We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de Suhard
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Belleme
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Montligeon Hotel-Restaurant(La Chapelle-Montligeon)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Auberge de la Cloche(Mortagne-au-Perche)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel-Restaurant du Tribunal(Mortagne-au-Perche)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Brit Hotel du Perche(Nogent-le-Rotrou)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Hotel La Gare(Nogent-le-Rotrou)
View Hotel
L'Eden(Nogent-le-Rotrou)
View Hotel
Inter-Hotel Le Sully(Nogent-le-Rotrou)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
66
7
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
7
0
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 74 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed!
Josiane and Joel made every effort to make us feel welcome and at home in this lovely hotel in the centre of Belleme. The rooms are furnished to a high standard and it is obvious that a lot of care has been taken in the choice of furnishing even down to the smallest detail. It is a wonderful opportunity for visitors to experience these French treasures!
Breakfast is a mixture of homemade jams, fruits from the garden and local bread and cheese as well as an endless supply of coffee which sets you up for a good day of sightseeing. Guests have access to the garden also, which is just as pretty as the house as well as the Salon with it's extensive collection of books.

Joel and Josiane gave us recommendations for visiting gardens and also made booking for restaurants in Belleme. I would advise making a reservation for restaurants in advance though, as the first night we arrived, many places were booked and our choice (being vegetarian) was limited.

We stopped at Belleme as it was between Calais and the Loire Valley, but we found many things to see and do around the town itself which is a very quiet and peaceful place.

We will definitely stay at Hotel Suhard again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _2013C4539CY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have just returned from a short trip to France, during which we spent three nights at the Hotel de Suhard. This was a complete pleasure, such a charming place, beautifully restored by Joel & Josiane who clearly and deservedly are very proud of this delightful Guest House. Perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble and everything provided with a smile. Our room (Madame de Suhard) complete with elegant salon, was very comfortable and thoughtfully equipped. The breakfasts were delicious and most attractively presented and the restaurants which they recommended for evening meals were very good. Any information requested was promptly and fully provided. All in all a very pleasant experience which we should be happy to repeat!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eagle301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We chose the Hotel de Suhard because it was almost exactly halfway from Calais to Bordeaux and because it seemed to offer exactly the sort of quiet and comfortable accommodation we were looking for. We were not disappointed. Our hosts gave us a very warm welcome on arrival and gave us a quick tour of their beautiful house and garden. The room was large, spotlessly clean and very tranquil. Breakfast the next morning was excellent, with everything you could want from a continental breakfast. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed a long weekend here in Belleme and had a really lovely time. The owners have done a wonderful job of renovating the huge old house and so it has beautifully modern bathroom fittings while retaining all the old beams and features. Josiane and Joel were kind and friendly and went out of their way to provide a highchair and cot for our baby. The home-cooked meal on the evening we arrived (ask in advance if you would like dinner as breakfast is usually only provided) was excellent, with all local or home-grown produce used.
The room was beautiful with a view out over the back garden, and it has been decorated in such a tasteful way that you feel like you are a special guest at a friend's chateau rather than at a hotel. Joel was very helpful with organising bookings at local restaurants and giving us directions and he and his wife really made us feel very welcome. We would recommend this to anyone who would like a stay at a B & B that is unique and charming.

Room Tip: Check the website to choose the most appropriate room, as they are all different sizes and have different bathroom features.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OtterAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel de Suhard and loved every minute of our stay. Our room was the Nicholas Chatrier - a beautifully decorated room on the first floor with 3 windows overlooking the garden. Bathroom was sumptuous with masses of white towels. We arrived after a long drive feeling rather frayed and were met with a lovely cup of tea and biscuits from Joel and Josiane. Ate at the local Café/restaurant de la paix - simple but very nice. Herbal tea on our return from the restaurant with J and J - and a good practice of my rusty French - we mentioned we would like to do some walking the next day and hey presto, at breakfast, some walking books and details of local manor house visits. Nothing too much trouble.
Lovely croissants, home made jams, their own pressed apple juice - all set up at a pretty table in the salon. We ate at the auberge de 3J in Noce in the evening - lovely meal but a witch of a Madame - made us feel it was a complete imposition for us to be eating at her restaurant! Food excellent but she could do with some PR lessons (too late I fear).
The weather was arctic so we couldn't spend any time in the lovely garden at the Suhard, but hope to return in the summer.
All in all, a memorable stay. One of the best in France!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sev8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews