We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Windy Ridge House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windy Ridge House
Ranked #1 of 2 Longborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Having never stayed in a B & B before, we really didn't know what to expect. Are there any 'Rules' I asked Jenny ie do we have to vacate the house after breakfast and not return until the evening?!! She laughed and told me, no, there were no rules as the guests have their own sittingroom and you can sit there all day if you like! Well, it was like staying in a small hotel. Nick the host was so hospitable, discretely on hand with any local information or help that we needed. The grounds are stunning with the most beautiful peaceful 10 acre arboretum for enjoying which you must do if you stay there and the house, itself, just lovely! A stay in the summer with good weather to enable the use of the swimming pool and tennis court would be lovely. This has opened our eyes to B & B'ing but, will this have set the bar too high. A challenge which we now feel we must address!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gosling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Windy Ridge House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 196 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Windy Ridge. What a magnificent Estate! Nick made us feel so welcome. We loved the warmth, and genuine hospitality. We loved our clean, well appointed room with its magnificent view of the gardens and our large spacious bathroom. The breakfasts were outstanding! Theresa's breakfasts were beautifully presented and delicious and hearty, we looked forward to them. The breakfast room was so welcoming and a great place to meet and chat with other guests. Taxi, the doggie was a delight! Our 8 year old son loved everything about it! The garden and grounds are a real credit to Nick and his family. The local pub was literally a 2 min walk, and was also a lovely place for a casual dinner. We will be recommending Windy Ridge to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSBMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Our stay at Windy Ridge was more than we could have hoped for: Beautiful estate and gardens, lovely rooms, delicious food and our host, Nick went far above and beyond to see that we had a marvelous visit. He even saved us when we were lost en route. His warmth, humor, & attention to detail were only surpassed by the sweet manor canine, Taxi, who stole our hearts, but would have settled for a leftover sausage from the bountiful breakfast.

Do take Nick’s recommendation for dinner at the Horse and Groom in Upper Oddington. He not only took care of reservations & directions, but we had the best table right by the fireplace and were treated like royalty. It was another highlight of our time in the Cotswolds.
If you are in the region, look no further than the superb hospitality of Windy Ridge!

Room Tip: We were in Delbar and Lahaye and they were both lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdicmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

What a lovely place! We had a most enjoyable and relaxing time at Windy Ridge, being made to feel at home from the moment we were greeted by Nick on arrival for the first of our four nights. An ideal location, interesting, comfortable and welcoming, with walks direct from the door in the best March weather imaginable. The superb breakfasts were made all the more enjoyable by our repartee with Teresa, who was determined not to let us go away hungry. No chance of that!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

If Alex Polizzi of 'The Hotel Inspector' fame wishes to have a reference site to which she can take her improving hoteliers, look no further than Windy Ridge House.

A superlative 5*+ stay. If there were 6 stars to offer, I would award them.

Our relaxed and charming host, Nick, greeted us and gave us a tour of the facilities. If you like boxer dogs, you will soon make a friend. [If not, (our host had checked with us first) their dog will obediently 'go to her basket' in her part of the house.]

There were tea and coffee-making facilities in our room yet, as we also had access to our own Residents' Lounge downstairs, a mini kitchen was available on the ground floor for guests to chill their white wine or make an evening drink and just take it straight through to the lounge. Thoughtful!

The 'Country House Weekend experience' continued in the lounge where we found 2 huge roll topped sofas in front of a lovely fire. A range of board games, books, TV, DVD's and WiFi were also available. Providing an honesty box for drinks where any profit goes to the local Sue Ryder Charity was an excellent idea. The range of drinks was impressive too! We just relaxed by the fire before going to one of the many recommended local pubs for a superb supper (do book ahead).

The usual acid test of a great B&B is the breakfast. The Windy Ridge breakfast was superb. A nice touch was the fresh strawberries in a presentation dish which were carefully arranged to look extra appetising. I needn't list all the possible combinations on offer at breakfast but couldn't think of anything I might like which wasn't already on the menu!

We were there for a last minute birthday celebration on our own on a windy January Saturday night so had the West Wing to ourselves which was lovely. Our bedroom had a double aspect so we overlooked the front and back of the house. The bed was very comfortable. The room also had one of the largest dressing tables I've ever seen too! The ensuite bathroom contained a generous traditional bath and the water was hot.

Bearing in mind that the family designed and built this house and the internal stone masonry and individually decorated rooms were built by the efforts of the 'family firm' using traditional Cotswold Craftsmen, we felt privileged to share in this family's home. Do read the history of the House and the creation of the Arboretum by Nick's father and article from Country Life from the 1970's which is provided in the bedrooms.

We shall be back in better weather to sample the delights of the outdoor swimming pool and, no doubt, another generous breakfast! Thanks, Nick!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heather45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had a really lovely weekend at Windy Ridge and were made to feel extremely welcome and comfortable. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPM777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had 2 nights at this wonderful property in December. The weather was grotty but the welcome and facilities were first class. We were recommended 2 restaurans to dine at and both were just what we were looking for.
Thank you Neil for your hospitality!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own personality.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longborough
2.8 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,158 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,116 reviews
2.8 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
4 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
1,090 reviews
3.2 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windy Ridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windy Ridge House

Address: Windy Ridge The Crook | Cotswolds, Gloucestershire, Longborough, Moreton-in-Marsh GL56 0QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Moreton-in-Marsh > Longborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Longborough
Price Range: $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Astonishing! This luxury 5* beautifully and superbly well-crafted family home is set in prize winning gardens where visitors are offered traditional, generously furnished, warm and cozy bedrooms and a pine-paneled drawing room. Outside there's an outdoor summer-heated swimming pool flanked by a folly, tennis court, a snooker/billiard/pool room and a 10 acre arboretum with over 280 species of trees - all for guests enjoyment. It's sumptuous, immaculate and special but still great fun. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windy Ridge House Hotel Longborough
Windy Ridge House Longborough, Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing