We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little gem of a place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cider Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Graignes B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Have stayed here three times now, once with Brother-in-Law for his 40th and did the WW2 stuff, once on my own and this time with my partner. Stayed in the gite.Warm welcome everytime. Great little bedroom.Thought the bed really comfy. Lovely cottage feel to it. Nice view from the bathroom window (note the original French shutters). Excellent base for visiting Normandy. Beaches only about 30 mins away by car. Head for Coleville sur Mer (the Big Red One monument) and the German defence point WN62 where there is a lovely beach patrolled by Lifeguards. You can walk out a fair way into the sea and still only be up to your waist. Also a few tidal pools form here and there which are well used by families for safe swimming. Utah Beach is good as well. Museum there and also a little Cafe/Restaurant opposite with internet access. If you're not in a rush to get anywhere try a trip over to Granville, workaday town and port, then make your way back via the coast to get a view of Îles Chausey and Jersey before taking the country roads back to Ciderfarm. With a bit of luck you'll come across some nice little villages/hamlets that are reminiscent of the Cotwolds. Nicky makes a nice sandwich as well.
Périers has a good Supermarket and is a pleasant little town with a nice feel to it. Although Carentan is actually closer Périers felt a bit more 'homely' to me.
Ciderfarm, of an evening it's nice to sit out and have a drink or watch the sunset from the bathroom window (you can draw up a chair there and relax). It's also nice to walk along the adjacent country lanes.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Cider Farm Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 25 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2010

This is our 5th trip to stay at Cider Farm and it gets better each year.The farm is in a rural setting and very peaceful and quiet. It isn't far from the tourist locations for the WW2 Normandy landings. Should you not want to visit the Normandy landing coast there are some beautiful villages and beaches on the opposite coast. Mont St Michel is beautiful and well worth a visit as is St Lo, Bayeaux and Caen. We have been made very welcome by Nicky and John and they both have a lot of knowledge about the local area and places to visit. Also if you have a problem (unfortunately we had a puncture on the way to the ferry on the M1) Nicky went the extra mile to help us get a replacement tyre. Thanks Nicky. We will be visiting Cider Farm next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flooze60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Ann & Keith stayed at Cider Farm 2 years on the run 2008/2009. On both occassions we had a very pleasant stay. With the added advantage, of Nicky cooking the evening meals which were excellent, home cooking with generous glasses of french wine. This was a tremendous advantage after a long day of sightseeing

Being 4 of us we stayed in the Gite and found it very relaxing. The family and the animals made you very welcome. Cider Farm is an excellent location for visiting the various 'D' Day landing points not to mention easy reach to all the other places of interest. Highly recommend Cider Farm for its location and local history. We will definitley be visiting again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louisnormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

The Cider Farm is a real treasure. Though it's close enough to the ferry ports to be a convenient stop-over, it is also ideally placed to explore the local area (D-Day beaches & landings, Bayeux, Mont Sainte Michel, etc). Owners, Nicky, John and family went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay (glass of cider/cup of tea on arrive, plus bottle of cider/tea making facilities in room). We also enjoyed a huge home-cooked (and largely home-grown) evening meal. Room was very comfortable - ensuite, fluffy towels, comfy bed. Nicky and John have made this area their home and are both very knowledgeable and passionate about the history of the local area and are happy to share this with you as well as their home.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenfSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Myself, my husband and 2 friends stayed at the Cider Farm on our way back to Cherbourg to catch our ferry home after an amazing 2 weeks touring France on our motorbikes.
From the start Nicky and John could not have been more welcoming.
We were all feeling a little subdued that our holiday was coming to an end, but that was short lived when we saw our beautiful rooms - we stayed B&B in the main house. We were also welcomed with a glass of the local cider which went down a treat.
Nicky cooked us a superb evening meal and we could have had as much wine and cider as we wanted.
The next morning after a lovely nights sleep we found out our ferry home had been cancelled and Nicky could not have been more helpful, finding phone numbers for us and allowing us to use her phone to sort the problem out.
John then suggested that if we now had time on our hands that we go and visit the village and the memorial that was on top of the hill. He then offered to drive us all up there and give us some background to the history of the memorial.
Although we did not get chance to spend time in the region I imagine that the Cider Farm would be a fantastic base with lots to do in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tig_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I have visited Cider Farm twice with my husband and friends. We stayed in the gite which is attached to the main house but completely separate. It was extremely comfortable and has loads of character with 2 separate ensuite bedrooms upstairs and an openplan kitchen/lounge downstairs. Although all the facilities are there for self catering, we elected to have breakfast in the main house. Breakfast was at a reasonable priced and substantial. Nicola also will supply dinner and after a long day exploring Normandy this was much appriciated. It was good to get back to an excellent meal washed down by as much french wine as we wanted. Nicola does everything she possibly can to ensure you enjoy your visit

Cider Farm is the place for visitors wanting to explore Normandy and it would be hard to find a better venue. It has character, is extremely comfortable and you are assured a warm welcome. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliza8075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

If you want to get away to the real rural france then this is a must for you. We found Cider Farm on the internet 6 years ago and thought we would give it a go. My wife and I are so glad we did as we have fallen in love with Cider Farm so much that we stay 3 times a year. The owners (who originate from near Blackpool!!) have turned the farmhouse into a Gite, or B&B you just choose. Spotlessly clean with all linen provided, and Nicky the owner is a brilliant chef...not good for the waisline...you will not go hungry. The farm house is very close to all the Normandy beaches with huge amounts to see and do in the area. Nicky has made a good study of the area so if you need to know anything of D-Day she is well clued up, Also there is a large library and many DVDs for you to use. Nicky has put a great deal of thought into the farmhouse and the guests get !st class treatment. I cant wait till we go back in October, what a welcome....what a place, just love it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UncleTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cider Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cider Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 24 rue du Port Saint Pierre, 50620 Graignes, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Graignes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Graignes
Price Range: $54 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cider Farm Bed And Breakfast France/Graignes, Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing