We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de la Terrasse
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightful family run hotel”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and it never fails to delight us. Although the rooms are basic, the views are wonderful and the atmosphere is very French. It has been in the same family since it was built and the old photo albums are fascinating. The village has a marvellous patisserie/boulangerie, a beautiful ancient church overlooking the sea, a Lutyens manor house and gardens and the also the world collection of hydrangeas!

Room Tip: Ask for seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riverside11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    70
    40
    35
    22
See reviews for
42
126
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Some winding roads through foliage, unexpected near the sea, help you reach La Terasse. Overlooking the cliffs towards the Channel/La Manche, it has indeed a nice terasse. Lobby and staff are inviting. Small but cosy rooms all with different furniture and outlook. Do not expect television or internet, this a place to rest and relax. The restaurant has a variable and large menu of choice, not to mention the wines. Good service and even better food. And a view towards the setting sun.

Room Tip: Arrive early or reserve, best rooms go quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ortwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

It was awful, don't even think of booking a room there! First of all, we didn't have the choice to have only the room, so by booking a room we HAD to take also the demi-pension, which meant that we had dinner and breakfast in the hotel's restaurant. You cannot really choose what you eat since they already decided for you. The food was tasteless and when we got to order the desert they told us that they've run out of what we was supposed to have and offered us something else, quite disgusting. Second, the room is extremely small and on the top we had behind the door mushrooms growing, literally! It's an old building with carpets everywhere that probably no one ever cleaned under them hence the mushrooms (and we stayed on the 2nd floor). It does not have such a great view as they say on their webpage, maybe because the windows were dirty! We are a young couple and it was easy to notice that almost everyone around us was 80 years old and plus! so boring. All in all.. just avoid, there are many other nice places around the area, much better quality price ratio. For instance, we had a great experience and I do recommend to check bonaddresse.com, La Saulniere villa was amazing, the lady was super nice, the room was very clean and cute.. it was the best accommodation we had during this vacation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank E_Matcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varengeville-sur-Mer hotels

london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

With a wonderful view at a remote location, we had limited options arriving in the area late one evening. We were put off by previous reviews and we gained the impression that the owners could have tendencies towards Basil & Sybil if pushed it. However, the car park was nearly full so that was a positive sign. We have also stayed in Paris and occasionally got the "Je suis désolé" treatment from hotels when we have dared to asked for a spare bar of soap etc.

Anyway, the room was OK at HdlT with some nice touches but it would benefit from the use of bleach around the shower tray sealant. If we were really picky, we would mention that there was a slight Eau De Dog aroma but this is presumably a dog and walker friendly hotel so it really was no big deal.

The food in the restuarant was good, the waitresses attentive and both dinner and the simple continental breakfast were excellent. The hotel is 100 years old but has been renovated from time to time and it is an experience staying there.

We arrived at 9:25am for breakfast (served between 08:00-09:30) at HdlT and we were met with a friendly welcome. This contrasts starkly with, for example, Ma Bourgogne cafe in Place de Voges in Paris where we got the "Je suis désolé" (often accompanied by glazed eyes, eyes rolling upwards, or worse).

Anyway, if you want an exceptional location, we would recommend it. If you are even fussier than us (er if that is possible) , and views and walks do not interest you, then maybe go elsewhere. The negative points we have mentioned are all minor.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silverfox5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stumbled on this nice little hotel by accident, and we're glad we did. It's not the biggest or the fanciest, but the employees were friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant was very good, and the rooms were clean and comfortable.
There is a path down to the ocean for those who like to walk, and tea time seems to be a popular event on the deck.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We came across this hotel purely by chance, due to the amazing beach and view. We had decided on a whim to stay an extra day or two in the area, as we had just come from a brilliant b&b in the region (that unfortunately had no more rooms available for the weekend). We decided to book a room, thinking "how bad could it really be?", We spoke to a fellow guest in the parking lot, who had come back three years running, and seemed like a rational sort.

The rooms themselves were dated, (think 70s little girl room) which would have been okay if they were clean. There were disgusting old wool blankets on the twin beds with unidentifiable stains.The bathroom had an ancient shower system, and felt like some sort of soviet bloc housing.

The two "hosts" were unfriendly and inhospitable. They required that guests sign up for a "demi-pension" which included breakfast and dinner, without an option to just have breakfast. When asked if we could eat our dinner on the beautiful terrace they just sharply said "no," and made all the guests eat in an overheated, charmless room. Needless to say we only ate there the first night. It really was a shame as they are sitting on a goldmine, considering the views and the potential for this place. It would be amazing if someone else took over and really made this the place it should be. The view almost made up for the rest, but there was generally an uneasy, creepy feel to the place.

They also allow dogs there, which is probably why it is so dirty. They let the dogs race up and down the stairs barking without a lead on. It is fairly eccentric, yet not in a good way. My partner and I still managed to have a good time as we were so amused by the two owners pomposity and the strangeness of the place. So if you have a good sense of humor and an active imagination you might be inspired to stay here if only to write a sequel to The Shining.

  • Liked — the surrounding area and the view
  • Disliked — the rudeness and inflexibilityof the owners, as well as the general laxnes of upkeep.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jdeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varengeville-sur-Mer
4.9 mi away
Hotel Aguado
Hotel Aguado
#4 of 15 in Dieppe
278 reviews
4.8 mi away
Inter-Hotel de la Plage
4.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Dieppe
B&B Hotel Dieppe
#3 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-sur-Scie
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Kyriad Dieppe
Kyriad Dieppe
#1 of 4 in Saint-Aubin-sur-Scie
200 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mercure Dieppe la Presidence
12.0 mi away
Hotel du Casino
Hotel du Casino
#1 of 4 in Saint-Valery-en-Caux
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Terrasse

Property: Hotel de la Terrasse
Address: Route de Vasterival, 76119 Varengeville-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Varengeville-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varengeville-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Terrasse 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Terrasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing