We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property
Our turret from across the lake...you can fish from the decking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our turret from across the lake...you can fish from the decking
View from the middle bedroom...hottub at 38 degrees
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Our turret from across the lake...you can fish from the decking
View from the middle bedroom...hottub at 38 degrees
View from the top landing
Sitting room plenty of soft seating. 46' tv, Sky and Wifi with netbook computer
Our turret...or Rapunzels tower as one little guest called it
Outside dining overlooking the lake. Gas BBQ and seating for 6
Good place for breakfast
Top bedroom with ensuite bathroom and 32' tv and tea making facilities...well it is a long way
Bedroom on top floor
Ensuite on top floor
Ensuite shower room on middle floor
Sitting room with very comfy sofas and a reclining chair
Master bedroom with ensuite shower room
Third bedroom with 2 singles
Stairway to the top
Kitchen with 2 fridges, freezer, dishwasher, microwave, coffee machine.....view of the lake
Fully equipped kitchen, we even have childrens cutlery!
The Trout Lake
Dining area to kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
South Cerney, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
English first
Hebrew first
Any
English first
rachchesh...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed May 31, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

What a wonderful place to stay! Greeted by the owners and a bottle of chilled prosecco and cookies (thank you)!
Quickly we settled into our new home for five days. Enjoyed the location and visited many places in our five days - oxford, Bicester, Bourton on the water, Swindon and Stratford. Great to come back to a lovely hot tub and relax in the lounge.
Rosemarie (the owner) extremely helpful if needed.
Hoping to be back next year some time as loads more to do and explore.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary H
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Booked this Lodge for a family get together to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
On the plus side the location was great and initially all looked good. They allowed us to check in an hour early which was nice as we had had a long journey.

We were expecting a bottle of Prosecco and canapés to be in the house on our arrival ,as advertised on the website , but they were not there, so not a good start.

We discovered quite quickly that one of the toilets was not working and although the hosts replied promptly it took over 24 hours before it was fixed.
There were bad stains on one of the bedroom carpets, a dirty uncleared oven, chipped and mismatched crockery and only TWO forks for a party of six adults. We had to resort to using plastic children’s cutlery. The freezer hadn’t been cleaned properly and a dustpan and brush was filthy dirty with grease.
I can’t tell you how disappointed we were with this rental. The only saving grace was the hot tub which was wonderful.
I did email the owner immediately after our stay and she did apologise for the situation and immediately offered us a partial refund , which took her four weeks to process! Apparently they had had a long let in the house before our stay and hadn’t had time to check things. No consolation to us when we had booked the property four months earlier and had spent over £800 for a three night stay and were looking forward to a relaxing family break.

We may just have been unlucky , this is the first time I have left a negative review about anywhere we have stayed .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2018
Mrs Harvey I am sorry that your stay with us wasn't as good as you hoped. It was certainly below our usual standard, and I have apologised. I also returned £250 of the £740 you paid. We called the plumber out as soon as we heard, and despite the snow he was there within 24 hours, and there are 2 other toilets in the house. The check in time is 3pm , but I think as you had phoned my cleaner 3 times from 12.30 she felt pressurised to let you in before the 3pm scheduled time and before she was ready. Had you mentioned any of your problems when I phoned you twice, she would have returned immediately and rectified the situation. It was unfortunate that we were away that weekend, but our cleaner could have brought you everything you required....had you mentioned it to me, or indeed her, as you had her phone number. I agree this was below our standard, and it was unfortunate that we were away, and that it snowed heavily, so the plumber could not get to you immediately, but he was dealing with burst pipes elsewhere.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nichollsa...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect weekend”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Beautiful lodge very clean everything there. Would recommend family’s couples to stay here stuff for everyone to do. Beautiful views

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2017
Thanks Abbie, yes we have an excellent cleaner, I think she loves our lodge as much as we do....and you really can't beat the Cotswolds for things to do and see
Rosemarie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RACHEL C
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Just got back from staying at Lodge 5 on Windrush Lake four adults and two children. The lodge was lovely, extremely comfortable and very homely it had everything you would need, the owners were so helpful settling us in and the hot tub was a huge added bonus. The view over the lake in the morning was lovely and the whole area was very relaxing. While there we visited Cirencester, Bourton on the Water and The Cotswold Wildlife Park all within easy reach. A great place to relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2017
Thank you Rachel...we think it is a great place too....not just the lodge but the surrounding area is beautiful with lots to do and see for all ages.
Thank you for choosing us...3 days is not enough!
Rosemarie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah A
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything you could ask for”
Reviewed March 12, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

As you approach Windrush Lake there is a security guard on duty 24 hours at the main gate so it feels very safe.
There is parking for 2 cars in front of the detached lodge.
A friendly reception on arrival and the owners take care to ensure you have everything you need. The kitchen is fully equipped and even has a a Dolce Gusto coffee machine. There is a barbecue also and table and chairs outside (but in early March it wasn't quite barbecue or eating outside weather). 3 spacious bedrooms over 2 floors, large lounge and kitchen and decking outside means there is plenty of room. Nice location for walks and visiting surrounding Cotswolds towns and villages. Fishing is available in the lake, but unfortunately for the men they didn't see a single fish (possibly the time of year or weather or just bad luck). TV with sky channels and wifi and hot tub on the decking for a nice relaxing break.
Lots of extra touches to make you feel at home and perfect for a nice weekend break away from it all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2017
So sorry about the fishing!! Better luck next time.I know there are plenty of fish in the lake as it has jus been restocked. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in the lodge. We want to make it a home from home, and just in case the weather is bad we supply lots to do. Yes it is comforting to have the security guard patrolling and available at all times, even if you only need to ask him the way to the best pub, or if he can lend you a tennis racquet (Yes the guards have all the sporting equipment)!, Please coma and visit again, and perhaps the weather might be a bit better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMcP
Oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Anniversary weekend”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a long weekend to celebrate a wedding anniversary. The lodge was very comfortable set on 3 floors. Own parking for 2 cars. Pleasant to walk around the site although not much to do. Spent a few hours in Cirencester, Saturday lunch in Bibury and Sunday lunch st the Falcon Inn in Poulton. Used the gas BBQ. The hot tub was great. Good wifi and satellite tv but couldn't get Sky 1 for the Friday match. Lodge is close to the spine road and road noise was fairly constant: not a tranquil location. We walked around some other sites and the road noise can be heard in most places. Shame.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2016
So sorry about the Sky reception....it was only one channel, which was odd...but we have replaced the Sky Dish and the reception on all channels is now perfect....and we have had the whole lodge decorated throughout.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ange K
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a Beautiful House in a Perfect Setting”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a great weekend stay in Lodge 5. The lodge is gorgeous and so comfortable. The furnishings are beautiful and it is so well appointed. The kitchen is really well-equipped and the extra fridge was a great idea. Everyone loved the hot tub even though it rained! The lodge is in a great position and there's some lovely walks and places to eat nearby. Went to the Swindon Outlet and that was excellent for shopping. Rosemarie was really helpful and answered all our questions willingly, thanks Rosemarie. We are really hoping to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location on the lake
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2016
Thank you for your review, and I am sorry I have been so long in responding. The lodge is very busy with families most weekends, because we are in such a great location as the Cotswold Water Park and there is so much to do what ever the age of the renter. We would love to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing