We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant break from Thai food”

Macarona - European Cuisine & Pizzeria
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Nai Thon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, European, Pizza, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bringing you authentic European taste to the beautiful shores of Naithon Beach, Phuket
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant break from Thai food”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

While we love Thai food, after a couple weeks of traveling we were looking for something different. This place has a pretty eclectic menu with choices from Italian to Russian style. The grilled squid starter was excellent, we had to ask for more bread to soak up the great sauce. The lasagna w/Bolognese and the pizza mista were both quite good. Agree with another review that it wouldn't win awards in Italy, but we were pleased. The service was slow, but they were full when we were there. Overall, worth a try if you need a break from Thai food.

Helpful?
Thank TravelBugCaliGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    54
    16
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
2 reviews
“Not only Pizza!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We were just amazed how such a small restaurant can offer so many delicious foods.
Pizza is as amazing as everyone mentioned. But also try the steaks, pastas, soups ... Actually everything we tried was great.
Just one problem, it becomes too busy at dinner times which can stretch the waiting time, specially for the pizza. But it's worth waiting.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mirko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cheap, cheerful and good pizza”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This place is always busy and it's no surprise. Given the similarity of the surrounding restaurants, Macarona does at least have some kind of niche and one which is welcomed if you're spending a week in Naithon. Given the only other decent pizza you could have would be at the ridiculously overpriced Pullman Hotel, this is a good alternative.

The pizzas are delicious and while they're not going to challenge for awards in Italy, they're not going to leave you bankrupt. The food and service were good and it's not a surprise to see why the place has to turn customers away.

Menu has plenty of variety, just stay away from the garlic bread or bruschetta - bit stale.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesMasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

After reading good reviews for this restaurant we were disappointed with the reality, the food was average to bad. Will not be going back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 460DavidB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice to have some pizza!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate here after about 19 days of eating Thai food in Bangkok, so pizza was a delight to this American/Italian! I really liked the pizza - we had one with shitake mushrooms...again I hadn't had them in the past few weeks so I was very happy. My husband didn't think the pizza was great, I disagree! So you'll have to go to find out for yourself I guess. At least you won't spend too much trying it! The staff was nice too and people watching is at it's finest!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BoxStudioLLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macarona - European Cuisine & Pizzeria also viewed

 
Nai Thon, Thalang District
Nai Thon, Thalang District
 

Been to Macarona - European Cuisine & Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing