We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stop”
Review of The Old Boathouse

The Old Boathouse
Price range: $5 - $42
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At The Old Boathouse, you can enjoy all day dining and drinking with views of the Water Park from our lakeside tables and outside decking. Menus make the most of seasonal ingredients, showcasing a mix of classic British dishes, sharing platters and lighter meals, with feature dishes including 21-day dry aged steak, beer battered fish & chips and superfood salad. Over at the bar, there is a range of wines, beers and spirits on offer as well as a selection of classic cocktails, Prosecco and Champagne. No weekend would be complete without a traditional Sunday lunch, served here each week with all the trimmings from our special Sunday menu.
Swindon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A nice stop”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stopped by the old boat house a few times when out cycling, a great little place to get a bite to eat, quite expensive but given it's location and quality of food it's worth it. I've never had an evening meal here though, but would like to try it if the lunch time food is anything to go by.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank XtreamXTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallihan, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Boathouse, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are very happy that our local guest enjoys their stopovers at the pub and feels our pricing is justified for the high quality produce that we provide as many other visitors would agree.

We hope that they are able to join us one veing and sample some of our exciting dishes which are all made to order by our experienced Chefs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    228
    179
    141
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biarritz, France
Level Contributor
461 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Like a big chain pub”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Popped in here for a quick snack and a drink. Nothing was particularly appetising to my partner so she had bread and olive oil while I had a sandwich.

Nothing particularly wrong with the meal but at the same time nothing special either.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BiarritzTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallihan, Manager at The Old Boathouse, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Like all great pubs, The Old Boathouse has a fantastic setting, offering stunning views across the lake all year round. We’re right in the heart of the Cotswold Water Park, near to Cirencester and Swindon, and within easy reach of lots of popular Cotswolds towns and villages.

Whether you fancy a morning coffee, a quick pint, a hearty Sunday Lunch or a delicious three course dinner, The Old Boathouse is the perfect choice. We welcome the whole family, so if you’ve got children, bring them along. We can even cater for weddings and parties (kids’ and adults’). And we have FREE high speed Wi-Fi, so you’ll be able to stay fully connected, even though our peaceful lakeside setting will make you feel like you’re a million miles away from the rat race.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, good beer”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Usually eat here when staying at the Four Pillars. Not a huge choice but something for everyone and very good value. The pork and leak sausgaes with mustard mash were excellent. Good beer too - Fullers London Pride.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank vintageATCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallihan, Manager at The Old Boathouse, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are very happy that our visitor from The Cotswold Water Park Four Pillars Hotel enjoyed their time with us at the pub and found our menu to be good value for money.

Our Pork and Leak sausgaes with mustard mash has proved to be one of many favourites on our menu and we are pleased that our selection of local beers compliments our food well.

We will share the views made here with the hotel as we note our visitor enjoyed the complimentary Wi-Fi which is also now available at the pub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Warm chocolate muffins”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Need I say more, but I will anyway. The atmosphere is warm and inviting the food great. Maybe a little expensive but it's in keeping with the area.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallihan, Manager at The Old Boathouse, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We are very pleased that our visitors enjoyed their time here at the pub and look forward to welcoming them back.

Don't miss our Monday - Thursday Lunch Menu (2 Courses at £10.50 or 3 Courses at £13.50) available between 12 noon and 5pm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cerney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Stunning location but average for everything else”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Sunday lunch was OK but nothing special and not very good portions bearing in mind the cost. The service was slow even with some prompting. A family venue with lots of small children whose screams were only drowned out by the loud music. Lots of money spent on this venue but there are too many other better places to eat locally.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahoydickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallihan, Manager at The Old Boathouse, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are sorry to learn that our visitor did not find the pub to the liking. Each Sunday, we offer a plated Sunday Lunch (currently 3 Courses at £17.95).

We are a family friendly pub and welcome small children, having just introduced a new play area outside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Boathouse also viewed

South Cerney, Cotswolds
South Cerney, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 
Cirencester, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Old Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing