We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aubry-du-Hainaut
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Chateau d'Aubry
Kent, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

My expectations were low given the 85 euro price for a large double bedroom. However, the reviews were good and the photos enticing, so we took a punt on a overnight stay in France from the UK. What a find. Beautiful chateau and beautiful grounds. 5 out of 5

The room was pretty dated, but functional and clean. The shower - not particularly powerful, but the huge windows and view of the gardens made up for this. 3 out of 5

Dinner was OK. Bit pricey, but filling. The quality of the food would be 3 out of 5.

Service was perfect. Attentive and charming. English was willingly spoken by a number of th estaff. 5 out of 5.

But at that price, this was an fantastic treat for both of us. 5 out of 5

Room Tip: ask for one facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirth-Gersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    37
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
40
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I was there in May 2014. I found it by chance because I was in the area for business and wanted to get away from the soul less hotel chains. I am so glad I did. The castle is beautiful and the amenities well above average both for the rooms, grounds and the food.
We had dinner in the restaurant- great food at very reasonable prices.
The staff make you feel welcome and really take pride in working in such a extraordinary setting.
Book with your eyes closed!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ohcanadainfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I took my wife to France to take her out for a fancy birthday dinner. By chance we found the Chateau d'Aubry. This was in winter, in early February. The welcome was very friendly, quite a charming young lady. The grounds were lovely, the building is grand, and, of course, older. The room was very spacious. The dinner was gastronomic, as advertised, but the service was disappointing. Perhaps it was a language problem. Being so off season there were not many people in the hotel overnight, and dinner was quiet and peaceful.
Valenciennes, the nearby main town, is very nice and well worth a visit. Good shopping.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We drove into the car park after passing through a grey and uninteresting residential suburb. What a surprise to be met by a lovely old chateau. It looks great, surrounded by a moat, bit smelly, with a small park on one side to walk through. The donkeys were pleased to see us. We were there on a Sunday so dinner was not available but lunch convinced us that dinner would be well worth having. The room was better than most in France, comfortable, clean with a great shower and plumbing that works. This is not far from Calais and would make a great two day blob out, not Sunday night though. We will certainly use it again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the park side will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airbus0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
312 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

In a charmeless neighborhood like that you would never expect a place like that, and once you pass the gate it looks like in a fairytale...
The chateau is surrounded by water, you enter via a bridge through a huge and heavy wooden portal. But even more romantic is the garden where you can enjoy drinks or dinner and you really can feel the lifestyle of former chateau times.
The rooms are basic and not perfect, but all ok for a 3 star. The ambience adds a star on top.
I had a nice dinner menu, very french and tasty, perfect decent service, nothing to complain about.
Overall a good recommendation to spend a romantic weekend, very special and at a reasonable price. I was there for business reason for one night and really, I forgot all the business during my stay...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boom, Belgium
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We choose this castle-restaurant out of a 'bongo'-booklet (castle-weekend). The room was clean but not tastefully dressed. The tv was put directly on the fridge. A very small bathtub, not suitable for two (even for a adult quite small). Two mattresses within a queen sized bed. An okay view, and quiet during the night (birds and a clock tower in the morning, but that is romantic, right?) No elevator (that I know of), and we had to carry our suitcase ourselves to the first floor.

We paid around 325 (two people) for one night and the 'gastronomical dinner': terribly dressed first entree (good taste though), nice main course, four great local cheeses (but one of my pieces was really, really small), delicious desert (if you like chocolate). And a pricy digestif. The wine list was very impressive, but there was no sommelier and the waiter didn't know anything of wines (we asked for information on the grapes).

Not worth its money.

They welcome children. That's ok, but then you mention this clearly on the website. For a romantic dinner with other people's children jumping around, don't go to this hotel! The management didn't do anything about it.

The garden is ok, but not maintained. Bring outdoor shoes with you. The map they give you with the trees and some important places in the garden is hilarious (and outdated).

Breakfast was below average. No eggs, two sorts of cheese, one sort of ham. I think the famous French croissants we're actually warmed up (bought frozen in a local store). You got one cup of coffee - I had a hot chocolate: I had to fetch powder and pour hot milk on it.

Plenty to get bothered with, but not really a problem for us, since really focused on each other. But for that kind of money, they shouldn't give any reason to complain, right? We don't expect luxury, but a peaceful atmosphere, genuine food and correct information. That's not what we got.

Room Tip: We had a superior room - I guess you ask for a suite to get 'normal' comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustaaf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

A night at Hotel Chateau d'Aubry will leave you with the feeling of having spent a night like in a chateau, with the good... and the bad. The setting is very nice and tranquil, with a small bridge to cross, and no standard reception greeting you, but always a good smile from the staff.
Rooms are not so fussy and the main con is room temperature, which is always too cold, whichever the season is. Beware there are bathtubs but no curtains so most of the water will end on the floor. Breakfast is okay without being wow. All in all, it is a bit old and the LCD screen is the only touch of modernity. Wifi didn't work well in some of the rooms. I gave it 4 stars because its price is still reasonable and the dinner was above average, serving typical French food

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegastar330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aubry-du-Hainaut
2.2 mi away
Le Grand Duc
Le Grand Duc
#2 of 14 in Valenciennes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Petite Foret
Ibis Budget Petite Foret
#1 of 3 in Petite-Foret
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.7 mi away
Auberge du Bon Fermier
Auberge du Bon Fermier
#3 of 14 in Valenciennes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Le Grand Hotel de Valenciennes
Le Grand Hotel de Valenciennes
#7 of 14 in Valenciennes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Valenciennes Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel Notre Dame
Hotel Notre Dame
#6 of 14 in Valenciennes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau d'Aubry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau d'Aubry

Property: Hotel Chateau d'Aubry
Address: 65 rue Henri Maurice, 59494 Aubry-du-Hainaut, Valenciennes, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Valenciennes > Aubry-du-Hainaut
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aubry-du-Hainaut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau d'Aubry 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, near Valenciennes and Saint Amand, 17 rooms of great calm and comfort from 65. An exceptional stopover in a 16th century moated castle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing