We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Accommodation: Perfect Host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1, Woodchester Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Woodchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have just come home after a wonderful nights stay at Woodchester Lodge. Anne as most welcoming and very attentive. We enjoyed a delicious Afternoon Tea in the beautiful garden. The cakes and pastries were all homemade and a real treat. Breakfast again was outstanding and there was plenty to choose from. The homemade jam was delicious.

The room we had was ensuite was big, spotless and had everything you could wish for.

This place is a place were you are made to feel like a person and not a number.

Looking forward to our next visit which will be longer.

Room Tip: The ensuite room has lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EJNutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your appreciative review.
We have a motto at Woodcheater Lodge that we like the rooms to look "good as new". We are glad you felt this to be true.
Fresh eggs are always on tap as we know our customers appreciate this at breakfast & dinner time. We hope to increase our stock of chickens next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 168 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

The property itself is simply delightful full of character and set in beautiful gardens. The interior of the property is in pristine condition decorated in a manner suitable to the character of the building. Our accomodation was extremely comfortable consisting of a large room with bay window affording views of the opposite side of the valley and the lodges garden. the letting included a very attractive bathroom with bath and shower. the quality of the breakfast was terrific and of a very high quality using eggs from the owners own chickens. the variety of the menue on offer was surprisingly large considering this is not a large hotel. the most noteworthy thing, however was the owners genuine welcome and her willingness (ablely assisted by her asistant) to attend to the comfort and enjoyment of her guests.wouldn't hesitate to return or to recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your appreciative review.
We have a motto at Woodcheater Lodge that we like the rooms to look "good as new". We are glad you felt this to be true.
Fresh eggs are always on tap as we know our customers appreciate this at breakfast & dinner time. We hope to increase our stock of chickens next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I surprised my partner with two weeks here in June and was delighted by Anne's wonderful attention to detail.
The B&B is slightly tucked away so you have no road noise. We visitedThe Ram Inn for dinner on the first night which was only a few minutes walk. I believe there are a couple of other pubs nearby.

We stayed in the blue room which is huge with large bed, plenty of storage, tv with freeview and sweeping countryside views. There is also a guest lounge downstairs with sky tv and a very pleasant garden to sit in.

We both upgraded to cooked breakfasts whilst my partner enjoyed his full english as a vegetarian i was spoilt with several choices! Anne also provided pastries, bread, cereal, fruit and yogurts. Each day we left stuffed!

Anne is a very attentive host. She did everything to enhance our stay fron providing directions to Bath to recommended places to eat. We both had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nlouisew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves; we always like the fun of a surprise visit. We are very lucky living here as there is such a wide variety of different things to do ; something for all tastes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were the couple being served afternoon tea in the previous review and jolly good it was too, especially the home-made rock cakes, scones, lemon drizzle, strawberry meringues.... well, you get the picture. This was all carried out to us in the beautiful garden by our Victorian maid, who made us feel so very welcome in her gorgeous home. She had thought of everything a guest could want and already provided it, including a torch should you leave the pub late and be coming down the lane in the dark. Breakfast was delicious, with a variety of fruits and cereals as well as the offer of sausages, egg,smoked bacon, real mushrooms and tomatoes, or a vegetarian version. Our room overlooked the lawned garden from the bay window and the vegetable and flower garden to the side and was very comfortable and quiet. A great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the experience of your Victorian tea set in the peaceful surrounds of our south Cotswold village.
It has been a great pleasure to serve recent teas outside in the garden. We only hope this lovely summer weather will continue for other visitors.
Many thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Anne and her husband go the extra mile to ensure that you have a pleasant stay at their lovely home. She was in the middle of serving a few couples to a Victorain tea party when my wife and I arrived to check in and Anne was dressed as a maid!... Although that was her excuse, but we think she enjoys dressing up a little ;)

There are a couple of pubs within a 10 minutes walk/stagger....... breakfast was great and good quality healthy food cooked nicely. Although we do have a couple of very small comments to make. Whilst dining it would be nice to have some quiet back ground music. The dining room is extremely quiet and you can hear other people eating..... Dinner, although limited selection, is cooked nice but extremely boring and tasteless. More spice and seasoning would be nice. Bed and breakfast would be a good option, and eat at the local pub.

But do not read this as a bad review, this B&B is a great place to go and relax, and the hostess is a lovely warm lady.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricky250873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for writing a review of Woodchester Lodge. We hope you were able to relax and enjoy your stay here in our peaceful Cotswold village.
We try and cater for all tastes when planning our supper and dinner menus which change on a regular basis.
The Catalan fish stew,one pot pork and Chinese style beef all offer bold spicey flavours; artichoke and asparagus quiche, gammon steak and savoury pancakes are more traditional in style.
Similarly egg custard tart, apple and walnut cake and millionaire's tart offer a straightforward combination of flavours whereas oranges in Cointreau and the Woodchester Wonder are more complex dishes.
We are happy to discuss the menus and suggest alternatives on request.
The same applies to breakfast options and we are glad to learn you enjoyed your morning choices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stopped here for one night on our way North from Devon and it was a delight.

On arrival we were met by Anne who showed us to our room and left us to settle in whilst she made us tea and cakes served in the garden. This was a wonderful way to start our short stay.

We had booked the en-suite room which was large and had had an en-suite with bath (with shower over), basin etc. There were plenty of large fluffy towels.

The room overlooked the garden and was very quiet and specious with all one would expect of need of a first class B&B.

We had booked a light evening meal which was a salad with blue cheese and orange, followed by home made ice cream, Both were delicious and there was plenty for us. They have no licence but there is a supermarket five minutes drive away.

The following morning breakfast was just as nice and we left to continue our journey home.

We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and Anne was most welcoming and helpful.

It is easy to see why it has so many awards/good reviews as there was nothing which could have been better.

Room Tip: we were in the en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to break up your journey.
We are also pleased you liked the salad with oranges, walnuts and Stilton cheese and our home made ice cream.
Thank you very much for your kind comments and we hope you had a smooth journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We cannot say enough about the quality of Woodchester Lodge B&B. We were thoroughly spoilt. Everything is spotlessly clean and the attention to detail is amazing. All our needs were met and Anne even provided Red Bush Tea for my husband! We were given the blue bedroom which was large and comfortable with a sofa and flat screen TV and had the most wonderful view of the hills and countryside. The continental breakfast is plentiful with juice, cerials, yoghurts, fruit salad, nuts, fresh fruit, variety of breads for fresh toast, variety of jams some homemade and delicious. A variety of cooked breakfasts are also available and the full english is wonderful. Quality is the theme. There is a pleasant garden to sit in and the location is in a quiet street so there is no traffic noise.

Room Tip: Blue room is large and comfortable with wonderful views and a private bathroom next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farthing_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It has been so lovely this summer for people to be able to sit in our garden and relax, whether they want sun or shade. We have also managed to serve the afternoon & delux teas in the garden, a great treat after last year's dismal weather!
Red bush tea is always on tap along with a selection of other blends. You are always welcome to call in for a cup if you are passing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodchester
4.7 mi away
Cardynham House
Cardynham House
#7 of 13 in Painswick
273 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
864 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Convent Hotel
The Convent Hotel
#2 of 5 in Woodchester
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1, Woodchester Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1, Woodchester Lodge

Address: Southfield Road | Woodchester, Woodchester GL5 5PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Woodchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Woodchester
Price Range: $80 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 1, Woodchester Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Victorian timber merchant's property. Large comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts and optional evening meal. Easily accessible from motorway/main roads, but quiet location. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing