We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good cosy pub next to hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old Boathouse

The Old Boathouse
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Like all great pubs, The Old Boathouse has a fantastic setting, offering stunning views across the lake all year round. We’re right in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, near to Cirencester and Swindon, and within easy reach of lots of popular Cotswolds towns and villages.Whether you fancy a morning coffee, a quick pint, a hearty Sunday Lunch or a delicious three course dinner, The Old Boathouse is the perfect choice. We welcome the whole family, so if you've got children, bring them along. We can even cater for weddings and parties (kids’ and adults’). And we have FREE high speed Wi-Fi, so you’ll be able to stay fully connected, even though our peaceful lakeside setting will make you feel like you’re a million miles away from the rat race.So, next time you fancy a pint or a bite to eat, pop in and find out for yourself what makes The Old Boathouse so special. We are open daily from 11am until late. Food is served all day from 11am until 9pm.
darwen
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good cosy pub next to hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

good food in a nice place with great views of the lake . the pub was quite busy on the night and the portions were huge !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackie f f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallihan, Manager at The Old Boathouse, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We're really plased you enjoyed your visit.
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    223
    174
    138
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cheer up your January”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Amidst all the grey days and heavy rain I met with some friends for lunch at The Old Boathouse. What a great place! The staff were really welcoming and could not be more helpful. The food was good and the desserts were amazing! Hot melt in the mouth chocolate pudding with home made vanilla ice cream that was full of flavour; freshly made apple and caramel puff pastry tart with cream; and really creamy panacotta with the most delicate paper thin biscuit and fresh raspberries. Three hours vanished in a flash. Beautiful views, beautiful food and the warmest of welcomes. We had a great time and will definitely go back there!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallihan, Manager at The Old Boathouse, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi 'Ann O'
Thank you for your kind words.
We'll look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Heart Of Darkness
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Praise the lord for the gift of Tequila”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Food was good simple fayre made more interesting by Tequila it has more atmosphere than the on site restuarant

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kernel-Kurtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallihan, Manager at The Old Boathouse, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The service was excellent, atmosphere, fantastic and the food spectacular. Will go again very soon !!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxy2528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallihan, Manager at The Old Boathouse, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi Roxy2528
Thank you for your review and we will see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
“High Price - Poor Quality.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Took three of my family here for Christmas Dinner. The location is very nice, being rural and on the side of the Cotswold Water Park lakes. There is plenty of parking, and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. However we had basically what was a three course meal (4 courses if you include lemon sorbet for second course), and with a bottle of £40 Champagne, and two pints it came to £236! Now that would not have been a problem if the main course had been up to scratch, but we all ordered a traditional turkey roast that was failing in the following ways. We each had two slices of turkey and three roast potatoes, and also on the plate was one sausage wrapped in bacon, and a ball of stuffing. Quite simply the quantities were absolutely pathetic, and to make matters worse the dish of veg that came out to the table, which i guessed was supposed to be cooked al dente, was practically raw. Al dente veg is supposed to be neither under or over cooked but clearly whoever was supervising the cooking did not realise this! I noted that a number of the tables close to us did not eat their vegetables and this should have sent a clear message to the management that something was wrong. Yes the starters and sweet courses were OK but you do not expect to pay £250 (including tip) and get second rate food. Very Very disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank geronimo1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallihan, Manager at The Old Boathouse, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello ‘geronimo1049’
Thank you for your review.
I am really sorry that our Christmas Day meal did not live up to these guests expectations.
I am also slightly frustrated that no one took the time to flag it to us on the day when we could have rectified it quite quickly and simply.
We look forward to seeing them all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Boathouse also viewed

South Cerney, Cotswolds
South Cerney, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Old Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing