We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem of a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Masons Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Masons Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a gem of a place!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed last Saturday night but wish we could have stayed longer....We wanted a quiet, relaxing place to stay and this certainly fitted the bill. The whole place was spotless, tastefully decorated and smelled wonderful! The food was delicious - and the Bacardi and Coke was good too! Thank you for a lovely break - can't wait for a return visit! Can't praise this place enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesBillericay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkBullows, Owner at The Masons Arms, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you both for taking the time to leave such a kind review. We are all so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you in the future. Fondest regards Mark, Jules and Roman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    23
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
80
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I almost want to give this wonderful pub a bad review to stop other people staying there when we want to - but I cannot, as it would simply be untrue.
Having driven past the Masons Arms every year going to RIAT we were so pleased to finally be able to stay there and it certainly lived up to our expectations. The hosts Mark & Jules (lala!) are brilliant hosts, nothing is too much trouble. As another reviewer says, they had put a fan in the room which was desperately needed, it being the hottest weekend of the year. The housekeeping was first class, the linen and towels smelt lovely and the bed really comfy. The en-suite was small but you are staying in a pub, not a hotel, and was perfectly adequate with a nice shower, much appreciated after a day in the sun. The food is served in extremely generous portions (I have to starve this week to make up for eating too much) and is cooked to perfection and the desserts are AMAZING - treat yourself!! Definitely a place to return to - thank you Mark & Jules for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kauto757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkBullows, Owner at The Masons Arms, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you stay here over the tattoo. Hope to see you both soon. Kindest regards Mark, Jules and Roman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in July and whilst the room and ensuite were a bit small the rest of our experience more than made up for that. The rooms were clean and welcoming and had a fan placed in it due to the very hot weather which was much appreciated. Mark and Jules are extremely good hosts and very welcoming. The food was delicious both for our evening meal and the largest English breakfast we have ever been served, thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrisCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkBullows, Owner at The Masons Arms, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you both for such a fantastic review. We are so gad you chose to stay with us. Let's hope the Culverhouse roundabout get's sorted quickly to smooth out the traffic flow at Cardiff. Kindest regards Mark, Jules and Roman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairford UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I have visited a number of times over the last month or so and have been delighted every time. There is a very warm welcome, the food is outstanding and the service second to none (I even wanted to adopt one waiter, Tom!) I genuinely left there very happy and as though I had experienced great value for money. I would happily recommend The Mason’s Arms to anyone and look forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_PughFairfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkBullows, Owner at The Masons Arms, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you both for your fantastic review. I tried to keep it quiet that your Dad was also coming the next day for Fathers day as not to spoil a perhaps not public visit. Tom was sorry he missed you and we have decided not to send him to Barnodos after all. Hope to see you again soon. All the best Mark, Jules and Roman.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a little gem of a quality bed and breckfast in a wonderful location.Mark and joules make you very welcome from the second you arrive.The food is A1.The steak for evening meal is a must.its the best!.The breckfast (WOW).There is so much and is so fresh was really top draw.Rooms very cosy and clean.will recommend to all my friends and my partner and myself will visit again.Thankyou so much and keep up the hard work. Mike & Jenny (Ellesmere Port) :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parksy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkBullows, Owner at The Masons Arms, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you both for your fantastic review. It was a pleasure and good fun having you stay with us. I hope the long return journey home was a good one. Hope to see you soon - perhaps for longer to be able to explore the Cotwolds further. Kindest regards, Mark and Jules.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidenhead
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A very pretty old pub with rooms of the highest standard, although quite small. We were made so welcome by the landlord and land lady and all the staff were so friendly. Sadly three of us a a bit of a hiccup with our meals but the landlord was more than generous with the solution to the problem and we never made to feel awkward about it just very welcome.
Breakfast was amazing and very large, and went down a treat. Would definitely return and its such a beautiful location as well as being such a warm and friendly hostelry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Warm and friendly staff, great food and a great off the beaten track location to explore the path less taken at a very reasonable price. My American friend especially enjoyed the pub, the breakfast and the banter with the landlord. Weather wasn't the best, but the trip was made more palatable by the convenient parking so we could run out to the car without drowning.

Really good location for exploring the lesser known corners of the Wolds and avoiding the traffic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkBullows, Owner at The Masons Arms, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay and I hope my directions of sights to see the next day did not get you lost. Kindest regards, Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meysey Hampton
4.4 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
866 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown of Crucis Country Inn and Hotel
3.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
589 reviews
3.7 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#3 of 30 in Cirencester
191 reviews
5.9 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 10 in Lechlade
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Masons Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Masons Arms

Property: The Masons Arms
Address: 28 High Street, Meysey Hampton GL7 5JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Meysey Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Meysey Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Masons Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We hope you enjoy your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Masons Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Masons Arms Hotel Meysey Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing