We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Recommend This Place”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ao Sane Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nai Harn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ao Sane Bungalows
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Do Not Recommend This Place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend last April 2013. It was not a great experience. After staying at a bunch of busy hostels, we decided to follow other people's recommendations and go to a more quiet place - Ao Sane. The bungalows are really far away from all of the major (or more touristy) parts of Phuket (such as Phuket town). The bungalows are literally behind a hotel (you have to walk through an underground parking garage) and down a one way road. You could miss the place all together if you're not paying attention. Just way out of the way for a below-average place.
The bungalows are also not in great shape. Granted we went with the more rustic option (so floor boards as opposed to plastic or linoleum flooring) but really it didn't make much of a difference - we opted for cheaper. No matter which one you went with, it was not clean, full of bugs, and poorly looked after. Minimal sheets, broken mosquito nets, etc. I do a lot of outdoor activities, bugs don't bother me - but for the price we were paying I felt that we were getting ripped off.
Additionally, the staff were not friendly and we constantly felt as if we were intruding. When we asked questions, we often got limited responses/or confusion. For example, we asked to borrow (explicitly borrow not rent) some snorkels and fins. Once we got out into the water my boyfriend realized that both his fins and masks were broken. After heading back in, they told us we needed to pay (the equivalent of 15-20$ CDN) for renting the equipment, even though we inquired whether there was a cost (and told no), used them for about 10min, and it was broken. The only thing I would give this place is that it has a very pretty view and is quiet.
Bottom line, I would not recommend this place. Too far away, for bad service and poor rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
1
16
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We reserved bungalows at Ao Sane beach through the diving school manager - Mr. Armin. Upon arrival we found that the bungalows that were reserved for us were given to someone else. We got two second row bungalows which had the view of the back of the bungalows in front of them. When asking the place owner (Mr. Soap) what are the prospects of receiving first row bungalows he said these were reserved for 'regular' customers, was very hostile, and basically offered that we leave the next morning. That after booking 10 nights with him! We found ourselves with 2 children at peak season in Phuket with nowhere to stay!
Bottom line:
1. Front bungalows have great view - however, the only view of the second row bungalows is the back of the front ones, their AC (2 of them have AC apparently) and their sewage...
2. All bungalows are very basic, totally bare, not clean, and have no safe. There is no safe place to leave your belongings and the area doesn't feel safe.
3. The place is not as secluded as described. It is a short drive away from a very central beach, had a very noisy night market at a short distance away.
4. However! That short distance is on a very steep hill, making the ride very scary.
5. The place is not suitable for families with kids! We got two bungalows (there aren't any 4 ppl. bungalows) and there was a wall between their entrances. Meaning we had to go all around the bungalow, walking on bare ground, wood, leaves, not feeling very safe, just to get to our children.
Have to say – we visited the place in January, at peak season. This may have contributed to our experience. Still, based on the owner's manners I wouldn't recommend getting there.

Room Tip: Front row - only! Very very basic bungalows!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtgoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very basic bungalows right on a quiet secluded beach. Don't expect anything flash, there is no hot water and bare bulbs hanging from the ceiling and rooms aren't serviced. The staff are nice and the restaurant has great food. A great hideaway from busy and often sleazy Phuket.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbootsaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International
Level Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Ao Sane is a no frills, back to roots, backpacker's, budget-seeking, diver's lodge place run by charming foreign long time residents. It is very basic but then it is also affordable at around TBH600/night and you're right on the water so if this is what you're looking for then this is perfect; rooms are clean, cozy and functional. It's main asset is that probably few people know it is even there as it is very much out of the way; hence you really get that 'away-from-it all' feeling. All huts are sea-facing and about 10 meters max from the shore but elevated on stilts so you great a great sea view. Each hut has it's own little balcony and we really liked ours as we were right at the tip of the cape so there was an amazing sunset view. The place's beach is pebbles and rock but Nai Harn is very close. The restaurant is also simple and straightforward, accommodating both western and Thai food at decent prices. We only stayed one night as a stop-over and, while charming in it's way, we thought it suited a younger set perhaps; not sure if it is suited families with children.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, CA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

The hubby and I stayed at Ao Sane Bungalows for 3 nights during what is considered the "high season" and had a lovely time. We enjoyed the serenity and quiet vs all the other beaches on this busy island. the one issue is that - for outings and day trips of course - you're also far from it all. So our day trip to Phuket town was hard to do on a moped, as it was kinda far. Otherwise this is really the only place on Phuket I'd definitely return to. Don't expect much luxury, it's truly bare bones, roughing it! And not even cheap ... but so beautiful, and good food at the little restaurant, too. Great for divers, snorkeling, reading, chilling at the beach. I loved-loved the "Suisse Bungalow" where we were staying, right on the cliff. You can hear the waves at night!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mian
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A relaxing vacation, a quiet place, nice atmosphere. You can hear the sounds of the sea and the nature while you are in your bungalow. A perfect place for sparefishers or for people who want to forget the living of a city living in a little town... well I really wish to come back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Piz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inner Space
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Having enjoyed pleasant vacations on the quiet, isolated islands of Koh Wai and Koh Samet, I was hesitant about going to Phuket, and did not expect to find any place even remotely similar to the aforementioned 2 corners of paradise. But a bit of research led me to Ao Sane Bungalows, and my week-long experience there will surely lead me back someday soon.
 
Ao Sane beach is on a headland west of Nai Harn beach, at the end of a narrow coastal road, and the only way to access that road is to go thru the underground parking area of the rather imposing Royal Phuket Yacht Club. Consequently, there is no thru traffic past the bungalows, and in fact very little traffic at all. Guests have the benefit of total tranquillity, while being only a 15-minute walk from Nai Harn beach, or a 10-min scooter ride from the center of Nai Harn village.
 
The bungalows are tucked randomly among the trees along the coast, between the hills and the beach. While all the bungalows are “no frills” and essentially rustic, they are clean and comfortable, and even charming in their simplicity. They have properly functioning facilities, and most have balconies overlooking the sea. The restaurant, just steps from the beach, is also “no frills,” but serves very decent food -- both Thai and western. The Thai curries and seafood are, of course, excellent. An added bonus is the soothing sound of the waves crashing on the rocks that line the beach – audible from the bungalows as well as from the restaurant.
 
For me, the greatest bonus is that there is no music – no pounding beats, no jangling guitars, not even any annoying muzak. On my last day there, when I approached the manager and thanked him for not piping any grating music thru the speakers (yep, someone had installed speakers in the restaurant, and probably a sound system behind the speakers), the manager smiled, swept his arm towards the waves lapping the beach, and said, “Our music comes from there.”
 
In the daytime, the beach gets a few stray visitors from Nai Harn, Rawai, or even Patong, but there is no steady stream of tourists passing thru, and each day on Ao Sane beach is long and lazy. And by evening, the aliens depart, leaving Ao Sane guests to enjoy more solitude.
 
During my stay at the end of the rainy season, there were 2 intense storms, with booming, bone-rattling thunder and torrential downpours, but they simply enhanced the experience of being away from civilization. One can hardly ask for more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maJes-ty_InnerSpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nai Harn
0.0 mi away
Sunsuri Phuket
Sunsuri Phuket
#2 of 6 in Nai Harn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
THE NAI HARN
THE NAI HARN
#1 of 6 in Nai Harn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baan Krating Phuket Resort
0.0 mi away
Baan Oui
Baan Oui
#5 of 15 in Nai Harn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Sane Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Sane Bungalows

Property: Ao Sane Bungalows
Address: 11/2 Moo 1 | Wiset Rd, Ao Sane, Nai Harn, Rawai, Phuket, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Rawai > Nai Harn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Nai Harn
Also Known As:
Ao Sane Bungalows Phuket/Nai Harn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing