We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Séjour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Terrasse
Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Lady et moi visited Hotel de la Terasse sometime ago for my birthday but still have good memories about it.
Excellent food ( at breakfast Madame mentioned the baguette was very hard, only to discover she broke a tooth) and a lovely peaceful environment.
The rooms are fine too, with a strategically placed mirror although the bed was too short for my 6' 2.
We will get back there someday although there was a slight misunderstanding, thinking my lovely UK lady was 'Américaine'

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Baron2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 232 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Beautifully located and attractive building just a few minutes walk from the beach. Our bedroom had a sea view and was freshly, if simply, decorated with a small but well-fitted bathroom. The hotel terrace, with views of the sea, is ideal for pre-dinner drinks and there is also a garden for sitting out in the good weather. In the restaurant the service was excellent, but the food was slightly disappointing by French standards, allthough good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wsussex41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This small family run hotel is located a short drive out of Dieppe and close to le Bois de Moutiers house and garden which was our destination for the day. We were favoured with a second floor room with a stunning sea view. This more than made up for the slightly basic and faded decor.

Pre dinner drinks on the terrase were a delight and enabled all of the guests to appreciate the views. Dinner was fantastic as we have come to expect from all levels of cafes and restaurants in France. We feel sorry for those French folks making the return journey and experiencing the dubious catering at the Brewer's Fayre in Newhaven.

Room Tip: Get the sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hotel been in the same family since 1912. Situated on cliffs, 500 yards from beach with a steep climb down which would prove difficult if one had mobility issues.

28 rooms , 2 stars, great value for money and with a superb restaurant

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We went there with my husband after positive references. What a disappointment! The waitress is middle aged very disagreable woman who drooped the menus on the table and left us not to come back again... The owner looked nice and made a decent quality tea for us but than left us to young girl who appeared to have done this job for the first time. I took courgette salad with shrimps and my husband took meli melo salad with seafood. To my surprise, the food that came was not fresh - the leaves were all wet and shriveled. And the seafood of my husband was rotten! I tried to call for the waitress who managed to ignore us for 10minutes, so we called the young gril who suggested they would make us another salad. Not interested. The next course was fish(very plain) and tomatoes - rotten again! We did not finnish and asked for the bill. They did not even bother to take the rotten food trom the bill or to apologise. Never again!

Room Tip: Avoid unless you want to spent unpleasant time with haughty staff and rotten food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Paulina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This area was a surprise. We foundout about it from a woman at the Dieppe tourist office.

We saw the most splendid homes and gardens hereaswell as theatmospheric church and cemetary where Georges Braque is buried.

Thehotel isquaint. Make sure to insist on a room facing thesea.

Room Tip: Insist on a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adlai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stopped off at this hotel with a large party to be treated to a fixed price lunch time menu. Suffice to say the food was fantastic - 4 courses of sheer delight with wine for 32 Euro - great value and service with a smile. If you are close by you should consider stopping off at some point.

I didn't stay at this hotel but fully intend to in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frank1eb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varengeville-sur-Mer
4.7 mi away
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
4.8 mi away
Hotel Aguado
Hotel Aguado
#4 of 15 in Dieppe
305 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel du Casino de Dieppe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Clos Masure Hotel de Campagne
6.2 mi away
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
Hotel Citotel Touvotel
#3 of 15 in Dieppe
263 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Dieppe la Presidence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Terrasse

Address: Route de Vasterival, 76119 Varengeville-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Varengeville-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varengeville-sur-Mer
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Terrasse 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de la Terrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing