We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway. Hotel not as good as hoped!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great getaway. Hotel not as good as hoped!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a great venue overlooking the lakes, remote and peacful. We had a very enjoyable stay here. There is a spa and pool, pub next door and great walks around the lakes. The staff were very friendly and helpful. However there are a few issues which are surprising for a hotel of this nature. The rooms are very hot indeed. There are fans in the rooms to assist so they know this is an issue. The hotel is clean and tidy, but very clinical. Housekeeping never called back when we asked for help. We went to dinner at 8am, it took two and a half hours, service was very slow, starters didn't come out until 9.15. There is free wifi throughout which is great. Things were added to our bill which shouldn't have been, although this soon got resolved. For breakfast I found foil in the bacon. Overall a great stay, but I'm not sure this is really a 4star hotel hence the poor rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxford-Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
It is clear that on this occasion, our guest experienced issues during their stay for which we apologise. We do hope that they will return to stay with us in the future as the points mentioned here are very out of character for our hotel. We regret that we were not made aware of our guests concerns during their visit so that we could have addressed each individual concern accordingly.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    906
    514
    183
    113
See reviews for
473
1,126
38
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (673)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a work conference here, great set up for this (although perhaps not for non-conference guests). Stunning views across the lake and easy to get to from M4. Good simple food especially breakfast and the BBQ. Clean rooms, nice and bright and airy. Bathrooms a little clinical. Helpful and friendly staff throughout

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aeparker81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We are grateful to our guest for their review.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We visited on a Sunday got a good rate and visited the spa which was nice. I thought it could have been bigger to be honest. Small pool and jacuzzi area. Steam room was closed though the sauna was working. Treatments were nice as were the staff.


The restaurant was nothing special and food was average as we're the costs.


I would probably try a different resort because of the lack of facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefyDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We thank our guest for their review and apologise that some of our Spa facilities were undergoing routine maintenance during their visit. Spa6 has a fully equipped gym, treatments rooms, a nail bar, champagne bar, relaxation room for those enjoying treatments, a poolside sauna and steam room and a hydrotherapy pool with mosaic jet beds and water jets alongside an experience shower and ice fountain.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

On the good side - staff were pleasant and responded when we asked for something to be done - but these were not things we should have needed to ask for in a 4 star hotel.

Not so good - bedding was covered in hairs, windows dirty, door keys didn't work, bedroom light flickered on and off, room was stuffy and restaurant service poor. We paid for a lake view and if we stood on the balcony and leaned over we could see the lake, otherwise we viewed the rooms opposite with water inlet between.

The place is huge, very corporate in style and clearly aiming to appeal to the conference set. Fine, but it did not serve our needs at all well as a small family with a teenage daughter. The spa facilities are tiny - woefully inadequate and limited to over 16 gym over 17. It does say this when you book but in reality the supervised children slot was inconvenient, hugely over crowded and not appealing to a 15year old girl - or her parents. Instead we ended up spending a fortune on beauty treatments - funny that she is not old enough to use the sauna but is old enough to have a her own room (which works out 25% more per head than me or my husband) and full price in the salon.

If you like bland modern American-style hotels and have money this may be the place for you, but it was not for us.

Room Tip: Don't waste £10 extra on a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Whilst it is regrettable that our guest did not enjoy the stylistic choices we have made at The Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel, we would like to thank them for the feedback they have provided, without which we are less able as a business to monitor the product and service that we provide. We do hope that the differences in each of the hotels in our group will perhaps provide our guests with a building style more suited to individual tastes.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at the Four Pillars Hotel for one night on 21 June 2013. Our room was a good size with modern furniture and a comfortable bed. We had a very good ensuite with powerful shower. We paid for a lakeside view which was well worth it. The decking outside our room was a walkway rather than a balcony and many people seemed to enjoy strolls around the beautiful lake with swans and other birds nestling in the reeds. The leisure area which helpfully was open from early morning until 10pm (other hotels which close pools at 7.00 pm please note) was superb and, with check out time of 11.00 am, guests who are not in too much of a hurry should be able to enjoy the facilities before departure. As well as a decent size pool, there are various jets, jacuzzis and showers in and around the pool and a fine sauna (a steam room was being repaired at the time of our visit). We booked room only so cannot comment on the food or drink, but I was pleased to note that (at the time of our visit) Doom Bar beer was available in the main bar and Black Sheep and Liberation Ales were available in the "Old Boathouse", a modern-furnished pub on the complex.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay and our selection of real ales available at both the hotel and the pub on-site. We hope they will visit the hotel and Spa6 again in the future.
Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent U.K.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our second trip to this hotel, we have also stayed at the Oxford Thames, another hotel in the chain. Love the Cotswold Water Park for its beautiful location, both times we got lucky and had a lakeside view which is lovely. A great place to recharge your batteries, we booked a DBB with use of the spa facilities for a very reasonable rate. Lovely pool, wasn`t at all busy, great room, very spacious, lovely food, the breakfast buffet is too tempting! A good location to go off and explore the Cotswolds, we`ll probably return for a third visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
We thank our guest for their review and we are happy that they enjoyed the food in our brasserie and the selection of foods available at breakfast during their visit.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here because close for the Cotswold 113 triathlon. Friendly staff, good food and Doom Bar beer at the bar. Room and location good, it sits next to lake which is great for a after dinner stroll. Recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are thank ful to our guest for their review

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
17.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
16.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Property: De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park South Cerney, Cotswolds, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing