We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for family with small child”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Windfall Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beckford, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jbilk
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect place for family with small child”
Reviewed June 23, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is a great property, nice house from the outside with a spacious garden/terrace (sun in the afternoon/evening with the large field which houses rabbits, chicken, ducks and geese.

The inside of the house is beautifully furnished and everything is there (any kind of kitchen equipment, TV'S, radios, speakers for the iPod). The best is the garage full of toys, dressing up outfits, scooters, cars etc. We packed a few essential toys but needn't have bothered. Everything we needed was right there.

The nursery room is similar. Yet more toys, books, baby monitor, night light.... the list is almost endless.

Staying at Windfall Cottage makes life simple.

This is a very good base to explore the Cotswolds and an even better place just to stay a few days and relax with you family.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the baby/toddler friendliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contentwa...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just what we were after”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Windfall Cottage was a great base to explore classically Cotswolds attractions such as Broadway, Bourton-on-the-Water and Sudley Castle. The house is spacious, clean and decorated to a very high spec.The playroom, collection of DVDs and hungry chickens kept our little ones amused. Although our older child struggled with the sporadic WiFi connection. Bored teenager aside – we really enjoyed our stay! It was particularly helpful not to have to pack towels, toilet paper, cooking oil etc. This attention to detail and thoughtfulness was a welcome theme, particularly when we found the owners had left us chocolate cake and a bottle of Prosecco!

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria...
Hale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome! Sad to leave...”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I don't often write reviews but thought this place was worthy of note...

Stunning property, beautifully furnished. Luxurious, but still retaining a homely feel.

Myself, my husband and our 16 month old son were lucky enough to stay here this week. It's not cheap (for 2 people, I should qualify) but it's worth it!

Lots of safe, enclosed outdoor space. Our own chickens and ducks to feed in the morning (you can imagine our son's delight!), and a whole garage full of toys, dressing up outfits, scooters, cars etc. We packed a few essential toys but needn't have bothered. Everything we needed was right there.

The nursery room is lovely. A blackout blind - thank you! - box of yet more toys, books, even nappies and bathroom baby stuff. Just made everything simple, welcoming and special.

Warmed by the Aga, the house is super toasty. Luckily I normally have it very warm at home. Sadly, given the oddly warm temperatures for this time of year this meant we didn't get to use the lovely log burner. But, there's always next time!

The only negative was the location in terms of eating out. We assumed that the local pub - a nice inn at the end of the road - could cater for an early evening meal (5ish) but actually they only do sandwiches/bar food until 6 when the main restaurant opens. We also found the majority of the nice pubs in the area either don't have high chairs (Horse and Groom in Bourton - such a shame as one of our faves before we had a baby) or they only serve lunch till 2 and then don't open again until 6 when young children aren't allowed and our son would be getting ready for bed anyway.

This was just an oversight on our part really but worth mentioning if you have a toddler and are working around middle of the day naps as probably better to be prepared to cook and stay in or drive out to pick up takeaway.

That said, this was our only niggle and just due to our circumstances. The house is perfect for exploring - only 20/ 30 mins from Stow etc. and plenty to do for kids in the area. Would recommend Cotswold Farm Park and Cotswold Wildlife Park. Both brilliant.

We hope to be returning again soon.

Date of stay: October 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.