We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quedgeley
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ideal”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the little thatch inn for four nights in October & I will definitely be staying there again if I'm in the area, the staff were very polite & the accommodation was spot on! The meals were cooked to perfection & every night I got in from working my room had been fully cleaned ready for my return, if I had one criticism it would be the size of the tv in my room which is nothing really, I really don't understand why other people are giving the place such bad reviews, for the price you pay the little hatch inn is ideally priced!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rooi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsMcDougall, Owner at The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello. Many thanks for your glowing review. I understand your point regarding the tv and we are currently looking at replacing the one in the room you stayed in. I am glad that you found us to be value for money as we believe given nearby hotels we are very competitive. I do hope we get the chance to welcome you again as we certainly appreciate returning guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    50
    50
    25
    26
See reviews for
34
76
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I truely wish I'd taken more note of other reports about his place as it is by far the grimmest place I have had the misfortune of using anywhere in the world to date! It is old, dated, dirty (I did not use the shower due to the state of it and chose to slppe in my clothes and escaoe home 1st thing in the morning preferably). If only I had seen the room before the very unfriendly woman at the bar took my money for the room I'd have left immediately. Also to say free WIFI when the WIFI did not work at all was bad. To be 100% fair I would have been more comfortable eating in a McDonalds and sleeping in my car. NEVER AGAIN EVER ! Sadly there is not a single thing positive to say about this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsMcDougall, Owner at The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review. Words cannot describe how I felt reading your review but hopefully I can address you issues. It certainly is an old building as the original building is from 1351, however I would say this was part of its charm as opposed to a negative point. I certainly take offense to the term “dirty” as we are by no means an unclean establishment. Our staff, constantly receive good reports and the lady who checked you in, is definitely not unfriendly. We do take payment on arrival but would have been happy to refund you and let you find somewhere else for the evening if you were this unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quedgeley hotels

UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at the Little Thatch so we could stay over in the city following the rugby. The location is rather bizarre, situated on quite a busy road leading into the city, but the hotel/pub is a quaint little thatched place. Initially it is very pleasant, low pitched beams, horse brasses, and all very ‘Englishy-fied”. The staff we met were really helpful and extremely friendly. And the main bar seems very pleasant. The visit became a tad bizarre as we stayed away from the main pub and in a separate annexe that seems more in time with a 1970s hotel and took about five minutes to get there. I assumed, from the online pictures, we’d be staying above the main building, close to the bar. It’s not a major problem, but it does involve walking across the car park for meals etc. The room is like the rest of the annexe, really rather dated. The room was pleasant enough, but it’s desperately in need of updating. All the necessary basics are present and the bed was fine. However, the bathroom was strange. The cubicle shower was tiny, I’m a big lad, but not huge and I struggled to get in and close the doors. The shower unit itself is archaic and trying to get good pressure and hot water at the same time is a major challenge…my girlfriend gave up and showered later that day somewhere else. The bathroom is also carpeted which is odd, and contributes to the strange odour that smelt a bit like an English breakfast. Talking of which..the continental breakfast is also trapped in a time-warp, but it’s satisfactory, with cereals and toast. There is a cooked option, which looked nice, but we didn’t try it.

Overall, the location is handy, as it’s about a £10 to town in a taxi or a couple of quid on the bus (takes about 20-25mins). The staff were excellent, particularly the lady who greeted us and the girls at breakfast - One blonde girl in particular dealt very well with guest and his family who were obnoxious. We recommend it at a push, and it’s not outrageous at £60 a night and usefully located to the M5 (j12) and the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelleruk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsMcDougall, Owner at The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review. Firstly I would like to address the hotel issue. The hotel is indeed an addition which was added in the 1990’s however the bar is accessible from the hotel and there is actually no need to walk across the car park to the hotel. Your criticism of the shower is justified and we are making changes to them in our ongoing renovation project. I am pleased the staff members were welcoming and helpful as they really do try to provide good service to all customers. I hope you enjoyed your day out in Gloucester at the rugby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for eight nights while participating in the Three Choirs Festival in Gloucester, and found it adequate for the purpose - quite good value and my room was very clean. However I was disappointed by the ambience - this was partly my fault as I didn't realise Quedgely is so built up - I'd assumed it would be a pretty village. As the information in my room explained, The Little Thatch is no longer thatched and has not been for a good many years, due to the cost of rethatching the roof. I can understand this, but the appearance of the hotel would be hugely improved by tidying up the front garden and side courtyard, sweeping up dead leaves and replanting tubs more lavishly and colourfully.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsMcDougall, Owner at The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello, I do hope you enjoyed your time at the Three Choirs. Quedgeley has certainly become quite built up in recent years. I do feel that we seem quite well situated with the rooms being far enough away from the main roads. We are currently working on our gardens and general outside appearance of the hotel and hopefully come spring next year this will be noticeable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice friendly Inn. The room was good and both the room and en-suite were spotless clean. There is a good choice of breakfast and an upgrade from continental to full English cooked is only £3. Staff were friendly and helpful. No noise from the bar at night either. The hotel is handy for Gloucester (5 minutes maximum by car) and there is also handy public transport and shopping within walking distance (Large Tesco).

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the back (room 9) which was quiet. We were also offered safe storage for our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsMcDougall, Owner at The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello Ronnie
Thank you for your kind words. Our hotel staff work hard to ensure the rooms are clean and well maintained and i am certainly glad you found that to be the case. Our rooms are far enough from the bar for it to not be an issue but I am sure that it would worry some guests on arrival. We are always happy to provide storage for cyclists.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

A very pleasant hotel, the staff are excellent. The decor is a little tired, but at £45 for a single room the price was excellent; however, note if you want a cooked breakfast its an additional £3. Continental was more than enough for me. The menu for the evening meal is very well priced and the food is excellent: my steak was cooked just as requested. I would use again if passing that way. Much better than the characterless chain hotels that abound these days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsMcDougall, Owner at The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello Andy. Thank you for your review, especially the kind comments towards the staff who work hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay with us. I am glad that you would use us again and hope that you do indeed need to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a pleasant hotel, although the room I stayed in was a bit dated. Tea and Coffee was available but the TV was very small but the room was pleasant enough. There is a bar and restaurant which seemed very pleasant. Breakfast was very good and filling. The staff were very welcoming and helpful

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom1lgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsMcDougall, Owner at The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Good Morning, many thanks for your lovely review. I’m a thoroughly glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us, we do strive hard to maintain a clean, cosy and welcoming environment for all of our customers and to provide excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quedgeley
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gloucester South
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
Hotel Ibis Gloucester
#3 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Edward Hotel
The Edward Hotel
#7 of 21 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Orchard Hotel Gloucester
3.8 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester

Property: The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester
Address: 141 Bristol Road, Quedgeley, Gloucester GL2 4PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Quedgeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quedgeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Little Thatch Hotel Gloucester Quedgeley, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing