We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage for a couple”
The bedroom space (twin or super king)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The bedroom space (twin or super king)
The quaint Bolt Hole, Minchinhampton Beautiful kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The bedroom space (twin or super king)
The quaint Bolt Hole, Minchinhampton
Beautiful kitchen
Well equipped and stylish!
Table and chairs for two
Ideal for a romantic dinner!
Clock feature in the kitchen
Very smart, ultra modern bathroom and shower
Rain shower head with additional attachment
Staircase to the open plan upper level
The entertainment space
Cosy, soft pillows
View of the upstairs space
Private garden facilities with table and chairs
The welcoming, front door
Flowers in summer time!
The Bolt Hole
The gravel driveway
Welcome to the village!
Minchinhamptons famous Market Hall
War memorial
The beautiful, local church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Minchinhampton, Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul K
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage for a couple”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have previously vacationed in the Cotswolds but have never found a more perfect cottage for just the two of us. The hosts, Tony and Biddy, were cordial and helpful. The cottage was equipped more fully than most vacation rentals, and it was immaculately kept. The welcome basket was a treat and included more than I can list here. The location is so central that we made day trips ranging from Salisbury Cathedral to Stratford Upon Avon. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirstyAnn...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury Cotswolds Cottage break”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My partner and I booked The Bolt Hole as a last minute plan to get away for the bank holiday weekend. We didn't think Tony and Biddy would be able to accept at short notice but they did!

The Bolt Hole was more than we could have dreamed of. Our expectations were a couple of nights away in a tiny cabin at the bottom of someone's garden with very little supplies - we even stopped at Waitrose to buy toilet rolls! Oh how wrong we were.

Arriving at The Bolt Hole through the beautiful village of Minchinhampton was lovely, and it stands in the grounds of Tony and Biddy's house but is definitely a property in its own right - it even had its own peaceful outside garden space with table/chairs. The Bolt Hole is a pandora's box, it looks from the outside to be a small quaint wooden outhouse but in fact felt bigger than our apartment! The ceilings are high and its luxuriously decorated in a modern/clean Cotswolds style.

Tony and Biddy are professionals in the industry and it shows. Their attention to detail from the bath robes and shower products they have provided to the welcome hamper sat on the kitchen table for us. Tony made time to give us a tour and both thanked us for our stay on departure. We will definitely be back.

Minchinhampton and The Bolt Hole are the perfect places to explore The Cotswolds and Tony and Biddy provide you with everything you need to enjoy it. A massive thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emfoley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Bolt Hole was perfect. Just the right size for two people and had everything you needed with the added touch of the welcome basket plus homemade cakes from Tony and Biddy. Good central point for walks, restaurants and near enough to the local towns too. Would highly recommend and revisit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise P
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This was perfect for what we wanted..a quiet weekend away being able to come and go as we pleased. Wonderful accomadation with special touches that made it a home from home. We didn't use our car once in our 3 night stay. We did lots of walking to lovely pubs and villages. Will definately return as good base for the Cotswolds

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of fittings
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_sal...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Countryside Cottage”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We booked this as a weekend break to explore the cotswolds and were not disappointed. Very easy to book and in a stunning part of the Cotswolds. Very easy to find and while in a quiet town a short drive from any big towns you may want to visit. Tony and Biddy were very welcoming and left a basket with bread/milk/tea etc as well as some yummy home cooked snacks. There was also a large selection of leaflets of where to go as well as DVDs to pass the evenings away. Small but very quaint, would love to return when the weather is nicer

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Decor
Liked least: 2 separate armchairs rather than a sofa
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happyramb...
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delightful, cosy cottage in great location for southern Cotswolds”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Bolt Hole is a newly converted outbuilding in the grounds of the hospitable owners' property. It is within walking distance of the picturesque little town of Minchinhampton and very well located for exploring the beautiful southern Cotswolds. The property was perfect for a couple and was quiet, clean, warm and very well equipped. The friendly owners welcomed us with an assortment of cakes, bread, breakfast items, drinks, and local dairy produce.
We thought we knew the area well but had not been to this corner before and we were impressed by the dramatic wooded hills, valleys and common land (where cows freely roam) around Minchinhampton. Nearby Cirencester (excellent Roman History museum), Cheltenham (Arts & Crafts Museum), Gloucester (cathedral with spectacular fan-vaulting) and the beautiful arboretum at Westonbirt were all within an easy drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl740...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The Bolt Hole was the perfect place to stay. Our hosts were welcoming, informative, and very thorough. The welcome basket with local goodies was a real treat. The cottage is newly renovated, very clean, and modern. We explored much of the Cotswolds by car and this was a convenient base to return to. We also did some walking through the village, exploring the local shops and pubs. A short walk brought us to the commons where we had a beautiful view of the countryside. Tony and Biddy provided lots of excellent advice about the best restaurants and places to visit.
The only drawback was poor access to wifi, which may be specific to Apple products.
We would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very clean and comfortable with all of the physical amenities that we could possibly need
Liked least: Our iPhones and iPad had limited wifi access.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing