We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trade description act ?”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Dark Barn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dark Barn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Rudford B&B and Inns
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Trade description act ?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here recently and were very disappointed, the set up shows no resemblance to the claims made on the web site. with the exception of one member of staff ,all were in serious need of a customer care course. Breakfast was a rip off, served in a dirty ,cold, dining room by staff who would have obviously been happier elsewhere .Someone needs to loan them a dictionary to check out
the meaning of Gastropub ,because this certainly wasn't one .
Would recommend that anyone heading for a break in this area stay in Bourton on the Water where people do care about customer satisfaction, Gloucester is not a good destination, town is run down,little to do ,and nightmare traffic jams to cope with .Very Disappointing !!

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnandbarbarahogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    22
    12
    22
See reviews for
26
59
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Found this via Trip Advisor, and upon ringing was pleasantly suprised at just how small a charge was levied to take our well behaved dog with us. Having paid a lot of money extra to take dogs elsewhere previously, the Dark Barn owners have our vote of thanks.
We found it easily enough, reception was a little hidden rather than obvious, but we had a friendly and helpful welcome, were given enough information to know how to find our room and make ourselves very comfortable.
Rooms are located around two courtyards, both very pleasant with seating areas and planting. The grounds are extensive and well maintained, and great for dog walking! Car parking is ample and nearby.
We found our room clean, spacious, well decorated and had all we required. I found the bed a little soft for real comfort but my partner was very comfortable! TV and WIFI worked perfectly, the shower was spacious and a proper shower, not a trickle. Thick fluffy towels were provided for each guest. The room even had space for us to store our cycles without any problems! No noise problems, just a bit of passing traffic at peak time.
We chose to eat in the restaurant for our evening meal. Plenty of choice, not haute cuisine, but well cooked, generous portions and we felt we had value for money. Breakfast the next morning was full of choice, well cooked and very good portions.
All in all we felt that this place was very good value for money, had good food and we were made to feel very welcome by the staff on duty, for whom nothing was too much trouble. For anyone who needs to travel with their dog(s), this place is a real gem.

Room Tip: Overlooking lake will be quieter, room 17, which we had was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Historylovergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Booked this hotel as a last minute weekend away. The rooms are low level rooms arranged around a court yard with decking and seating in the middle. The rooms are well equipped, flat screen TV with sky, free wifi with a router dedicated to each room, kettle and usual condiments and plenty of fresh towels. The bed was comfortable and the shower was to die for, plenty of pressure, lovely and hot! The whole room was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated, more superior than basic travelodges (as mentioned in previou reviews). We only have one complaint, there wasn't any teaspoons in the room ... we usually take our own tea and coffee but had no implements to use. They provide a wooden stirrer. Please be aware of the paper thin walls ... we didn't realise how noisy we were being till our neighbour banged on the wall! Oops!
We were greeted by the (we assume) the Chef, he was polite and very pleasant, easy on the eyes too :O) ... he did an excellent job of sorting our needs.
Check in (2pm) and checkout (11am) are reasonable times too. We didn't sample any of the food, so can't comment. There is ample parking.
Overall, our stay was a pleasant experience, we would go back and probably hire the suite next time.

Room Tip: We were in room 15, they were in the row on the far side from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

When you arrive here you will find there is NO reception NO Gastro pub and most noticeably from the owners NO manners or respect / concern for their customers.
The most miserable grumpy and rudest woman I have ever met.
She has no customer service skills what so ever, and every question / request is met with a groan and bark that "IM TOO BUSY", basically telling you to P*** Off

If you like walking on egg shells and putting up with this then stay at your peril
Would not recommend to a dead dog!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scudhuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rudford hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We usually stay in Travel Lodges or cheap and easy hotels when we go away, but we thought we would treat ourselves to a 4 star hotel this time, and it was a bonus that we were allowed to bring our dog too
Unfortunately we weren’t impressed....
When we arrived we went to find a reception area (if you can call it that). There wasn’t really anywhere to sign in, instead one of the chefs came to greet us. We asked what the rules were for the dog and they said there weren’t any, just make sure we clean up after it.
We went for a meal that evening at the local Cauvery (which was amazing and I would recommend) and we left our dog in the room for 90 minutes. To our surprise when we returned at 21:30 we had a note on our door saying we had to contact the owners as we are not allowed to leave dogs unattended in the rooms (she is usually really well behaved but as she was in an usual place I think she must have been barking when someone was walking over all the decking outside the door)
At breakfast, one of the waitresses approached us (quite loudly for the whole room to hear) and brought up the fact we had left our dog in the room the night before!
We had ordered a cooked breakfast for both morning we stayed, unfortunately it wasn’t great either. We got two bits of bacon, a sausage, 2 greasy mushrooms, a tomato and a hash brown.....no beans!
That night we slept on very uncomfortably soft beds that had a plastic protective mattress on so every movement was very loud. The headboard was dusty and the mirror in the bathroom had toothpaste splatter on it.
I have to say however, the grounds were lovely. There’s a nice walk around two fishing lakes at the back of the hotel, and the internet and TV in the rooms worked well. The rooms were very quiet,
My experience at The Dark barn wasn’t great...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heart_Cheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Excellent value for money. Very clean room, with lovey white bedding and towels. We enjoyed our meals in the restaurant on both nights of our stay, the food was well cooked, served and priced just right.
The walk round the lakes was a lovely bonus for us as we had two dogs with us. The charge for them to stay was reasonable, they were made to feel very welcome.
We hope to stay again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulabear1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Nicely tucked away but very easy to find. Really good value for money. Only pai £39 and had big room. Only thing shower had lots of hair in the drain the rest was fine. Open outdoor area what was used as beer garden in this lovely weather

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whyagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rudford
5.4 mi away
Hatherley Manor
Hatherley Manor
#1 of 1 in Down Hatherley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Gloucester (Twigworth) Hotel
4.3 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
6.3 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dark Barn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dark Barn Lodge

Property: Dark Barn Lodge
Address: Dark Barn Barbers Bridge, Rudford GL2 8DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Rudford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rudford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dark Barn Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dark Barn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dark Barn Hotel Rudford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing