We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times and still love the place!

Couple bad points though which is a shame
- Sunday lunch doesn't seem to be what it used to
- sometimes the staff are not always helpful

However...
- Most of the time the food is fab!
- Fantastic location with some lovely walks
- lovely rooms
- very nice decor
- very picturase

We even Got married here a few year ago now and was a wonderful day and the lake view suite was amazing!

I would defiantly recommend this hotel for weddings, a weekend away, a special meal (just not on a Sunday)

Great place to go!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are thankful to our repeat guest for taking the time to write a review and are very pleased that we were able to host their wedding at the hotel some years ago.
We are pleased that they enjoy the food we offer in our food outlets, our fantastic location, the Lake 6 walk and the rooms that we provide including our Lake View Suite

In respect of Sunday Lunch, the brasserie is very popular with both hotel guests and people that are not resident in the hotel, regularly serving 300+ people each Sunday. Our current pricing is £11.95 for three courses including a full salad bar selection, soup, roast of the day (with vegetarian alternatives) and dessert. We are sorry to learn that on this occasion our guest was not entirely happy as the majority of the feedback we have received regarding Sunday Lunch does not match the comments made here.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    916
    527
    186
    113
See reviews for
478
1,142
39
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Spent 1 night (valentines weekend). Would struggle to stay more. Fantasic location, beautiful spa but staffed by a bunch of school leavers who acted like they didn't even complete school. Waited almost 2 hours for main course to arrive after complaining. Restaurant supervisor just sympathised with wait, never once apologising, then disappeared never to return! When food eventually arrived it was poorly cooked and had to be sent back whilst other diner had to eat theirs. Desert arrived (ice cream) and neither the fork nor spoon were able to penetrate it as it was frozen as hard as granite. Left the restaurant v v disappointed. Thought we would try breakfast and that was just as bad. Arrived at 9:45 to find a queue of at least 30 people snaking through the tables waiting for the self service hot breakfast. We were seated at a table between the queue and although you could see the staff were busy, nobody knew what was going on and the hour we sat here nobody took our order for tea and coffee. Not what you would expect of 4 star. The room (404) looked out across the car park and was simply furnished if a little dated. Not a reflection of the bar/reception area that is very smart.
Overall a very disappointing stay and had we not had a sense of humour it would have been a disaster.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake and preferably not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 247carolinef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, General Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We are sorry this guest had a less than enjoyable stay. Whilst they were with us they raised these issues which, whilst never nice to hear, gave us the chance to do something about the shortcomings and for that we are grateful.

Like most hotels around the world, rooms do look over the grounds and parking areas. We can guarantee a lake view but have a limited number of these and there is a supplement to secure one. All of the bedrooms were built at the same time as the hotel in 2007 and by the same designer so I was surprised to see the comment that they are dated. On our website there are many pictures of the bedrooms for you to view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I went to this hotel to have a break for a free days and recharge the batteries and I have to say it didn't fail to impress. As I arrived I was greeted with a huge car parking area with ample spaces. The entrance lobby to the hotel is fantastic with a lovely waterfall outside the doors. It was obvious from the start this hotel was high in quality. The entrance lobby was outstanding with the staff booking me in really friendly. Then the room, I stayed in a double room and as soon as I entered I was stunned. The room was clean, big in size and the view was fantastic. I was on the ground floor and directly on the lake with decking between us. The view was breathtaking even though it was the height of winter. The room had all the mod cons including tea/coffee/ hot chocolate facilities. An iron and trouser press. A hair dryer and an Internet port for the laptop. It was also complete with large blackout curtains and so sleeping was not a problem. The food in the lounge area was fantastic and amazing quality. The spa was also very good. Full access to all the facilities as a guest which included all the nice spa features, jacuzzi, stream room, dry sauna and pool. I opted to have an aroma back relief massage and wasn't disappointed, the massage itself amazing but the champagne bar where you wait for your treatment is gorgeous and relaxing. The treatment rooms are really relaxing and of high quality.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely consider staying again.

Room Tip: I had the ground floor but the rooms with balcony looked amazing especially in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
It is pleasing that our guest was impressed with the quality of accommodation and service that we provide.

We do offer an ample complimentary car parking area and guests return to us more and more to take in the breath-taking views that the complex provides us, which is spectacular in all seasons.

Our bedrooms include a working desk, complimentary wired internet connection, hairdryer, drinks facilities, direct dial telephones both by the bedside and the work desk, a complimentary safe, trouser press, iron and ironing board, toiletries and of course fluffy white towels and extra pillows.

In our upgraded rooms, our guests are able to enjoy all the same facilities with the addition of an ipod docking station, complimentary Wi-Fi, an ice bucket, a welcome drinks tray with Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, sparkling & still water and a selection of deluxe toiletries alongside fluffy white bathrobes and direct access from the room to our decking around the lake or a private balcony.

We serve food in our lounge bar and Sports Lounge, brasserie and the pub on-site (The Old Boathouse) as well as offering 24 hour room service (hot food until 10pm then a selection of sandwiches)

Our Spa has a number of treatments rooms, a gym, hydrotherapy pool (not suitable for children under 2 years – please note set children’s swimming times), a sauna and steam room with the recent addition of a champagne bar for those guests enjoying treatments.

We are pleased our guests would recommend our hotel and hope that they will visit us again.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Not good value for money at £159 for one night. A tired room with badly stained carpet and grubby furniture. Dinner in brassierie ok but hardly generous portions. Breakfast delivered to the room absolutely disgusting - cold, lacking any presentation and dirty looking lids.
Pleasant staff and a fab view of the lake from the balcony.
This was meant to be a lovely Valentine surprise for my partner but it certainly didn't turn out as I had expected. We
I won't be returning even after giving feedback and the offer of another night on a special rate of £89 Inc breakfast and dinner!!!! I would still think that was overpriced based on the experience of this week.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OakseySD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Having already been in direct communication with our guest, we would like to apologise for the shortcomings they experienced when they stayed with us. It is clear from the feedback provided that everything was not how it should have been on the occasion of their stay and for that we apologise.

Having been through each of the areas that have been highlighted, both with our Housekeeping Manager and Food & Beverage Manager respectively. Each have undertaken to ensure these shortfalls are addressed immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Me & my family stayed for 4 nights it was a great hotel awesome spa etc the food was out of this world. Lots of sourrounding lakes to visit & only 3 miles from cirencester town which is small but welcoming I will be coming back soon

Keep up the good work guys

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Super_traveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are very grateful to our guest for taking he time to provide a review for us and pleased that they not only enjoyed their stay but the facilities available in Spa6

For all guests staying in the hotel, we offer complimentary access to the Spa facilities including use of the hydrotherapy pool (not suitable for children under 2), the sauna, steam room, experience shower, gym and Ice fountain. For those guests interested in beauty treatments, we have treatments available with our own qualified therapists and treatment charges can be conveniently added to your room account once you have registered a credit card at check-in

It should be noted that we offer set children's swimming times twice a day which is very popular with our families and so that the Spa is able to remain a place of relaxation for our adult guests.

We have several food outlets available for our guests and are happy that these guests enjoyed the food that we provide and the locality of our hotel to the small towns and villages that surround us in The Cotswolds.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here, along with my then fiancee and another thirty or forty or so people, in the middle of January, for our wedding weekend, taking place nearby. We had originally been booked into holiday cottages nearby, but had to hastily rearrange the booking in late October. Speaking to the hotel staff over the telephone answered a number of questions we had about our rooms and about our guests' stay.

Come the weekend of our wedding, a thick blanket of snow had fallen on the area. Some of our guests, including both our parents, decided to drive down a night early to make sure they were able to make our wedding. The father of the bride, in particular, arrived in the very early hours of the morning and was delighted with the service he received in being welcomed at short notice and at an unsociable hour.

I booked two rooms: a standard double for myself the first night, and an upgraded double room for myself and my bride for the night of our wedding. Both rooms had a lovely view across the water, and were smart and tidy. The hotel in general is nicely laid out, with self catering apartments a little walk away from the main building. Some friends and relatives staying in these apartments told us they were delighted with the accommodation too, although we didn't get a chance to see them. Due to the weather, the hotel moved our meal on the Friday night from the nearby pub (The Old Boathouse) to the hotel restaurant, which featured both good food and excellent service.

Whilst the hotel was good overall, the most memorable thing was the service we received. From Anita on the night desk, who welcomed late arrivals with warmth and friendliness, to the bar staff, who were jovial and friendly throughout the evenings (and late nights...), and to the restaurant staff, especially Gregory, who were polite, friendly and chatty. The staff really made our stay, and that of all of our guests, truly memorable. A final mention to Dom from Guest Relations who went out of his way to help my new wife try to find something we lost in the hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are very happy that we were able to accommodate this party and pleased that they enjoyed their stay with us?

We have very friendly and knowledgeable on-site reservations team as well as our Central Reservations Office who are always happy to answer any queries regarding bookings and booking enquiries.

We thank our guests for noting the good food and service enjoyed in our hotels Brasserie and our clean spacious rooms. Our apartments are offered on a self-catering basis with the option of enjoying our food outlets at your leisure.

We are grateful for the comments regarding our team and will share the kind thoughts presented here with those that have received a personal mention alongside the rest of our team, particularly those 'behind the scenes' who helped to make the stay such a memorable experience.

Stephen J Brock, Dominic Haigh & Juliet Weeramanthri
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Lovely hotel. We had a great room right on he corner of The 1st floor close to the restaurant. Spacious and clean as we travelled with our daughter who had just started walking so having a large room was really helpful.
We had dinner every night which was lovely. Great selection and a bonus was that we didn't have to pay for food 4 our daughter as its free for under 4, I think.
Facilities were great too. One night they had turned a conference room into a games room which we did try and use. Great idea if u have older kids.
The spa and pool was nice, shame children under 2 are not allowed in but we still managed to use it.
I would definitely stay again and maybe try one of the other hotels in the four pillars groups.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade, you can only ask you have nothing to loose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRM_2013, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are pleased to learn that our guest enjoyed their stay with us and our hotels Brasserie.

We currently offer a children’s menu in the Brasserie and all children under 4 are entitled to eat free when accompanies by an adult. We do advise making a separate table reservation with our Brasserie staff in advance of your stay with us as we operate a very busy resort property.

During busy periods, we have chosen to use one of our conference rooms when available to house children’s games and a small play area which includes table tennis, Wii games and the PS3

We are delighted that our guest will be returning to the group to experience some of the other properties that we operate.

Stephen J Brock, Juliet Weeramanthri and Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
17.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
16.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Property: De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park South Cerney, Cotswolds, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing