We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1, Woodchester Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burleigh Court Hotel(Minchinhampton)
$228
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stonehouse Court(Stonehouse)
$129
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Priory Inn(Tetbury)(Great Value!)
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Calcot Manor(Calcot)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
171
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bbeautiful houseafternoon teahome made cakesa wonderful stayhome from homerelaxing breakprivate bathroomthe blue rooman evening mealfull englishbreakfast was deliciousperfect hostsshort breakwarm croissantsoriginal featuresalarm clock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 175 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have travelled widely and never stayed in a better B&B and that is no exaggeration. The proprietors Anne & Nigel couldn't do enough to make our stay an exceptional experience with a friendly low-key approach. The 3 bedrooms are all beautifully kept and well appointed with generous size, giving lovely views of the surrounding hillsides, the bathrooms fresh and beautifully tiled in keeping with the Victorian style of the house. As if that were not enough the food is outstanding. Freshly prepared by Anne, the portions are more than ample and nicely presented, the quality of the food first class. We were asked to choose our food beforehand for the 2 course evening meal from the tasty menu and this is quite a challenge as the combinations are so tempting. The breakfast selection is wide and includes pretty much everything you could wish for to set you up for the day but please do leave a little space for the afternoon Victorian tea with a variety of sandwiches, delightful little cakes and the compulsory (well it is in our case) scones, jam & cream. Absolutely tremendous value and we heartily recommend it.
The surrounding area is full of beautiful and interesting places to visit by car and enough walking alternatives to please the most ardent walkers and casual strollers. It is hilly in the area so if the old knees are playing up a bit stick to the car to gain more level walking spots.
If you miss out on this gem of an establishment and the gentle hospitality of Anne & Nigel you will have missed something very special in the world of B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms are light and airey with garden and hillside views. 1 double-bed room en suite, 1 room with bathroom and walk-in shower next to it, 1 bedroom very large with separate and separate toilet across landing. All bathrooms fully tiled to a high standard. All bedrooms on first floor at top of grand staircase and balcony landing. Beautiful Victorian features retained within the house. Quiet and idyllic.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yendornewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for such a kind review. We are glad you found Woodchester Lodge and our village a satisfying experience. We also enjoyed welcoming you and your friends. This is what we find so rewarding in the B&B business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is our 2nd visit, as close to a perfect B&B as you could hope for. Warm welcome, large rooms, immaculate decor, spotlessly clean, reasonable price, excellent food. The owners obviously pay great attention to detail and really bend over backwards to make you feel at home. We've stayed at other places where we've been charged a lot more for a lot less! Our only concern about making this review is that if it gets too popular then next year we'll have more trouble getting a booking! We don't want to appear too gushing, so we feel we have to raise one (very minor) issue, and that that for us the bed is just slightly too soft, but I guess that's really just a matter of personal taste. Overall, this place gets our vote for best B&B in the UK.

Room Tip: We've stayed in two rooms (on both sides of the building), both of which were beautifully decorated, very quiet with wonderful views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lima7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebs, Manager at 1, Woodchester Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We very much value your comments as you have ' long term ' experience of staying with us and also other B&B's. We always look forward to welcoming our repeat customers here again. It is lovely to catch up on news and events. We look forward to receiving you here again on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Woodchester Lodge is by far the best Bed and Breakfast we've ever stayed at in the UK.
The owners are fantastic and really get into the Victorian roots of the building.
The rooms are lovely, very clean and homely as is the rest of the house and garden. The area is lovely with a great pub at the top of the valley 'the black horse'.
Leaving the best till last, their victorian afternoon tea and cakes are delicious and you are given loads of tea, cakes and sandwich fingers.
Running the B&B seems to be Anne and Nigel'ss passion and i would advise anyone to stay there for a weekend or longer.
Stu and Pippa

Room Tip: All rooms looked great, Some have en suite, others have private bathrooms on the landing.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stu-and-Pippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 15, 2012

Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. glad we could break the journey between Cornwall and Surrey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We have just arrived back from our weekend away at Woodchester Lodge, a B&B we would highly recommend. We were very warmly welcomed by the owners and they were helpful throughout our stay. We enjoyed delicious afternoon tea, beautiful views and a very comfortable and peaceful sleep in a spacious room. Their attention to detail is perfect and the food is delicious. We are very happy guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thanks for your kind comments.We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

Anne Brooke-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I were walking The Cotswold Way and arrived after a very hard day's walking tired and hungry.
The house was a sight for sore eyes with beautiful gardens and tasteful period decor.
We were warmly greeted by the owners and shown to our beautiful room overlooking the gardens.
The bathroom was spacious with a wonderful shower. Everything you could want was provided in the spacious room and a lovely gesture was a note from the owners wishing us a pleasant stay and a sample pot of homemade jam.
We were given tea and homemade shortbread in the tranquil guest lounge.
We had opted for the 2 course meal which was thoroughly delightful and highly recommended. Ann, the owner, takes great pride in being a good hostess and her attention to detail really shone.
At breakfast vegetarians were very well catered for and I had trouble choosing from the mouthwatering menu. Again attention to detail was perfect.
This was the best place we stayed at and we would thoroughly recommend it to anyone. I hope to come back for a weekend with my husband later this year. Absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Troll70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Thank you for your review. It is kind of you to take the time. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your walk and that the weather was kind to you.

Anne Brooke-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews