We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two night business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Two night business”
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

After hard day used pool before bar and food. Very good standard. The only major issue for me is wifi. You can't seem to access from bedrooms. This needs to be improved for iPad users. I will use this hotel again as it suits needs very well.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2007, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We are pleased that our guest enjoyed their stay. Whilst we do not currently offer Wi-Fi in our bedrooms, Wi-Fi is availabel in all our public areas including the bar lounge, the Brasserie and The Old Boathouse Pub.

In the guest bedrooms, we offer a wired internet connection.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    916
    528
    186
    113
See reviews for
478
1,142
39
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We visited to relax for the weekend, so went for the best, but did not use the spa (we did hear people talking about it in very good terms).
The room had a balcony overlooking the lake and as we were blessed with very warm weather we made the most of it. Drinking our complimentary wine sitting in the sun taking in the wonderful view.
We took a walk around the lake - luckily we were wearing our wellies! but the unexpected extra exercise set us up for excellent coffee and warm chocolate muffins in the Boathouse pub next door.
Overall a good weekend. The staff, mostly local, were friendly, efficient and helpful, we have not experienced better.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you can pay for the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2007, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We are pleased that our guests enjoyed a relaxing weekend here at The Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel in one of our Connoisseur Rooms with complimentary welcome drinks.

As mentioned here, we have our own walk around Lake 6 which takes between 30-45 minutes to walk all the way around with lovely views back over the lake toward the hotel itself.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We came to the Four Pillars purely for the Spa 6 -- we went for the choose your own spa package which gave us free run of the spa and 2 treatments, as well as a lunch.

First impressions of the spa was a friendly receptionist -- very welcoming, and although I had troubles with my card being initially declined, it was dealt with in a professional manner.

We were given a guided tour of all the facilities, and handed a nice clean robe and towels, and then shown to the locker rooms. Lockers that are provided are very big, the changing area was very clean, and also there was a Suitmaster machine which dries out swimming costumes / shorts very quickly after having been in the pool.

After we got changed into our shorts and robes, we were shown the Champagne Bar which is a dark but ambiently lit room and gives a lovely atmosphere of relaxation. We were then shown to the relaxation room which was also dark. It was well furnished with a selection of chairs to relax in. When first shown into the room, the staff offered a fresh glass of mineral water or cranberry juice.

The treatments we opted for were the Rasul Ritual for both of us, and the Indian Scalp Massage for me (Shaun) and the Pedicure for Matt.

The rasul ritual treatment is good fun for couples -- we were taken to a wet room, where we had to cover each other in exfoliating mud from head to toe. This is then followed by 15 minutes in the steam room where the mud bakes, which clears the pores of the skin. This is followed by a shower, resulting in a lovely fresh sensation.

We then went to the pool, which was of a reasonable size and also had a couple of other hidden amenities. There were jacuzzi jets at one end of the pool where you just float as they pound the skin which was a pleasant experience.

Next to that were three water jets at different strengths, which is great for the back... the water runs (or pounds depending under which one you stand under) down your back, and it is very much like a massage.

After this it was time for lunch. We went to the restaurant, which was exclusively for the use of spa users. The manu advertised a 'light lunch', but we were very well fed and watered. Light lunch consisted of vegetable soup and a bread roll, three open sandwiches each -- salmon, mozzarella and tomato and parma ham, a caesar salad, two bowls of fruit, a cheeseboard, and a light lemon meringue slice.

Though it does sound a lot, it was just right. Coffee and orange juice provided on a self service basis.

I can thoroughly reccomend the Indian Scalp Massage, a very gentle but effective relaxation treatment... It almost put me to sleep! The oils that were used were very fragrant, but washed out easily.

The pedicure was professionally done, the girl was very friendly and did a good job.

We spent about 6 hours here all told, but the time flew by!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2007, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are very pleased that our guest enjoyed their time at Spa6

Spa 6 offers a comprehensive range of spa treatments to give you the ultimate spa experience. From heat and water therapies to those all important finishing touches, you will leave looking and feeling your best.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Like some other reviewers, my husband and I stayed overnight to attend a large function. Similarly our room was a long, long, long, way away from the function and I find this strange when the room is organised through the event we attended. The room is fine for one night and perfect for our needs but quite frankly having stayed in a number of Premier Inn's recently (see other reviews), the standard of our room at the Four Pillars was of a similar quality and not what I deem 4 star. Sadly we suffered at the function as the marquee it was held in was, in our area, inadequately heated and I would have enjoyed the event so much more had I been warmer. However staff on the whole were pleasant, it's well organised and I'm sure it comes into its own as a business/conference hotel so don't let me put you off staying here, but just that in my opinion I might have been disappointed had I paid full price for what I got.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyLocket_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2007, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Our guest on this occasion booked a 'standard room' as part of an agreed event package.

Whilst they seemed not to enjoy the stylistic choices that so many of our guests have commented as excellent, we do hope that the differences in each of the hotels in our group would provide them with a building style more suited to their tastes.

Our Marquee has recently had extra heating and insulation installed and we have since run many functions and no further issues with the now chilling winter season.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relatiosn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the four pillars hotel in October for my girlfriends birthday. First impressions were great with the location and decor really impressing us. Check in was easy and the reception staff were very pleasant. Our room (an upgrade with a balcony) was spacious and nicely decorated, plus there was a great welcome pack on the desk with some wine. We were really pleased so far!
Unfortunately, the restaurant didn't match up to the standard of the rest of the hotel. The food was extremely average, and while not expensive, you would at least expect the vegetables served not to be so overcooked that it was like eating tasteless mush! The pork was not much better, with my partner's portion being really chewy and massively overdone. The pudding was ok, probably the best part of a disappointing meal. The other disappointing thing about the restaurant was the layout... It was almost like a dining hall at school and the fact that it was half term meant it was very busy... Although this was not the hotel's fault, they seemed to deal with the extra guests pretty well but it made for a rather busy and rushed evening meal!
The next day, my girlfriend had a spa treatment which she said was great, while I used the gym and spa pool which were really good and the staff in there were great too.
When we checked out we mentioned the busy restaurant and the fact that we were woken up at 5.30am to the receptionist and she couldn't apologise enough and was really helpful and managed to give us some money back off our total bill, which was a nice touch, seeing as the screaming kids at 5.30 weren't her fault!
All in all, a great hotel and spa with great staff but a very average restaurant!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2007, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are happy that our guests enjoyed our Connoisseur room. Our Connoisseur Deluxe Double Rooms are larger than our standard bedrooms in size and are serviced with a luxury package including bath robes, welcome drinks tray with wine and mineral water, newspaper and upgraded toiletries as well as a deck or balcony where available and a lake view wherever possible, including a working desk and free broadband access.

Whilst we apologise that these particular guests were disturbed by noise, we do have a very experienced 'Night Team' who are happy to deal with any noise issues, however, on occasion, we also have to rely on the consideration of other guests using the hotel in these situations.

We are pleased that our guests enjoyed the facilities available in Spa6 and thank them for the kind comments regarding our staff but saddened that they did not particulary enjoy our Brasserie which receives much favourable feedback from those who choose to dine with us.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Attended a function for 300 people recently. Very clean, modern hotel overlooking a large lake. This is a very large hotel. Because we had never stayed there before we just took the room offered. This was a very long walk from reception. Even 'though there are lifts, one still has to walk through seemingly endless corridors. We had a large room on the 3rd floor. All rooms have large balconies with a table and chairs but ours faced a brick wall, no lake view. This room was typical of what hotels provide now for business people, very impersonal. The one small packet of miserable digestive biscuits was one of the meanest. All staff were extremely friendly and efficient. It is obviously well managed. Beware of bar prices! Expensive food! To reach the function rooms we had, one had to ascend stairs or take the lift then walk along another long corridor, then down some stairs and along another corridor. Not suitable for disabled.

The breakfast room is large and noisy with a buffet but the staff all friendly and quick to clean tables. The cereals are accompanied by dried fruits only but on another table (out of sight) bananas and grapes were just being presented. The cooked breakfast was as usual - runny, watery scrambled egg (but sunny side ups were available too),mushrooms soft and tinned, sausages browned on one side only, baked beans (so much tomato sauce on top one couldn't see any beans), bacon was reasonable and the black pudding very good, hash browns were all fat and crispy. The bread rolls whether brown, seeded or white, were like rock cakes. Be careful where you park your car, some of the carpark was under about a foot of water the next morning. Although the hotel was clean and comfortable, it was only worth a 3* in my opinion as I've stayed in much better 4*s.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for room not too far to walk from reception. Even the lift is a fair walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clonark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2007, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We offer a hot and cold breakfast buffet to our guests comprising of croissants, pan au chocolate, assorted danish pastries, preserves, fresh continental meats and cheeses, fruit and natural yoghurt, fresh fruit as well as dried ingredients, grapefruit segments, prunes, cereals, weetabix, muesli and porridge alongside fruit juices (Apple, Grapefruit and Orange), bread for toasting and bread rolls. Our selection of hot food includes fried eggs, scrambled eggs, grilled back bacon, pork sausages, black pudding, sauteed mushrooms, baked beams, hash browns, tomatoes and fried bread.

We can also cook to order vegetarian sausages, grilled kippers with lemon, smoked haddock, poached eggs, boiled eggs and plain omlettes.

Whilst one of our function rooms is based on the ground floor, it does have its own main entrance and is easily accessible for less-abled guests via an elevator and a wheelchair lift. We made the decision to keep the building low level over only 3 levels so that the building alongside its lake setting would not inpose on the landscape. This does mean that having 318 bedrooms, they are spread out more but there are easy routes around the whole resort for

We are sorry that this guest seemed not to enjoy the stylistic choices that so many of our guests have commented as excellent but we hope that the differences in each of the hotels in our group would provide them with a building style more suited to their tastes.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had another great stay on the 26th/27th of November for 2 nights. Room was lovely and clean, with a great view again over the lake. Opted for B&B this time as touring the Cotswolds. Reception very friendly, efficient reception manager. Like the express checkout too as swiped card at the start. Room temp was good, bed comfy. Breakfast was busy, but well organised. Food is great, and go for the Hot Chocolate as an alternative to Tea/Coffee - tasted great :) Only comment was the sink in room 222 had seen better days and starting to look a bit worn out, same as the towel ring. Didn't impact on the stay, but worth noting with the general very good appearance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get one with a lake view, or even better one of the top floor ones with a balcony/seating ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations2007, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Cotswold Water Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are thankful to our guest for their further review and pleased that they have returned to us.

We have already addressed the maintenance issues noted here but thank our guest for bringing the matter to our attention.

Stephen J Brock & Dominic Haigh
Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Cerney
18.7 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
17.6 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
16.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Cotswold Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Cotswold Water Park

Property: De Vere Cotswold Water Park
Address: Lake 6, 17 Spine Rd E, South Cerney GL7 5FP, England (Formerly Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > South Cerney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Cerney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Cotswold Water Park 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary 4 star hotel is superbly located in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, only three miles from Cirencester and six miles from Swindon. The hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities and outdoor activities.This exclusive resort enjoys an unsurpassed setting of lakes, rivers, wetlands and grassland. Stunning views, open spaces and a wealth of leisure and active pursuits make this the perfect place for a visit or for a break all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your De Vere Cotswold Water Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Water Park 4 Pillars Hotel
De Vere Cotswold Water Park South Cerney, Cotswolds, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing