered Montenegro at Villa Miela was such a fabulous find and an epic holiday experience. The county is wonderful, the local town fabulous, the food great and the weather excellent. However, with holidays like this its the organisers and guides that make it work and we had the best. Ben, Emma, Vuk and new intern Liam really went the extra mile and took us to the best locations, the best food and the most amazing adventure.
We Kayaked, we hiked, we swan, we cycled we explored and had the best time.
Its also great value for money in this beautiful country.
The Villa is in a gorgeous location and has just about everything you might ever need. from Boule to a plunge pool, terrific terraces and great rooms, its just an excellent place to chill out after a day of adventure.
You need to experience places like this to open your eyes to the world and take you away from the day to day life we all endure.
Try it, enjoy it, help it survive so we can all return and enjoy it for years to come.

Jo and Pete May/June 2017

Room tip: They are all perfect with great views and facilities.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank punderw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

Located on the hillside above Virpazar on the shores of Lake Skadar, Villa Miela was the perfect place for us to spend a week exploring the surrounding area. We couldn't have asked for better hosts than Ben and Emma who were not only extremely knowledgable about the local area but also clearly cared very deeply about the people and the country. The activities that they had planned were invariably fantastic and were diverse enough to allow us to feel that we got the most out of the holiday and also earned our rest days! The shared accommodation was lovely and we were fortunate to be staying with another couple and a family of 4 who were a pleasure to spend time with. In short, I would thoroughly recommend that anyone who enjoys the outdoors and experiencing something new try this place and you will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oliverd281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017

Booking a family holiday for myself, hubby, 16 year old son and daughter of 18 yrs, into shared (with strangers!) accommodation was thankfully a total success! We were lucky enough to share the Villa with two lovely couples, their company definitely enhanced our holiday (not just by curtailing the usual family bickering!), but by sharing a love for jumping into fresh water rivers, eating local food and drinking local wine! This holiday was made especially special by the warmth, enthusiasm and local knowledge of Ben and Emma. Their choice of itineraries are varied and fun, from kayaking to hiking. My son even got to drive their defender (magic moment for him!), while I saw lesser horseshoe bats in the most beautiful setting! My husband made use of the bikes and enjoyed his early morning cycle training! Seeing tortoises ambling along in their own environment is a wonderful sight. Jumping into rivers on a hot summers day is a tonic!
Eating in local houses and wine tasting in local vine yards all benefited local people. Walking, cycling and kayaking all have a low impact on the environment as does water from a spring, recycling waste etc. Ben and Emma are passionate about what they do and enthuse all they meet in a positive way.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JaneM4481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews