We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lunch”
Review of Bumble Bee

Bumble Bee
Reserve with OpenTable
Bumble Bee is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Quedgeley
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Bumble Bee in Gloucester is a country pub & dining oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar. We are proud to welcome well behaved dogs into our bar area for those seeking a place to enjoy some food Book a table online and enjoy a spot by our roaring log-fire. Or make the best of the British summertime by eating alfresco in our pretty beer garden. What ever the time of year, you will always find a warm welcome at the Bumblebee.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had an adult family meal at the Bumble Bee and the good was enjoyed by all 6 of us. It is the sort of place that is not exceptional but always provides a decent dining experience. If there was a criticism it was that the calamari starter was very large.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    181
    138
    129
    118
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The menu was varied with lots of choice, attractive bar area with a friendly atmosphere. We only wanted a snack as opposed to a full meal so chose the sharing platter which was absolutely delicious so decided to return on our return journey (we were travelling south for Christmas and were taking an overnight stay in the hotel next to the Bumble Bee). We did indeed stop on our way back and had a full meal this time, which didn't disappoint. The food was served attractively, was very tasty and we have no negative comments at all.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brum
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Very old pub”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

It was Friday night the pub was full and they had a party. Was shown to our seat and order foods.
The foods is quite pricey...overall lovely foods but not very big in portion. It had open fire and beautiful Christmas decoration make it special to visit. The building the style is lovely but foods is ok.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank HungaryHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Christmas lunch 2013”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked Christmas lunch for 2.15 p.m and arrived in good time. There was no one manning the bar so we had to wait to be served. Out table wasn't ready eventually sat down three quarters of an hour late but starter wasn't served for another half an hour . The main meal was also delayed. We had 4 children with us they were extremely well behaved considering they were very hungry. We received no apologies for the tardiness of the service. In the opinion of all the adults in the party the restaurant had over booked, there was not enough staff to cater for the number of parties who had booked. The only positive was the good selection of vegetables. Would we go again most definitely not!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Noella J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner with Daughter”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is our second meal at this establishment and we were not disappointed the festive menu was very imaginative and filled with lots of loveliness from starter to puddings. The whole meal for both of us was brilliant and well worth it full of flavour and well served top quality from first mouthful to the last, in fact it was so good we had no room for the pudding which was a disappointment but we had had two huge courses and to be honest we could not eat anything more and it would have spoiled the meal to try and over indulge.

Only fault was on the busiest weekend of the Christmas week to have only 2 staff covering the bar and the restaurant was a bit light good job we got there early otherwise the meal would have taken a long time to serve and finish. The delay would have meant we could have tried the puddings so every thing has a silver lining of sorts

Great value and the bread and butter to soak up the gravy was a brilliant side order and I would like to thank the waitress for that tip made the meal even better sending clean dishes back to the kitchen, what better compliant could we offer to a great meal

This is a popular weekend eatery so get in early as its worth the visit and for a modern pub its very tastefully decorated and has a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bumble Bee also viewed

Gloucester, Cotswolds
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 
Gloucester, Cotswolds
 

Been to Bumble Bee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing