We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, great food and friendly staff”
Review of The Ragged Cot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ragged Cot Inn
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The restaurant / pub and garden area were lovely and the room at a glance was good too, practically the bathroom is probably squeezed into too small a space but I can't say that it was disappointing. The bed was comfy and for one/two nights there's certainly nothing to complain about.

Yes, there was a hint of the staff being quite relaxed but they were all really friendly and helpful, despite maybe needing a few prompts here and there. The food in the restaurant was of good quality and very plentiful, priced a little on the high side but not so high that it affected our enjoyment. The cooked breakfast was OK too and we enjoyed our stay.

We'll definitely return should we visit the area (This time we came for the WWT @ Slimbridge and it was great)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 330 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Pub area beautiful and food great...staff were well meaning but not great. Took us an age to check in. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I would have been a bit disappointed if i had chosen this as a special romantic get away as the rooms were not special, this is a shame as the main pub area is really nicely decorated and very stylish so promises much..also shower was cold and when I told staff they were unapologetic. Breakfast was lovely, again service was just ok-staff need training perhaps. Friends said lunch was excellent. Quite expensive for an ok room with cold shower but not terrible.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkabout22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a one night stay in June 2013. The room was a good size and had excellent furnishings. The bathroom was a little cramped and had a odd shower that involved you stepping out the water to get to the wall attached soaps and had the hot and cold settings mixed up.

We ate in the pub and despite the waiter forgetting to take our orders and bottle of wine initially, the service was fine. The menu was unadventurous but once the order was taken the food was cooked well and a good portion size.

An OK place but not a great place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stickyweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely country pub in a great location. The staff were very welcoming and did everything to ensure we had a great stay. Room was very comfortable and furnished in a contemporary style. We were very well looked after in the bar both before and after our concert - so well looked after that did not fully benefit from the delicious breakfast the next morning!! Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My sister and I stayed here as we were going to a concert at Westonbirt. It's a great country pub and the staff are fantastic. It has a really friendly feel and we had a great laugh chatting away with locals in the bar. Our room was very spacious and we couldn't fault the breakfast. This is a great little spot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyb187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned after spending time there with another couple of friends. Ambience, service, bedrooms and the restaurant were fantastic.
As soon as we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and I can't find fault with anything. Loved the calm of the bedroom.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JArm4688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just spent a lovely weekend here, we spend many a weekend away and I am really picky where I stay , my husband and I are real foodies, the restaurant at The Ragged Cot is as good as anywhere we have eaten (compliments to the chef) - Treacle Tart just the best! Our room was cosy and comfortable, the staff were great even sorted a table for us with room for our Labradors to be with us at Dinner. Also some great walks near by. Will be back very soon with friends in tow!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanette111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minchinhampton
1.3 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
260 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tetbury
437 reviews
8.5 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
823 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Amberley Inn
The Amberley Inn
#1 of 2 in Amberley
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ragged Cot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ragged Cot Inn

Address: Cirencester Road, Minchinhampton, Stroud GL6 8PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud > Minchinhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Minchinhampton
Price Range: $86 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ragged Cot Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Aa Gold Star 17th Century Coaching Inn ,offering 9 En Suite Contemporary Bedrooms , Restaurant Open 7 Days ,large Car Park And Private Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Ragged Cot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ragged Cot Hotel Minchinhampton
The Ragged Cot Inn Minchinhampton, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing