We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cyclist needed a place to stay, rude landlady turned me away” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Nibley Farmhouse B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blakeney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Nibley Farmhouse B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Blakeney B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cyclist needed a place to stay, rude landlady turned me away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I didn't get to stay so I can't comment on the facilities! I had cycled over 75 miles that day and was still 5 miles from my booked accommodation. It was getting dark and I was very tired so I decided to stop early when I saw the Vacancies sign at this B&B. There was a big sign saying that cyclists were welcome. However the landlady turned her nose up at me, and said that she only had a double room. I said that was fine and that I'd pay even though there was only me, and she then said no, it was the weekend so I could only stay 2 nights not one (it was Thursday). She made it clear she just wanted me to go away, even though she knew I really needed the room and was desperate enough to pay what it took. She really was a very mean person. Thankfully the George at Lydney another 3 miles down the road welcomed me with open arms, went out of their way to keep the kitchen open for me and were generally brilliant. Go there instead!

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocomocco, Owner at Old Nibley Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
I turned her away because I already had a tentative booking for that room for two nights and all my other rooms were already booked out and I had no intention of turning the other people away seeing that they had telephoned ahead, so what she said is not strictly true - perhaps I could have been a bit more forthcoming with her but she said she already had a booking at another place which was less than 5 miles away. Also it was not late evening, it wasn't even 5pm. We have many guests who pull up needing a room at the last minute and in most cases we can accommodate them but this time it was unfortunate that we could not. The place she booked but didn't stay at probably lost that night's booking and they have no recourse via a review system. The place she did stay at is a pub so it is no surprise nor special deal that the kitchen was open at that time of the evening. We are not a pub, just a B&B that has a small domestic kitchen, like most small B&Bs. My advice is if you travel during the height of the holiday season, especially very long distances in a hilly area by bike, and don't have any back up telephone numbers for accommodation with you then you may very well be turned away because they are already booked out, and in these days of mobile phones, Blackberrys, iPhones & Apps, it is much easier to find out what is available if not near a land line.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    6
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
17
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

stayed there 14th and 15th august, could not fault it, everything was spotless clean, lovely room with digital tv, on-suite large bathroom with everything you can think of there, as i only forgot my shaving foam & there was shaving gel already there. from hand made soap, razor blades, toothbrushes etc. the owners was so friendly & bent over backwards to keep us happy. breakfast was 100%, everything from muslei to full english etc. the grounds was a beautiful site with relaxing places to sit. there home made soap is like no other ive ever used & brought some from them as i was leaving. there is lots to do in a few miles radius & puzzlewood was one we really enjoyed. will never forget this amazing stay & will hope to return in the near future. gerard kirwan. gerardkirwan@hotmail.com

Room Tip: our family filled all the rooms & all was 100% beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gerardkirwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knebworth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

We decided on a long-weekend on a Friday and were lucky enough to find Old Nibley. They have a nice B&B oasis right off of a fairly busy road. Upon arrival we had some concerns about the noise from the road but the secondary glazing they installed was first rate we had no sleeping problems (in spite of being very sensitive sleepers!). Miriam and Gary have done much to make the place special - the rooms and bathrooms have had a lot of attention. I cannot imagine you lacking for anything (many specialty toiletries have been choosen, or even made, by the owners). We quickly came to feel welcome in their house and took advantage of the lovely gardens each day. Breakfast was first rate. Take the time to explore the garden. We can reccomend the Cock Inn pub/restaurant which is almost across the street - a nice 'feeling' pub with good food. It is not gastro-pub (nor luckily gastro pub prices!) but it definitely above average.

Room Tip: Russian (Purple) room is nice but a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G_R_lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Stayed with our two grown-up children and their partners. A very good base to explore Forest of Dean as well as being only half-an-hour from Gloucester and an hour and a half from Bath. Don't rely on sat-navs (!) ours confidently took us up (and down) cattle tracks and along tiny country roads (unless you really want to to that of course) Old Nibley is on the A 48! Stay on it.
marion and gary very friendly and helpful and breakfasts were very delicious. Marion makes her own bread.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotcookin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

Stayed here two nights with my girlfriend. This place is cosy, characterful (is that a word?) and as welcoming as you could ever find. Our room was on the top floor in the eaves of the house and felt like a nice little flat, with sofa, reading area, CD and radio, tea making area, lots of cupboards, etc etc. The decoration was great, with Moroccan touches here and there but lots and lots of old cottage character, which was great. The bullding itself is beautiful. The attention to detail was great, and meant we could stay there happily all day if we wanted: nice toiletries, handmade soaps, a massive range of tea and coffee provided free, milk provided for you fridge, etc.

The hosts provide a neat little book with virtually everything you could want to know about the B&B and the area, with detailed tips on where to eat, drink, what to see, masses of local history, cultural info about the area etc. This was a pretty good read in its own right and it's obvious they know and love the area deeply.

In general, they could hardly have been more helpful. They gave tips on where to eat at difficult times, what was good to see, where to get stuff etc. I borrowed one of their books, they printed us out maps when needed etc. And they have lovely friendly cats.

The only possible downsides of our rooms were tiny, really, in that if you were very tall you might bump your head on the eaves, and in the winter that top room might not be the warmest.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derekrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

Due to exceptionally deep snow we were unable to travel and so had to cancel. This was done on the morning of the day of our arrival. We expected to lose the deposit (£35) but were surprised to learn that it was considered by the proprietor as normal practice to charge us the full amount (ie a further £35). As it happens, this did not happen. However this has never been our experience before and although this establishment receives glowing praise (which prompted us to make the booking), we found the terms and conditions of the booking unacceptable..

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank 186364Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chocomocco, Owner at Old Nibley Farmhouse B&B, responded to this review, December 10, 2010
In response to this I would say that we are not the only establishment that takes a non-refundable deposit, 2) we are not the only establishment that would charge the full amount for cancelling - in our case we only charge the remainder of the 1st nights stay if we cannot re-let the room, 3) in this case we waived the full charge.

Our T&Cs are detailed in full on our website and reiterated again on the confirmation letter and invoice sent out. If this person had taken the time to read all this at time of booking he would have been fully aware of them at that stage, and if missed then he would have had them in front of him on receiving the confirmation documentation. To state that he finds our T&Cs unacceptable after the fact gives him no cause to complain as he had two opportunities that he clearly did not take. We are hiding nothing and acted according to our policy - the wording is "may be liable for full amount" and not "will be liable". Under these conditions we acted with discretion and did not charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

We had a very enjoyable 2 night stay here and wished we could have stayed longer. Our room on the top floor was very attractively designed and made a pleasant change from the usual bland hotel rooms. There was a very comfortable king sized bed, a sofa and fridge and a beautiful en-suite and it was a very cosy and welcoming space to retreat to in the evenings. There were so many thoughtful touches; a flask of fresh milk for hot drinks, a bottle of filtered water cooling in the fridge, a wide choice of quality tea and coffee and a very generously filled jar of biscuits which I'm afraid we made short work of having missed out on an evening meal! Breakfasts were excellent and Marian was a wonderful hostess, very welcoming and full of helpful advice about the area. She made us feel very at ease in her lovely home and I would highly recommend Old Nibley Farmhouse as an excellent base for exploring the Forest of Dean and surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue7792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blakeney
4.5 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
5.8 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
3.2 mi away
DeanGate Motel
DeanGate Motel
#1 of 1 in Lydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The George Inn & Millingbrook Lodge
Show Prices

Been to Old Nibley Farmhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Nibley Farmhouse B&B

Property: Old Nibley Farmhouse B&B
Address: Old Nibley Farm House Nibley Hill, Blakeney GL15 4DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Blakeney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blakeney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The living-room and the bedroom directly above are probably the oldest part of the house, dating back some 300 years; the rest of the building being added over the centuries. There are 2 double bedrooms with king size beds, a twin with 2 singles, and the single room has a 4 wide bed (standard single 3 wide) - comfort for the discerning guest being our main priority. All the rooms in the house have central heating and there is a constant supply of hot water. Enjoy tea or coffee with cakes in our large garden or courtyard (weather permitting), or in the living room in front of a large open fireplace. Homemade cakes and preserves a specialty of the house.The property is conveniently located for easy access to explore the Royal Forest of Dean. Resplendent in late spring, acres of bluebells cover the forest floor spilling over mounds and hugging the bases of trees. It is a wonderful place for walking, and in autumn you are rewarded with the rich reds, golds and rusts as the trees shed their leaves and await the oncoming winter. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing