We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good venue for Xmas party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here overnight in Dec 2012 as part of a work Christmas Party Package.
All staff were excellent, especially the reception, bar and events staff. Food was excellent and promptly delivered hot, my partner could not have the sauce that came with the salmon but one of the waiting staff (blonde girl I think!) went off to fetch some olive oil/balsamic to pour on instead! Excellent service. Bar staff were efficient throughout the night despite it being extremely busy. Breakfast in the morning worked well as we had seen the signs advising of queue times so we were fine but noticed it did indeed get very busy later in the morning with a large queue. All items in the buffet were promptly refreshed so no complaints on the food. the gent who was looking after us in the morning (forgot his name but he was wearing glasses?) was brilliant. Check out was easy, we had registered a debit card on check in so we charged our items to the room which we paid for on checkout. Very handy to do this as it allowed us to get a drink after the party had closed upstairs in the main bar/lounge. Overall a great experience and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view or one on the first floor as you will avoid the noise from the party guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

We would like to thank our guest for their review of our hotel and facilities dating back to December 2012.

This year, our restaurant has been extended and the feedback we have received has been very positive indeed.

Each guest that registers a credit or debit card at check-in for pre-authorisation, is able to charge good and services within the hotel to their room account which can be then be settled at check-out at which time we complete the pre-authorisation and take full payment.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,909 - 1,915 of 2,651 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was the only hotel with room avialbe whn I had to saty for a wedding, I now know why!
1. I had to walk 20min to get to my room
2. there were no towels in the room when I went to take a shower, I had to get redressed and find a maid for towels
3.The lights in my room did not work becuase the bulb was burnt out
4.The queen size be is two singles pushed together
5. There was no air con and the heat seemed to be turned on when it was 30 degrees outside. I could not breath in the room.

When I went to the funt dest to report these issues, all the manager could say was ,"why didn't you report these issues?" my respons was that "I am reportting the issues now." And at every issue the manager's only gave excuses as to

The next morning I was olken up by unsupervised childeren runing and screeming up and down the halls knowking on every hotle room door at 9am. Then when I wnt to the steem room to relax it was filled with more screeming children.


Overall the hotel is cheap and has no spirit. The staff seem unenthusastic, unwelcoming and could not form a though, much a kin to "computer says no".

If you want to sleep or are not a budget family do NOT stay here. Avoid Avoid Avoid!

PS THe "Spa" is hardly a spa, ther is a pool, steem room and sauna room. Every gym I have been to in London have been more relaxing and Spa like. It all looks verry cheap and thrown together just to say it is a spa.You even have to pay to use a locker! I have never experinced that at a "spa". This is a budget hotel not on budget prices.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Having already been in direct communciation with this guest who stayed with us for one night in order to attend a wedding function in the area, we are of course sorry that she did not fully enjoy her stay.

We offer a family friendly hotel and welcome young families. Children aged 2-15yrs have access to the pool in our Spa twice a day and do not use any of the other Spa Facilities.

Whilst it does not take 20 minutes to walk to any of our guest bedrooms, we can appeciate that some are further away from the main 'hub' of the hotel than others. We offer 328 guestrooms over three floors and three buildings.

Our Duty Manager changed the light bulb in the room when it failed during our guests stay and discussed the issue regarding towels. It is unfortunate that our guest had not realised there were additional towels provided in the room.

Like most hotels, a lot of our bedrooms offer Zip and Link Beds. This enables our guest to have greater option should they require separate beds or a large kingsize bed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Have stayed at Four Pillars on two occasions on business.
The hotel is in a good location in spacious grounds.
I really enjoyed my stay and would return for a short leisure break if the opportunity arose.
My only real criticism is the lack of air conditioning - my room was hot even in February!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Incubator62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

We are pleased that our business guest enjoyed the hotel, its location and our extensive grounds.

Like most 4 star establishments, we do not offer air-conditioned rooms, however each of our guest rooms has an oscillating fan to assist with air circulation and all our public areas are controlled by an air-handling system.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

A surprise anniversary present from my husband was this fantastic Spa Day. We both had two treatments an aroma back massage and a dry flotation treatment. The Spa Day included lunch which with 6 dishes each far exceeded our expectation. Full use of pool, sauna, steam room etc was also included. A lovely hotel and all the staff were extremely nice

Room Tip: Did no stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathmidd23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

We are happy that our guest enjoyed Spa6 and their treatments, and Spa lunch.
Spa6 offers 9 individual treatments rooms, a dry floatation suite and a Rasul Ritual room alongside a range of treatments provided by qualified therapists.

Day visitors who purchase a ‘Day Pass’ alongside paying for individual treatments have access to our hydrotherapy pool which offers mosaic jet beds within the pool, pool cannons, a poolside shower, poolside wet and dry steam rooms and ice fountain as well as our fully equipped gym.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is clean and spacious but it is clinical and has no personality.
I stayed in room 239 which is a standard business room but cd not sleep as so much noise in the corridors until 2 am and was then woken at 715 am by delivery vehicles and their unloading and this was a Saturday!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penkiBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

We are sorry to learn that this individual guest does not agree with the majority of our visitors that the hotel offers a modern contemporary design.

We offer various types of bedroom and self-catering apartments and all the information for booking can be discussed directly with our in-house reservations team, our reception team or our Central Group Reservations staff.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed in August for 7 days. Nice hotel, paid extra for a Lakeside view. View was lovely but no balcony, apparently that's extra. Room very nice and spacious, larger than your standard Premier Inn. However, the room was unbelievably hot as mentioned by other people. This made the paying for a lakeside view a bit of a waste of time because, if you had the curtains open then it just increased the heat in the room even more, even with the windows open. The hotel provided fans in the room so they know it's a problem. Air conditioning would sort it. Due to the heat, trying to sleep at night was very, very difficult. The rooms must be really well insulated not only from heat but the noise level from other people/rooms was virtually undetectable. you can walk round the lakeside side of the hotel, this is a fully decked area, but beware it can be slippy.

Room Tip: As you can walk round the outside decking area next to the lake the Lower floor rooms aren't pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45DaveT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

We are happy that our guest enjoyed the hotel.

Our guestrooms that face the lake can get warm due to the sun shining on the water’s surface, however, we do offer oscillating fans in the rooms to assist with air circulation and our room attendants will happily leave the curtains closed throughout the day if requested to do so, should this assist further in keeping the room cool.

We hope our guest will stay with us again at some point in the future.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Location of hotel set amongst Lake 6 is very good and the booking in at reception most welcoming. We had a room with a balcony, the balcony had a lovely view over the lake and was some 3.7metres by 3.7metres so a fair size. Problem was neighbouring guest used their balconies for a late evening smoke and so the odd late evening became noisey from their chatter. Meals were good but having booked dinner bed & breakfast we found that we really had to order off the Brasserie menu which provided three courses or just have £22.50 to order from the main menu which didn't quite cover the cost of two courses. Food though was tasty. We did though each day receive complementary two small bottles of wine plus water and toiletries. We also used the free gym and swimming pool. Overall it was good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 651JamesW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

We are very pleased that our guests, like many others, found the hotel to offer 'good value for money' and that they enjoyed their connoisseur balcony room, having paid the additional upgrade to enjoy the connoisseur welcome pack conating white and red wine, water and deluxe toiletries alongside flufy white bathrobes and ice bucket.

For those guests enjoying our Dinner, Bed & Breakfast package, we have a set 3 course menu available in our brasserie (advance table reservations separate form the room boking are advisable to prevent dissapointment).

For those guests that prefer to dine a la carte, we currently allow a £22.50 per head spen on food offered from our a la carte menu in the hotels brasserie, amounting to £45 per couple. There are many selctions on the menu and whilst some dishes may be more expensive, it is not necessary to choose dishes that are not covered by the allowance. As an example, for just £22.50, you could enjoy a Caramelised French Onion Soup starter, our Portabello Mushroom Main Course stuffed with mediterranean vegetables & mozzarella cheese followed by the very popular Lemongrass Panna Cotta with home made ginger shortbread.

We look forward to welcoming our guest back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
322 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
604 reviews
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,299 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
802 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range: $81 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park South Cerney, Cotswolds, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing