We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sublime”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1, Woodchester Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Woodchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed one night here in November and I have been meaning to write a review ever since. Ann and Nigel are gracious hosts who welcome you into their home with genuine kindness and warmth. They have travelled extensively themselves and consequently want you to have an experience they would want themselves. Their house is warm and spacious, as is your room. Ann has thought of everything and your room has everything you could need and in the exact place you need it. Her cooking is delicious and clever, she has been a professional chef and brings all this expertise to bear alongside her genuine love of baking and cooking. Afternoon tea is better than in some metropolitan hotels and her breakfast marmalade is fantastic, buy some to take away if you get the chance. They both love the area they live in and can give lots of advice on where to go especially local walks. This is an unusually special place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lawbow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed it at Woodchester Lodge. We were particularly delighted that you felt we try to achieve for our guests what we would want ourselves when travelling. This is our main aim at Woodchester Lodge and what we try to achieve with each and every guest. We hope to see you again in the future sometime.With many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
115
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Have just had the most wonderful Afternoon Tea here at Woodchester Lodge. The location is amazing in a lovely village. The hosts could not be more helpful or friendlier. Probably the tastiest and most varied tea we have had. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Book early as it is very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187047PeterR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we really enjoy the opportunity to develop our gourmet tea selection. We look forward to producing another tea for you in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent one night at the Woodchester Lodge with a buy a gift voucher. We also had an evening meal. I would just like to say a big thank you to our hosts Anne and Nigel. Everything was just perfect. The food amazing, the room beautiful and ultra clean. The area so peaceful and picturesque. Thank you for the gift of plum jelly, we had it on toast for breakfast this morning, it's delicious! We will return and most definitely recommend you to our friends. Many thanks. Jane and Bob Fisher.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skala12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your gift of plum jelly and also enjoyed your stay in our peaceful village of Woodchester. Thank you for your kind review. Anne and Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is the best B & B we have ever stayed in. The decor, our hosts, the food, the area, in fact everything about this Lodge is outstanding. A very warm welcome awaits you, and from the moment you step inside, you know that your stay is going to be outstanding. Ann is an amazing hostess, and everything has her mark of excellence on it.
We were just disappointed that when we tried to book for later in the week, she was fully booked and we had to find somewhere else.
Thank you Ann, for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: No tips to add, everything is A1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here. Sorry we were fully booked! Let's hope we can offer you accommodation on another occasion. With many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Woodchester Lodge earlier this week and had a lovely time there.Anne was a welcoming and gracious host and nothing was too much trouble for her. Our bedroom was spacious and spotlessly clean and the food and service was 110%. Would recommend and hope to stay there again in the future. Also we loved the liitle gift of homemade jam left in our room- it tasted divine! Thank you Anne very much!

Room Tip: Pick the room with the ensuite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are so glad the sun shone and you were able to see house and garden in a good light.
Many thanks for your appreciative review. We are glad you liked our gift of home made jelly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

And unreserved recommendation for Nigel and Anne, the most welcoming hosts. The house is large with a big garden where they raise some of the food they serve. Our twin bedroom was large, at the top of a staircase by walls with William Morris reproduction wallpaper. Copious breakfast (with choices beyond the standard English cooked breakfast) with eggs from Anna's hens. With notice, Anna (a chef before she "retired") served a delicious dinner -- chicken chasseur, potatoes, vegetables and rhubarb cake. Beds very comfortable, rural silence all around as well as transportation to and from the Cotswold Way.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTVtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and appreciation. We are glad you enjoyed our home grown produce and freshly laid eggs.
We, in turn, were delighted to welcome you and your walking friends to our late Victorian home, and so enjoyed our animated discussions. We hope your trip continued successfully and that you may be encouraged to return to our "undiscovered Cotswolds".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My second stay this year. My fifth in as many years. Woodchester Lodge is,without doubt,the very best of its kind. The welcome is warm and friendly. The food is to die for. The rooms are all of a very high quality. No complaints,or reservations,at all. Perfection in an otherwise imperfect world. I shall be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros1ep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for making time to review our B&B. Your comments are much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoy returning here. We always look forward to receiving you. B&B is always a 2-way process; the more pleasure we gain the more we wish to give. Alex Polizzi would always be welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodchester
0.7 mi away
The Bear of Rodborough Hotel
3.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
10.7 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#5 of 8 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Painswick
The Painswick
#1 of 1 in Painswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1, Woodchester Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1, Woodchester Lodge

Property: 1, Woodchester Lodge
Address: Southfield Road | Woodchester, Woodchester GL5 5PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Woodchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Woodchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 1, Woodchester Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Victorian timber merchant's property. Large comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts and optional evening meal. Easily accessible from motorway/main roads, but quiet location. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing