We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicky and John are excellent hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graignes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cider Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Graignes B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have stayed at Cider Farm twice over the past four years. A great visit to the Normandy area is not complete without staying with Nicky, John and the lovely children. Nicky is an excellent cook and we have enjoyed our visits there very much. The countryside is beautiful and an excellent location for exploring the beaches and all the D-Day locations. We plan to stay there on another visit next year. We know our way around there real good now and feel at home while staying there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the gite both stays....excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 25 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here with our two teenage children in June 2012. We were all very comfortable, and enjoyed the two bedrooms in the gite very much. Very quiet location, and certainly off the beaten path. A short drive drive of about 10-15 minutes into Carentan, which was no problem for us. We elft fairly early each morning and did not return until late each evening, so we had no interaction with Nicky and her family, although they were quite friendly on our arrival. They have a small dog, who was very friendly and our kids loved her. We were happy with our choice to stay here, and would certainly do so again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HammerheadMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

As usual my friend and I made our yearly trip to Cider Farm in June. The welcome from Nicky and the family was as normal warm,sincere and genuine,they realy make you feel special and part of the family! Unfortunately on our 2nd day there we experienced severe car trouble.The new parts had to be sent from Holland to the local garage in france,no problem you think,well guess what,they took a week to arrive!We were marooned at the farm with no transport!Nicky went out of her way to liase with the garage on our behalf [ as my friend and I have minimal French between us] she also went out of her way despite her busy schedule to drive us to the grocery store everyday and even drove us the 40km to collect the car when it was finally ready! Words cannot express just how wonderful this lady is,she saved our holliday. I would without any hesitation reckomend a visit to Cider Farm,many places in the world have the natural beauty of the place,but I doubt if anywhere else has such a brilliant person running it!We are already planning our next visit and cannot wait to see the guys again!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petekilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We have been there last week-end of May.
We spent a night in the gite, simple but lovely!!
Much much better than those cold hotel chains!
Nicky (the owner) has been a perfect guest: she provided us with all the information we needed.
Breakfast was rich and superb with fresh croissant and home made jam!!

Location is perfect if you are planning to visit D-day beaches starting from the west part.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SubNormale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We arrived earlier than we had anticipated and we were welcomed very warmly by Nicky and her beautiful daughters. This is our 6th trip and again we have been made to feel very welcome and part of the family We even had tasty, if a bit smokey, BBQ's. Cider Farm is the ideal place to recharge your batteries and a wonderful place to see all the local wildlife. Nicky made our stay extremely comfortable and we look forward to visiting again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flooze60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Before we arrived, we were exhausted from busy weeks at work, and were ready for rest and relaxation. We rented ' the gite"..or cottage at the farm. When we walked up the stairs to our bed and bath, all the stress evaporated. Nicky had the back windows with billowy white curtains opened to the green farm fields dotted with cows, and the sun was low in the sky, and it was so quiet and peaceful and gorgeous. That night, Nicky served us dinner on a table outside our front door in the courtyard. It was the perfect place for what we needed at the time. Beautiful old buildings, fresh country air, farm animals, good food, and such a welcoming friendly host... and quiet...did I mention quiet?? Slept like logs! Went to a lovely Monday market in Carentan, got some groceries, and were alble to use the perfect little kitchen and BBQ at the gite for some meals. We took walks on the country roads, did some day trips. Perfect location for visiting the D-day beaches, it is only 1 and 1/2 hours to Mont St. Michel, and close to the Cider Route. Lovely chateaus are a short drive away. Driving is great. Roads are wonderfully signed, which makes driving a treat. Nicky loaned us a map, and gave us advice related to our plans. Nicky and the girls, and her mum were very friendly and welcoming, and even before our arrival, she was a big help on e-mail; with all kinds of advice and answers. If you ever find yourself coming this way, take the opportunity to stay at Cider Farm. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed at the Cider farm for 2 nights at the start of our 2 week holiday in France. Ideally located to visit the Normandy Beaches. when we arrived we were met by Nicky, who upgraded us to the gite instead of staying in the house. what a lovely little gite, perfect for 2 with stunning views from the bathroom window ! Nicky cooked for us on the first night, which i fully recommend, no washing up ! and you can relax over a bottle of wine and not worry about someone having to drive.
Nicky was very friendly and knowledgeable about the Normandy landings and the local village involvement, we had a fascinating conversation.
If we travel in that area again we wouldn't waste time looking for anywhere else

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylviaYorkshireDales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cider Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cider Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 24 rue du Port Saint Pierre, 50620 Graignes, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Graignes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Graignes
Price Range: $55 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cider Farm Bed And Breakfast France/Graignes, Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing