We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect even for Non-Celebrities!”
Review of The Ebrington Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ebrington Arms
Ranked #1 of 5 Ebrington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Perfect even for Non-Celebrities!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Ebrington Arms is a 400+ year old pub and everything reflects that. If you are driving get there early - the car park is a bit tight although in a quiet country village there is parking to be had in the roads around the pub. The decor is old, rustic, warm and friendly which the latter comments can also be said of the staff. It appears from a number of newspaper reviews that a variety of celebrities have enjoyed this establishment and I can see why.

If you have deep pockets then do not old back - the food, wine and ale will meet any expectation. Those that have smaller wallets/purses with find some reasonably priced specials and wine by the carafe. The selection of real ale looked very promising. Judging by the degree of satisfaction exhibited in the pub everyone was enjoying both their food and drink.

My wife and I limited our starter to bread, olive oil & balsamic vinegar and some butter. The bread was fresh, tasty and more than enough for both of us. The oil and balsamic was of high quality and for £2.75 it was a great start to the meal.

For mains my wife had Roasted breast of Cotswold chicken, local asparagus, morel mushroom and crème fraiche sauce for £16.50. She pronounced it very good and it looked it. They also brought some Buttered Jersey Royals which we both enjoyed. I opted for a Plaice fillet with a crab & scallop cannelloni, beans and peas in a creme fraiche sauce. It was a brilliantly crafted meal. The Plaice had been folded to make it into a substantial portion of fish, the cannelloni was inventive and delightful and the sauce brought the best out of the whole meal. Very, very good and worth the £19.00.

The wine list is very comprehensive but was largely beyond my pocket. (I will have to look at those carafe's next time or even better hope that they introduce a range of cheaper house wines - or did I just miss those?). Notwithstanding we enjoyed a bottle of Languedoc Picpoul de Pinet which was very pleasant and cost £22.50.

I will definitely go again. This is a high class Cotswold experience that should not be missed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    86
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
60
223
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wrexham
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Just enjoyed 3 nights at the Ebrington Arms and had a fantastic break.Food was excellent as were the real ales on offer and the staff were very friendly and professional.Its a true community pub well used by the locals.We can certainly recommend it.....we have booked for October !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Wonderful food, superb beers , and the village is lovely. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. A minor caveat is the rooms are rather pricey, but then it's the Cotswolds and they were full....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardJBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Travelled a fair few miles to visit this very pretty pub place for a birthday lunch, three of us arrived fairly early which was just as well as it filled pretty quickly.

Staff very attentive and helpful. The decor is very cosy and homely. We placed our order, hubby went for the duck which he loved and my Mil and I opted for the fish and chips which was nice but pretty average.

To be perfectly honest I found it vastly overpriced and the portions not overly generous. I didn't opt for a dessert as there was nothing that really took our fancy.

My husband enjoyed the house ale. I would return but probably not in a hurry. I think this is also a grown ups eatery and not really ideal for families with young children.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bexsobusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We have now visited twice and the food on both occasions has been truly wonderful. The vegetarian meals are delicious and they were able to offer a number of wheat free meals. Great wine selection with interesting notes against each wine. Lovely atmosphere and staff are all very friendly and helpful. We hope to visit again soon.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TnAWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We walked in for a beer at noon and by the time we finished sampling the flight of local real ales, were enquiring about a room for the night. This pub is much as I imagined what a Cotswolds stay would be like before coming over from the US. Our room was charming with a broad beam floor, whitewashed walls, simple furniture--and a modern bathroom and free wifi. The best part was the service. After a day of sightseeing and walking, we arrived back at the bar that evening salivating for the roast lamb we'd seen on the menu. Alas, the kitchen had closed 15 minutes earlier and everything was being washed down. No hot food and no place nearby that would be open. Seeing our distress, the manager quickly repaired to the kitchen and returned with ham and cheese sandwiches on homemade bread, with a wonderfully fresh green salad. It was one of the best meals we've had. The staff was so apologetic and made us feel so welcome--if you're holidaying in the Cotswolds, then don't miss this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgnyc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Called in here before visiting Hidcote, the pub is charming in a lovely village though parking is a little tight. We were met by a very friendly young lady and the beer is kept in good condition.
The menu was interesting with some unusual items. We decided as it was lunch just to go from the specials board. This was still on the pricey side at £13.50 for a burger or fish and chips with "hand cut" chips.
The fish and chips were fine but nothing out of the ordinary, the burger was disappointing meaty but tasteless and a little dry despite being pink inside. The chips were skinny little things and nothing special. The "Mayo" served with it was tasteless and I am not sure what it was meant to be! I have had a lot better at around half the price.
The sandwiches were fine but the bread was very thick, though I am sure if you prefer a less hefty slice they would do that for you.
We enjoyed or visit but more for the beer and the ambiance then the food and will not be hurrying back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayT37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ebrington
0.8 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,003 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
2.2 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
644 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
326 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ebrington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ebrington Arms

Property: The Ebrington Arms
Address: Chipping Campden | Chipping Campden, Ebrington GL55 6NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Ebrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ebrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ebrington Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, unspoilt 17th century Cotswold inn with roaring log fires, stunning beer garden and famous atmosphere. Surrounded by rolling hills by Chipping Campden & Hidcote Gardens in Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. CAMRA North Cotswold’s Pub of the Year award-winners four times over, there is no more beautiful a base from which to explore the gorgeous Cotswold countryside. We have five, 4 star letting rooms, all ensuite with handcrafted oak beds and some with roll top baths and all with glorious countryside views. We serve excellent award-winning homemade food that has held two AA rosettes and a Bib Gourmand for the past seven years running. We feature in the Good Food Guide, Michelin Guide and Good Pub Guide). We were also awarded 'Escape of the Year 2016'. The Ebrington Arms is one of the few idyllic country pubs left that remain the hub of village and a hidden gem for those who find it! We are ideally based to explore the Cotswold villages, with Chipping Campden just around the corner, the famous National Trust Hidcote Gardens and the historic centre of Stratford Upon Avon and the centre of all things Shakespeare is only 10 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Ebrington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ebrington Arms Hotel Ebrington
The Ebrington Arms Cotswolds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing