We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed and Beer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quedgeley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bed and Beer”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

One night only was spent here on business. What a lovely find! This place has all I needed. So let's start with arrival. A spacious car park, although the hotel was busy there was plenty of space. The bar is not open all day but about 6pm there was a steady steam of customers. My room was quite small but had enough room for a short stay. Comfy bed, en suite shower, TV, kettle and wifi with a very good signal. There are 2 pubs nearby but unless you want a drink before 6, there is no need to visit them as this place has a great selection of beers, including 2 mighty fine real ales. The food was excellent value and there was a wide choice of meals, not just a "chips with everything" type menu, though the chips were excellent, hand cut and NOT from freezer bag to deep fat fryer! It was busy in the bar from early evening because of this I waited before ordering my meal, a good move as from about 7.30 there were tables free. There is a large garden to the front with plenty of tables and lawn large enough for children to play. There is a lager Tesco less than 5 minutes walk from this hotel. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weedkiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    50
    50
    25
    26
See reviews for
34
76
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The Little Thatch provides good accommodation at lower prices. The rooms are located in an annex to the historic little inn. Probably built some 20 plus years ago, we stayed in a bigger than usual room. The shower cubicle is small. Breakfast is served in the old inn.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel has been 'bolted on' to a 14th century pub and is almost great. We didn't use the pub or the restaurant and both were empty when we arrived - although it was only around 5:15pm. The hotel is in a great location, not far from central Gloucester, the M5 and the A38 and within walking distance of several shops and a Tesco. There is a business park not far away and plenty of restaurants if you don't fancy the hotel's limited menu. Staff were pleasant and welcoming.

The room was a good size with fairly standard decor, but the carpet and other fixings were starting to look a little tired. The bathroom was clean, but the shower was quite feeble and the cubicle was small. It was just enough to suit its purpose though. The hotel itself was fitted with the same carpet, again it was a little tired and could do with replacing. The TV in the room was tiny so we didn't use it. Plug sockets were few - the kettle and TV were both hard wired into a switch, so there were only two sockets that were next to the bed and one of these was taken up by a lamp. Not really enough to charge two phones and power a medical device I need to use at night. The bed was hard, not comfortable at all. It worked for one night but wouldn't want to stay more than a night.

Continental breakfast was included and was adequate. A small selection of pastries and cereals, a small choice of fruit and fruit juice and some yogurts just about covers the buffet table. Toast, coffee and tea are available to order and included. A basic cooked breakfast is available for a small surcharge.

The grounds were quaint and peaceful - you kinda forget it's situated on a main road as it's set quite a distance off the road. The grounds are large with plenty of room to sit and enjoy a cold drink on a hot day (not that we got to do that - it was raining). The rear of the hotel, though, was messy with discarded building materials - not the view you want from your window.

With some refurbishment and a general clean up of the grounds, this hotel could be great. The price was good and their welcome pack did mention they were in the process of refurbishing the rooms. As long as the price doesn't increase after refurbishment, this hotel would be a solid 5/5 post refurbishment.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craignock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms, nice food made our stay very enjoyable. We have stayed here before, and would do so again, without hesitation. Inexpensive place to stay to explore Gloucestershire and the Cotswolds

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just returned after staying here for 2nights and I can honestly say I had an outstanding stay here,it is such a lovely warm accommodation with loads of character with fantastic outstanding homemade food and was made to feel so welcome. I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting the area looking for somewhere relaxing to stay at a very reasonable rate. Also what a lovely and attractive Barmaid/waitress on Friday night,definitely made me and my best mate feel so welcome she is a credit to the business. Outstanding stay and amazing food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night. We found all the staff to be quite friendly. Our room was basic with a small shower cubicle, plenty of storage space for clothes, tea and coffee facilities. We did find the bed a bit hard but it was adequate for the one night. The hotel has a garden area at the front beside the large car park where you can sit outside. The bar area was lovely and because the hotel is thirteenth century it had an "olde worlde" feeling about it.
We would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pears700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

1 Night myself and a colleague.
Firstly I have to say that the building is a Listed building dating from the mid 1300's and is full of character the front part of the building that includes the bar is a stunning example of 14th century building work.

when we arrived we found that reception was closed and a sign indicated we should go to the front entrance to check in. we were left waiting a good 10-15 minutes before we were attended too. The lady who checked us in was also serving the bar and food so she did have a lot to do
we chose to eat in the pub and ordered meals which came in a reasonable amount of time.
Our meals were fairly okay at the end of the day its pub grub and we were not expecting Michelin star service just good hearty pub food and that's what we got.
My room was on the ground floor and was en-suite with shower, The shower was an electric cold feed type but was stable and reasonable. The hot water must have come from a fair way away it took quite along time to get hot. The room had complimentary drinks facility TV and there was free WIFI. the room yet again just a little dated but in reasonable condition overall.
The bed was quite firm and the linen clean as well as the towels.
At this point you may wonder why I have marked this down a little well I'll explain.
Breakfast was supposed to be inclusive however the morning we sat at the table we were told that A cooked breakfast is an extra £3 each. Not a great deal I agree but its the springing of charges last minute I don't agree with. A fellow resident who was also under the impression his charges were paid in full already was also a bit dismayed by this too.
We were charged £50 each for the night according to the rates on the board outside a single room is £48 so how was our charges calculated. I know many would look at this and think what 2 or 3 quid what you worried about, well I believe in clarity and when your checking out with a full on day ahead of you you can do without the hassle to be honest. We left it so they could charge it to the bosses Card and if he wasn't happy with it he could query it. we had enough on that day.

Other points Car park is ample and the M5 is only 10 minutes away, If it wasn't for the long wait and the surprise breakfast charge I would probably have given this hotel a VG
Its still value for money mind and overall I enjoyed the stay just niggles with me certain things.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quedgeley
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#8 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
3.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester

Property: The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester
Address: 141 Bristol Road, Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 4PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Quedgeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quedgeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester Quedgeley, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing