We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad pub but still mixed”
Review of Bumble Bee

Bumble Bee
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Quedgeley
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Bumble Bee in Gloucester is a country pub & dining oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar. We are proud to welcome well behaved dogs into our bar area for those seeking a place to enjoy some food Book a table online and enjoy a spot by our roaring log-fire. Or make the best of the British summertime by eating alfresco in our pretty beer garden. What ever the time of year, you will always find a warm welcome at the Bumblebee.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not a bad pub but still mixed feelings about the delay in getting service on busy nights. It seems like you just have enough staff and if you get some walk ins they can cope with the extra workload.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Rickytrips1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Bumble Bee, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry we are sometimes a bit behind on busy nights. Being able to judge correctly our busy timeslots is a challenge, but we will continue to try and improve our service.

We do hope you keep visiting us and hope to see you soon.

Team Bumblebee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had dinner here and was again impressed by the quality of the food, this establishment never ceases to amaze as it stands out from the crowd of similar chain restaurants.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Jasper2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Bumble Bee, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you, Jasper, for your kind review.

We are really glad you can see the extra effort we put in to make us a bit special.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Team bumblebee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were working in the area and wanted somewhere we can have a quick meeting and get a bite to eat. A few of us opted for the fish finger sandwich with sweet potato fries. Very average nothing special at all. Prices in my opinion are high for the quality provided.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Saintlysinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this restaurant on a very busy evening. The service was great. We were seated immediately as we had reservations. Although we were told there may be a delay for food our starters arrived in reasonable time. The dish was delicious. Main course did take a little longer but was equally tasty and well cooked.
Our waitress “Lottie” was pleasant and very helpful .would recommend it

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank C3036YPmikej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Bumble Bee, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you had a lovely evening and look forward to having you back again.

We have posted your praise of lotte on our own Facebook page and she will get an additional reward for being mentioned on trip advisor.

We really value your feedback and lotte is very happy (she did a little dance which we know is her happy dance)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Myself and my partner regularly eat in vintage inns. We decided to stop by as we were passing through Gloucester and ordered our usual sticky platter with a couple of sides.
We ordered the sticky platter and it came out completely different to what we’ve had elsewhere. You’d think for a chain there would consistency. Plus we got charged for a starter instead of a side (which is £3 more for a couple of slices of bread)
We sent the food back and was given a refund definitely won’t be coming here again.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank marcpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Bumble Bee, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are very sorry for your poor experience with us the other day.

I will be investigating what happened and keeping an eye on our specs to ensure our food is going out as it supposed to.

I thank you for bringing this to my attention and am very sorry again for your poor visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bumble Bee also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Bumble Bee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing