We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Lez-Eaux
Certificate of Excellence
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Site”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having just returned from a 6 day at this site, I can say that the site is in a beautiful location and well maintained by the owners. I would certainly return probably a little later in the year as certain facilities closed on Mondays and did not stay open for very long i.e the pool and the bar. I have stayed on a good number of camping sites within France and Chateau Lez Eaux is one of the best. Supermarket within a 5 minutes drive for all your needs and good site for seeing Mont St Michel, Bayeux etc. Must wear proper swimming trunks while swimming in the pool, this is the first site we have been on in 14 years to impose this rule, but do let this put you off.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul186243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel C, Responsable réception at Chateau de Lez-Eaux, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Château de Lez-Eaux owners and staff thank you for your review.
It's a great pleasure that see our guests coming back to the campsite.
The atmospher is more quiet in low season than in July and August. Some people prefer the campsite when it's very calm, other prefer it more living.
From July, the services are open everyday and opening hours are larger. Swimming pools are open from 10am to 8pm. From 9 to 10am, aquatonic is proposed for a sporty and musical wake up.
We are looking forward to welcome you again on the campsite. Do not hesitate to ask about favorite pitch or nice other visits to do around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    72
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
174
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed in a campsite owned chalet which was spotlessly clean with beautiful views.It was very quiet but thats just how we like it! My 5 year old loved the bouncy castle,swimming pool and well equipped playground.
Only complaint is that the outdoor swimming pool could have been opened in recognition of the british half term not just when the french holiday makers arrived for their holiday weekend.
lots to visit in the area . We went to mont st micheal which is not to be missed! The local zoo was excellent - that was a lovely surprise.
Staff were polite and helpful at all times.Thank you.

Room Tip: campsite owned accomodation gives a variety of options
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel C, Responsable réception at Chateau de Lez-Eaux, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We thank you for these compliments and are very glad all your family enjoyed her stay at Lez-Eaux.
We intend that everyone: kids and parents have very nice holidays, feel safe and have fun in the swimming pool, fishing in the pond or cycling in the countryside around.
In deed, the outdoor pool opened on monday 26th of may instead of the previous saturday. The weather was too uncertain to open earlier.
Our reception staff will always be pleased to advice about new visits to do: maybe discovering a goat-cheese-making farm or crossing in the Mont saint Michel's bay.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just returned from a quiet 7 day camping holiday here. On our arrival we were greeted by a young and very attractive dark haired lady, that spoke excellent English. Check in was efficient and we were shown to our tent pitch quickly.

The pitches at this site are large and spacious with electricity, water tap and drainage for most pitches. Our tent pitch was a little 'lumpy' in places, perhaps due to the recent rain - would have been OK if you were in a caravan.

The shower blocks were spotlessly clean with hot water on every visit we made.

The whole campsite was very well maintained with good facilities. There's a bar, TV room, games room, takeaway and a shop that serves delicious croissants in the morning. The nearest supermarket is about a 5 minute drive away.

There seemed to be lots of things of things to do for kids, in particular the indoor pool and bouncy castles etc.

All in all we enjoyed our visit to Chateaux Lez Eaux, my only other comment would be there didn't appear to be much else to do, close by the campsite. Mont St Michel is about 45 minutes drive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BanditTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel C, Responsable réception at Chateau de Lez-Eaux, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We thank you for your review and are glad you enjoyed your stay at château de Lez-Eaux. Our reception staff and the person who greeted you when your came at Lez-Eaux thank you for these compliments. Weare always pleased to advice about visits, walks and cities to discover around.
From Granville, you can cross to spend a day in Chausey or Jersey islands. You can visit the old city and Christian dior’s childhood home in Granville and villages along the Bay of Mont saint Michel. Also, local markets, festivals and events are numerous from April to August in the area.
We intend to keep the park and facilities the cleanest and the most welcoming possible in order that our guests feel very comfortably set.
Several types of pitches are proposed following each one expectation. Every of them are spacious and equipped with at least 10amps electricity.
We just added the “pain aux raisins” to our bakery offer in the morning. You’ll be able to taste it next time.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

we have just returned from a 5 day break here with our two grown up kids. Although the camp was clean and the staff friendly we found the camp itself not as expected. The indoor swimming pool was smaller than expected, the outdoor pool was closed. The pub shut on Mondays and closed at 9pm the television room was just a telly with French channels the games room was a pool table the fitness centre was 3 playground apparatuses.and no telly in the caravan. There isn't much to do around the area but we went into Granville and the surrounding villages to get a taste of French life except there wasn't much of it around everywhere seemed closed. We travelled back across Normandy to Bayeaux which is well worth a visit and the beaches are lovely over in that area and also a trip to St Michel Mont is worth seeing. Sorry but I cant see us returning.

Room Tip: we had a basic caravan which was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnybabe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel C, Gérant at Chateau de Lez-Eaux, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We thank you for your review and are sorry we could not meet your expectations regarding entertaiments for grown up kids. The campsite is a quite place, ideal for peaceful holidays but that's true we only organize a few animations for teenagers.
We are surprised you found the covered swimming pool small. It's 1300m2 and for all the family with the slides, the paddle pool and pool.
We use to open the outdoor swimming pool on may 15th, but the weather was not good enough this year, so we decided to postpone of 1 week.
Opening hours of the facilities are different in high and low season. The bar and take away are closed on Monday until June. You can find in the TV room: a billiard, a baby-foot plus several other games in the games rooms (between take –away and shop).
Our reception staff could have adviced about nice visits do to in our region, such as Jersey an Chausey islands, the zoo in Champrepus, la cabane Vauban, ord cider and cheese-making farms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We visited Chateau de Lez-Eaux with my family for an Easter break with keycamp (now Eurocamp) the mobile home was very clean and well cared for, the site is very clean and in a nice quiet location, the site wasn't very busy but in the afternoons when the indoor pool opened it got very hot inside and very busy, the indoor pool is only 1.2m deep and fun area for children. There are no changing rooms. There is a smaller pool for little ones. There are slides which are very popular. While waiting for my grandchildren at the bottom of the most popular slide I witnessed 5 adults linked together coming down the slide backwards (prohibited) but the lifeguard missed this because she was sitting. reading a book. The outside pool was closed and covered over while we were there. There is a small lake where you can fish. A shop and a food takeaway service. The bar opened at 6pm and closed a 9pm. The campsite is near to Saint-pair sur Mer and Granville, but you need transport the nearest supermarket is not within walking distance .Granville being the larger of the two towns with plenty of shops and restaurants. The whole area is very clean and well kept and pretty. There is a zoo near by and Mont St Michel a short drive away, well worth the visit but lots of steps. we all enjoyed our stay, we have had many enjoyable holidays with Keycamp.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel C, Gérant at Chateau de Lez-Eaux, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We thank you for your comment about le Château de Lez-Eaux. The campsite is less busy from April to june, so it well worth for quiet and peaceful holidays.
The covered water park is heated (air and water). when it's too or not warm enough, we can adjust the temperature to keep it pleasant. The pool-guard job is to ensure the respect of the rules. In that case, she should have acted if adults or children broke any rule. instructions have been reviewed about the slides.
The outdoor pool opened 1 week later than may 15th, outdoor temperatures did not allow to open it earlier for our guests.
In low season, opening hours of the facilities are different from those of high season. For example, the bar opens from 8 to 11am plus from 5 to 12pm in July and August, and opens all day on saturday and sunday.
You are right, there are many nice things too see and do around Lez-eaux which is well situated between Normandy and Brittany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

We stayed here in our camper and the kids (and us) really enjoyed the water slides. The whole place is very clean with extremely helpful and friendly staff. As it was low season it was nice and quiet and good weather really helped our stay. When there are changing rooms at the pool then it will be even better! If the bar could stay open later than 9 then that would be great.

It is well situated at around an hour to mont st michel and just over 2 hours from Cherbourg (from memory). Our pitch was great as we paid extra for the furniture/hut/fridge which made the stay more comfortable. We had wonderful meadow/lake views and were close to the shower block and play area but without being too close.

The whole family and our guest thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we plan to return with the grandparents another time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel C, Responsable réception at Chateau de Lez-Eaux, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We are pleased you really enjoyed your stay at Château de Lez-eaux. We care about every guest is comfortably set on the campsite. That's why we installed the Premium pitches with garden fournitures and fridge. It's very convenient.
The campsite is situated 40minutes from the Mont Saint Michel and 1h30 from Cherbourg and Ouistreham. It's in the middle of numerous attractions, visits and facilities thanks to Granville and Avranches the main cities around.
We'll be glad to welcome you and your family again. Do not hesitate to request for a pitch you like in particular.
See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easingwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a very nice campsite with good facilities in a pleasant location. There are good leisure facilities with a big indoor water park (although no changing facilities are available inside), a fishing lake, a shop, takeaway, childrens play areas and a bar. It is close to a main road which can be a little noisy if you are situated at that end of the site. The advantage of the main road is that you can quickly get yourself around Normandy and into Brittany to see the many things on offer.

Room Tip: Try and get a pitch or mobile home at the Western end of the campsite away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CosmicHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castel C, Responsable réception at Chateau de Lez-Eaux, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
We thank you for all these compliments and are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Château de Lez-Eaux. The indoor water park is always a great pleasure for kids and parents. We are planning to build changing rooms in the future that will be a plus. You probably visited the Mont-saint-Michel, Granville or saint Malo, closed to the campsite. We will be happy yo advice about many other visit in Normandy or Brittany, or cycling and walking around. We hope to see you again. With best regards. Château de Lez-Eaux owners and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Pair-sur-Mer
4.4 mi away
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel
3.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Granville
Ibis Budget Granville
#5 of 7 in Granville
402 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ibis Granville Le Herel
Ibis Granville Le Herel
#2 of 7 in Granville
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel de la Baie
Hotel de la Baie
#1 of 1 in Donville-les-Bains
424 reviews
3.9 mi away
Brit Hotel Granville
Brit Hotel Granville
#6 of 7 in Granville
225 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel des Bains
Hotel des Bains
#4 of 7 in Granville
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Lez-Eaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Lez-Eaux

Property: Chateau de Lez-Eaux
Address: 240 route de Lezeaux, 50380 Saint-Pair-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Saint-Pair-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Saint-Pair-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Lez-Eaux 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Chateau de Lez-Eaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Lez-Eaux Hotel Saint-Pair-Sur-Mer
Chateau De Lez-Eaux Saint-Pair-Sur-Mer, Normandy, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing