We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So disappointing! See photos” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ragged Cot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ragged Cot Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“So disappointing! See photos”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

For £95 for a Sunday night I was expecting something quite special. We'd been driving for hours but on checking in we were told they don't serve food on a Sunday. We expressed our disappointment and were told that at a push, they might be able to muster up bread and olives.
The hotel is a converted barn right next to a busy T junction - our room was actually at ground level and on the corner, and the continual noise from the traffic was not what we wanted.
We went to the room thinking we'd have a sit down and a cup of tea but no! - they don't provide tea making facilities, even when specifically asked.
No food, no tea, no hair dryer and by the looks of it.......... no vacuum cleaner.
The wardrobe is a wooden box with a curtain across the front, the paint is flaking off in numerous places and I haven't even got as far as the bathroom yet.
I have to admit, the bathroom does look very trendy but whoever designed it, has never used it. The tiny Belfast sink has such a big tap that you can't get your face over it and the shower over the bath is recessed so far back that you literally have to bend right over to wash your hair - the only way round this is to adjust the shower head but then water goes all over the floor. When you look at the state of the rusty radiator and rotten skirting board (photos included) you can see that I wasn't the only one with this problem. To add insult to injury, there are no nice toiletries - there are 3 dispensers screwed to the wall. There wasn't even a tablet of soap.

Breakfast was a joke. I got the feeling that we were the only guests there and as such we were very much in the way. We asked for coffee and literally got 1 cup each - no cafetiere, no offer of another cup. There was no fruit juice and the napkin was a scruffy old tea towel - I don't care how trendy you think you might be, there is no excuse for thinking you can get away with an old, unironed tea towel. I didn't want a cooked breakfast but there was no alternative other than muesli or yoghurt. I asked if there was any fresh fruit (for £95 there jolly well should have been!) but there was none.
The next night we went down the road to the Lodge - what a difference! Friendly service, good food and great views. Ask for room 4 and watch the cows taking themselves home to bed across the common. Fabulous!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spareroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    87
    46
    20
    14
See reviews for
47
132
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed here when attending a wedding locally. We checked in around 5pm and since we were given just a door key for our room we asked how we get in later. We felt a bit uncomfortable being asked whether we were going to be 'late'...! This is not a couple of rooms in a B&B in someones home and we expected to come and go as we pleased. We were then told all the door keys had been given out and so a side door would be left on the latch for us. A little perturbed there was no other option.
Our room was (thankfully) on the ground floor, not particularly large and decorated in a contemporary style. It was a little annoying to have booked a double room and be given 2 twin beds pushed together. The shower room was nice and fresh looking, although a couple of spots of mildew/paint peeling, the view was a courtyard at the back of the building with gas cylinders from the bar and an old mop bucket- so not very inspirational considering the location.
When we returned from the wedding we found the side door that was supposed to be left open was locked, and all other doors locked. We couldnt get in and there was no way of contacting anyone. Stuck outside and with no other option my partner climbed a fence, crossed a flat roof, down a fire escape, over other obstacles (all in the dark and in a suit) and found our room where the staff had left our windows open luckily. In the morning, the man who had promised to leave the door open (owner/manager it seemed) was not there and the other girls were a little apologetic. The breakfast was quite nice but served slowly and without any friendliness, we also asked for herbal tea, were told they had peppermint and then were served earl grey?
Anyway, all up it wasnt a bad place, and with better planning and attention to detail it could be a lovely place but there seemed to be a lack of effort and service. We paid a special offer price of £95, I would have felt particularly unhappy if we had paid the usual price of £130 and needless to say if we hadnt got in through the window my review would be really poor! Would it not have been a nice touch by the manager to email/call when he found out we were locked out to apologise for the mistake?

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

A winter weekend, with warm fires, cold crisp sunshine and a fabulous room.
We arrived and were given a ground floor room but swapped to an upstairs room with a view . This was no problem for the friendly and helpful staff. The penguin classic idea worked well creating that different edge and surrounding area was great to explore.
Dinner was spectacular although I did not like the herring starter but that was purely down to personal taste. The breakfast was brilliantly executed, exactly what you would expect. If you go have a cream tea it was fantastic and I am experienced at cream teas having spent my student days sampling a wide variety.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dudley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

.We stopped at the ragged cot for one night and could not have asked for more! We took our husky dog and were made to feel welcome from the moment we walked in the door. We arrived 3 hours before check in time and were told our room was ready and we could check in.
Checked in, then went to the bar for food and drink and were not disappointed. Fine local, real ale and excellent food. The price was probably a bit more expensive than most "pub meals" but the quality was much better, really tasty and well worth the extra cost. (Around £9 for each meal)
our dog was made welcome in the bar and restaurant area and there were dog beds scattered around the hotel. Loads of other dogs around which made it feel really homely, there is comfortable seating around the bar area, with several "loungers" next to the bar.
The staff were very friendly and service was always swift, even on the evening when it was quite busy.
Overall a great stay. We will be visiting again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARTINKIMDUDLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

What a lovely pub. We stayed for three nights over a weekend in August, a bit of a belated birthday get away for the pair of us.

From the moment we arrived we were so well looked after by the staff, the service was just right and they are all very friendly, i'm sure it must hurt to smile that much ;-).

Our room was their standard double, which was clean and tidy, no tea and coffee making facilities not that i drink the stuff, flat screen tv + DVD player, it was just was i would expect really. The room was serviced daily by the housekeepers. We had a nice view over the garden, which is nicely presented.

We didn't eat at 'the Cot' until our last night (apart from breakfast), but i wish we had had, the food was really very good. Having eaten elsewhere in the local area during our stay, the food is also very reasonably priced (or everywhere else is a little too expensive).

We took a good couple of recomendations on where we could visit from the staff who were more that willing to take the time to help us.... i'm notoriously indecisive.

All together it was a throughly well enjoyed break....... oh yes, they are dog friendly. Very dog friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelsLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

We tried the Ragged Cot as it's fairly local and we hadn't been before. We found the food fine, if rather overpriced in some cases. However they were lucky we didnt walk out as a consequence of the raggy and slow service - all a bit unprofessional. Twenty minutes after arriving we were still waiting for a drink; the staff had to be chased to get any sort of service. Not the waiting staff's fault - only two of them on; more a question of training and good management. We may go back, but would not go on a busy day again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stroud
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

Booked eight rooms for a family celebration, some for one night, some for two and one for four. All were lovely, well equipped and very clean, and the suite was absolutely fabulous. All loved the breakfasts, and we had dinner one night (table of fourteen) and the food and the service was spot on. Would recommnd to anyone whole-heartedly.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank serenagreentrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minchinhampton
2.3 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
6.0 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
1.3 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
5.0 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ragged Cot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ragged Cot Inn

Property: The Ragged Cot Inn
Address: Cirencester Road, Minchinhampton, Stroud GL6 8PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Minchinhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Minchinhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ragged Cot Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 AA GOLD STAR 17TH CENTURY COACHING INN ,OFFERING 9 EN SUITE CONTEMPORARY BEDROOMS , RESTAURANT OPEN 7 DAYS ,LARGE CAR PARK AND PRIVATE GARDENS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Ragged Cot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Cot Hotel Minchinhampton
The Ragged Cot Inn Minchinhampton, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing