We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in November”
Review of Chateau de Canisy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau de Canisy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Two nights in November”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This was an enjoyable experience staying at a very old chateau that has beautiful bedrooms. Finding it is a problem as it sits well off the road with no signage and we arrived in the dark. There is a small nameplate on the stone column by the drive and that is it! The staff was wonderful and the food very good. We opted for dinner one night which is served in a few courses with a wine paired for each. Enjoyable experience! We visited the Normandy coast while staying here as it is very close.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JJKID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Chateau for two nights during our honeymoon in France. It was a wedding present from two of our close family friends. What a gift it was! The Chateau was amazing. Jennifer and Sandrine were wonderful to work with. They worked with us and helped us coordinate our trip. Jennifer was there to welcome us when we arrived and was so helpful. We drove from Paris to the Normandy d day beaches and then from the beaches to the castle. We then did a half day trip to Mont St Michelle. The food was amazing and the castle grounds are almost unreal. The rooms were very comfortable and the bathrooms are all updated. Overall we would highly recommend this trip either with a big group or just for a romantic gettaway for two .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eegutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I highly recommend the Chateau Canisy to you! The Chateau itself is a gorgeous 1000 year old French chateau with exquisitely decorated rooms. The food is amazing! The chef is really extraordinary! And the location is perfect...close to the Normandy battlefields and an hour from amazing Mont St Michelle. Most of all, the hospitality offered by the Canisy team has the feel of family. You will love this experience! Book it!
Linda and Jim S
McLean VA

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I just returned from my second stay at Chateau de Canisy, and am already starting to plan next year's trip. Last year I took my mother and oldest daughter; this year my wife and two youngest children, ages 8 & 10. everyone has loved the experience of staying at the chateau. There is nothing else like it. It gives one the feeling of stepping back in time and living like royalty for a few days. Everything from the chateau itself, much of it built in the 17th century, to the grounds ( I believe there are around 80 acres) which have been in the same family for nearly 1000 years...Yes. I said 1000 years. For me, its been a perfect base to show my family the Normandy beaches and cover some of the ground that became so famous with the D Day invasion of 1944. Its also situated about an hour's drive from Mont Saint Michele, as well as all of the other amazing sites in the region. The staff is fabulous and will take care of everything you might need, from transfers to and from the chateau, rental car reservations and delivery, menu planning for dinner in the dining room, which all I can say is, you have to experience it. The food is great...breakfast, lunch and dinner. I travel a lot, both throughout Europe and the States, and this place is definitely one of kind. Each room is decorated differently with period furniture and trappings, combined with the comfort one looks for when on vacation. Do yourself a favor and try something a little different. I guarantee you that not only will you not be disappointed, but that you will come away with memories that will last a lifetime.

Room Tip: They all have great views. I would talk to either Jennifer or Sandrine and explain your needs. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rbteton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed and made to feel at home, sandrei and the staff were superb with their service and friendliness. Highly recommend this stay to any traveller for an experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Some rooms had views of the lake and others had garden views, ground floor room request if person ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just a wonderful place to stay. I stayed here for 3 nights in May 2013 with my wife and another couple.

Each room in the castle is unique. Wonderfully decorated with period pieces, you could spend hours just going through and looking at the art. The outside grounds are just as beautiful. Well maintained with walking trails and wildlife. I recommend enjoying a few meals there as well. The food is outstanding.

Canisy is a small town but you have quick access all around Normandy. We were able to get to Bayeux, the D-Day beaches, and Mont St. Michel without any trouble by car. Also, if you're coming from Paris, Giverny and Monet's Garden is on the way.

The staff was wonderful. There to greet you when you arrive and leave, attentive during the meals, and available for any help or suggestions around the area.

Overall, you couldn't ask for a better place to stay. When you are there, you really feel like you are living a different life. Something unique and relaxing. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lev31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed for three nights, but I would love to go back and stay for a week. We met the Comte de Kergorlay, as he was present for a 50th wedding celebration of members of the local community. HIs cousin, and her son, were in residence the following day, so we had the opportunity to meet family members, which puts a "face" to the stone and mortar Chateau. Everyone was very welcoming, and the staff were not only helpful, and it quickly seemed as if you'd known them a long while. I concur with the many wonderful things recently written about the Chateau on the Traveladvisor site, but my interest is linked to history and this plave is full of stories going back over 900 years. The story of how the family retained the ownership, during the French Revolution and the family relationship with William the Conqueror, were fascinating. The last evening we shared our dinner table with the Comte's cousin, and her 10 year old son, and a family from Germany, with their two children. It made the dinner conversation so interesting that we continued our conversations long after dinner was finished. There is a reference in a article I read about this being the world's largest B&B, and that accurately describes the atmosphere. The Comte mentioned how happy he was that we were staying on the grounds and enjoying the Chateau, and the gardens - so many people arrange to stay there as a "hopping off" point to other Normandy activities, and they miss the serenity and the whole experience of the Chateau. We walked through the botanical gardens to the small town of Canisy, where we purchased bread from the bakery, and meats and cheeses from the market, with bottle of wine, and then had a picnic back in the gardens. Halcyon days to be sure...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank afser66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canisy
3.9 mi away
Chateau de la Roque
Chateau de la Roque
#1 of 1 in Hebecrevon
158 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Saint Lo Centre Hotel
4.6 mi away
Ibis Saint Lo La Chevalerie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Lo
Ibis Budget Saint Lo
#1 of 8 in Saint-Lo
190 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Lunotel
Hotel-Restaurant Lunotel
#4 of 8 in Saint-Lo
61 reviews
4.3 mi away
Inter Hotel Saint-Lo
Inter Hotel Saint-Lo
#3 of 8 in Saint-Lo
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Canisy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Canisy

Property: Chateau de Canisy
Address: 6 rue de Kergorlay, 50750 Canisy, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Canisy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Canisy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chateau de Canisy 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine sharing a bed with kings, queens, lords, ladies and revolutionaries. At Chateau de Canisy, step into a fairytale world where vivid history meets gracious chateau living in the stunning countryside of Normandy. This is an extraordinary experience; staying in an ancestral home that has belonged to the same noble family for over 1,000 years, and is still the weekend retreat of a Count and Countess who are prominent members of French high society.Visit Normandy's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chateau de Canisy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing