We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maniti Expeditions Eco-Lodge & Tours Iquitos
Nearby Hotels
Amazonas Sinchicuy Lodge(Santa Maria de Ojeal)
$510
$386
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
$65
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal El Colibri(Iquitos)(Great Value!)
$27
Booking.com
View Deal
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
La Casa Morey(Iquitos)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Emperador Terraza(Iquitos)(Great Value!)
$24
$23
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveler rating
165
95
30
23
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
95
30
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiranha fishingmosquito netpink dolphinsthe riveramazon experienceayahuasca ceremonygreat experiencenight hikericefood was greatamazon junglemalaria pillsfloating markethammock roomrunning watergreat tourcatfish
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 326 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked a 5 night custom tour (3 night Amazon tour based at a lodge and a 2 night camping/fishing expedition.
We arrived at the lodge dissapointed, the pictures online of the lodge were very different to the lodge we arrived at. Secondly we are later to find out that the fishing equipment we were told would be supplied was not available at that particular lodge. Due to our dissapointment the guide moved us up river to another lodge - the lodge we were expecting! (Apparently you could choose which lodge when booking - this was news to us) We then completed a days fishing in total. The peacock bass fishing was another dissapointment due to the fishing equipment they supplied as peacock bass cannot be caught in piranha infested waters with the bait/lines we were given.On a positive note when we complained they were quick to rectify and the tours in the jungle were brilliant, our guide "Acoocha" was very good.Anyone looking to book with Maniti make very clear your expectations at time of booking and again at the Iquitos office.If fishing then take your own fishing equipment should you want to fish for anything other than piranha!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManitiExpedition, Owner at Maniti Expeditions Eco-Lodge & Tours Iquitos, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Dear "Belz_12",

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Maniti Camp Expeditions and for sharing it here on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to inform you that we have updated all of our pictures on Tripadvisor so that they clearly and accurately reflect our lodge and the accommodations offered here. We have purchased 16 new "light tackle" fishing rods and reels and 4 new "heavy tackle" fishing rods and reels for the peacock bass, paiche and other large fish.

Just to clarify, we have re-designed our website and are offering "budget tours" to the more basic lodge and our regular tours are ran out of our main lodge. This way users who wish to pay a discounted price for more simple accommodations may do so if they wish. All tours ran out of the main lodge includes private accommodations with private bathrooms.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and Ashuko as your guide! Thank you for your feedback about our staff, it means a lot to us.

Kind Regards,
Karina Veramendi Reyes
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This company has 2 lodges; 1 "rustic" lodge in a village on the Rio Ucayali in the Pacaya Samiria National Park upstream from Iquitos, the other is the company's main lodge downstream from Iquitos. The lodge in Pacaya Samiria has a beautiful, wild setting with Amazon River Dolphins hunting in the shallows, large varieties of birds and fish, and a few primates.. The place is quite idyllic in fact, with miles and miles of gorgeous primary rainforest! However, the Pacaya Samira lodge had been badly damaged by the recent floods in the Iquitos area and had not been adequately repaired when we were there in June.. We arrived to torn netting, broken toilets, damaged walkways, and the villagers washing spread essentially everywhere.. We refused to stay in the facilities and what a mission it was to get a refund!! I had to show the company manager pictures of his own lodge, and had to essentially blackmail him with them, in order to get some of my money back! He had not been back to the facilities after the flooding and claimed he didn't know anything about the damage, even though tripadvisor had at least 2 reports similar to ours. He was insulting and worse. The publicity manager in the United States was confrontational with us as well, taking the side of the local manager before he knew all the facts.. I would advise other tourists to avoid traveling with this company until they repair their facilities and improve their public relations.

The downstream lodge is really beautiful and clean, however it is in an area which does not have much in the line of wild animals, and only the forest immediately surrounding the lodge is untouched primary forest. I saw local people hunting cayman along the river on the night walk, and virtually the only primates we saw were habituated semi captive ones on an island slightly upstream from the lodge. I didn't realize it at the time, but after being in other parts of the Amazon I can only conclude that most of the area near the river had seen extensive hunting.. I suppose you can't expect much when you have a city of half a million people not that far upstream from where you stay. The guides were very helpful and knowledgable. I am vegetarian and as other reviews have stated, the food was not really what you'd expect considering how much I had paid for the trip.

I was disappointed with the condition of the broken "rustic" lodge in what I thought were ideal surroundings, and I was disappointed in the surroundings of the beautiful lodge downstream.. Not an ideal situation if you're after a wild "safari" type Amazon experience!! Rustic means rustic NOT broken!! I'm from Africa and yes I know exactly what basic facilities or rustic facilities are, and for a genuine, wild experience I'd actually prefer rustic..

If you decide to go with ManitiExpeditions, make sure you know what you're paying for before hand and which lodge you're going to.. Seriously, read my review on the Bolivian Amazon before you even decide to go to Iquitos!! Now for Richard Pezzino:

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FredW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManitiExpedition, Owner at Maniti Expeditions Eco-Lodge & Tours Iquitos, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Hola from the Amazon and thank you for choosing to stay with Maniti Camp Expeditions. We are in receipt of your trip advisor review and thank you for taking the time to do this. It's always great to hear from our guests on their stay and what we can do to improve your experience with us.

As you are aware, you had traveled in May and this was right after this region of the amazon had received significant flooding, which did not affect the large lodge but it did have some affects on the smaller lodge near the Pacaya Samiria Reserve. Since that time the smaller lodge has been repaired but is still small with basic accommodations, it is mainly used as a place where we stay for 1 evening upon our return from a camping trip into the Pacaya Samiria Reserve so that passangers can shower, clean their clothes, and relax a little after having spent days camping and hiking in the jungle.

We would like to make it very clear that we have two lodges and the main large nice lodge that you mention is the Maniti Lodge where all passengers stay that are not going to be camping in the Pacaya Samiria Reserve. The Maniti lodge is located 70KM away from Iquitos city and has a lot of wildlife to see as you mentioned.

You were refunded your money after, the completion of your tour, because of the unsatisfactory conditions that the small lodge was in where you had stayed for 1 night before you went camping into the Pacaya Samiria Reserve.

The only concern that we had with refunding your money is that it does not seem right to refund money for a tour after the fact that the client had enjoyed the tour enough to spend 7 days with us in the jungle and then upon return to Iquitos complain. In the end your money was refunded because it is important to us to have all clients leave Iquitos with a positive impression of our company and the amazon.

We are very sorry for the mix-up with the food request. This is a request that we take very seriously as we have many travelers who are vegetarians or that do not eat red meat.

We do pride ourselves in offering the best of what we have and do apologize for the lodge conditions during your stay at the small lodge, this is not how we operate under normal circumstances. I will look into the mentioned issues and be sure that it does not happen to others traveling with us in the future.

Kind Regards from the Amazon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My son and I spent 6D/5N camping and searching for the grand fishing prize...Peacock Bass! We spent 2 nights at the base camp lodge which was rustic and could probably use a little update but nevertheless, served it's purpose and was good. The beginning of the trip was a little confusing because things were not outlined with much clarity but it all fell into place eventually.
Our guide Enrique was phenomenal, he took care of every detail while we were camping, full of knowledge and information about our surrounding but more importantly...put us on some big fish! we pulled out many species of fish from the river and lagoons and on the last day several 8 to 9 pound peacocks.
The experience was wonderful and the surroundings made you forget about the daily stress of life. Iquitos is an awesome city to stay in to enjoy the culture and the incredible food.
Would recommend this trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I believe the first thing worth mentioning is that Maniti Camp Expeditions has two very different lodges and which one you get put in makes a significant difference to the quality of your stay.

The smaller of the two lodges is much worse than "rustic". There's one tiny bathroom for the entire place, essentially just a mini outhouse in desperate need of cleaning. There are no showers and no running water. You get a few hours of electricity in the evenings but only in the tiny dining room and common room. And despite our mosquito nets around the beds in our room we had several unwanted guests, not just in our room but in our beds. The door to our three bed dorm didn't close properly and there were several spots along where the wall and floor met that they didn't properly meet, which explains the presence of bugs. We visited shortly after the flooding at the beginning of June and the area around the lodge was entirely mud. After a short hike you were covered in the mud and due to the lack of running water you pretty much stay that way for the remainder of your time at this lodge. We were moved to the larger lodge on our second day and met some other guests who referred to the small lodge as "Hell".

The pictures you see here are of the larger lodge. It's still fairly rustic but there's lots of space and the rooms have there own bathrooms with running water and showers. You get electricity through the entire lodge for several hours every evening and the dining area is spacious. The lodge has an entire room filled with hammocks that's really lovely to spend time in. The rooms are nice and virtually bug free. You don't need mosquito nets around the beds here.

I have no idea what determines which lodge you get stuck with. We had booked the Amazon Experience (3day/2night) package through their website and saw no mention of different lodges. We arrived in Iquitos late due to the airline and once in the city we decided to extend our stay to 4 days/3 nights because we had essentially missed the first day already. We were told on several occasions that this was why we got stuck spending our first night in "Hell" but even now when I look at the itinerary for the 4 day package on their website I see no mention of this much more rustic little lodge. According to the website if you do the 4 day package you would be spending your last night at the Palo Alto Miradoor, which is the lookout tower with a "birds eye view" of the forest. We were never taken to this tower or heard any mention of it during our stay.

Once at the larger lodge our experience improved greatly. Our guide Omero (who also goes by Homer) was really helpful and a lot fun. We got to do our trips with some other guests and made friends which greatly improved the experience. We didn't see much in the way of wild animals, honestly we really didn't even see many birds and none of the colorful variety you would expect, but we LOVED our trip to Monkey Island. All the animals may be tame but that really only adds to the fun. The highlight of the trip was being able to view the pink river dolphins, which for me personally made up for not seeing much else as far as wildlife goes. We were also taken to the Maniti Rescue Center once we arrived back in Iquitos before we had to catch our plane.

Unfortunately we still had complaints after getting into the nice lodge. The biggest was a lack of being prepared for the vegetarian in our group. We had been told through emails before arrival that the lodge was able to accommodate her diet but once we arrived nobody seemed to know anything about needing to feed a vegetarian. For more than one meal she was given a pile of rice with some vinegar soaked tomatoes on top. Honestly inedible. Though to be fair, when we made a complaint at the office in Iquitos about this situation we were given a bit of a discount for our troubles. Another disappointment was the alcohol situation. Though they sold beers we had been told that they had a bar and we had expected a variety of drink options. Our first night we were told they were just out of liquor but they would get more before the next night, however the next night they still didn't have any. We would have been willing to pay quite a bit to sit up having a drink with new friends and I believe it would benefit the company quite a bit. A small complaint but worth noting. And the last thing worth mentioning is about the online itinerarys. Most of the activities listed we weren't able to do. On our trip out to fish for piranhas we were told that its actually the wrong season for piranhas and we only wound up seeing bass. We were also told that there weren't actually any caiman in the area. These two things were a particularly big disappointment but it's also worth noting that our guide didn't seem to have any idea what our itinerary was supposed to entail. I got the distinct impression that the itineraries mentioned on the site are just to draw you in.

In the end, I wouldn't stay here again nor would I recommend it. However if its the only place within your budget and you go in knowing what to expect you should still have a decent trip. Just don't choose them if your a vegetarian, you'll be disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure your staying in the larger lodge!
Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank Stardust86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I spent 5D/4N in Camp Maniti recently, and had a wonderful stay. My guide - Edison was very helpful and knowledgeable. He was able to show me the diversity of plants and animals near the camp. We made several 1-4 hour walking and boat excursions into the amazon forest to watch giant trees, spiders, birds, monkeys, dolphins, caimans, butterflies and went fishing and swimming in the waters of amazon.
The lodge was basic, but comfortable. The food was excellent - fresh chicken, fish, fruits, eggs, salads, rice. There were no bugs in the rooms, and It was great sleeping listening to the crickets, frogs and rain falling around the camp. The bathrooms and shower facilities were basic - but what do you expect in a jungle. I would advise anyone going there to carry extra batteries for their cameras. Although the camp has a solar charger, it is slow and some days might be cloudy.
The highlight of the trip was spending the night in a treehouse overlooking the canopy of the forest. Dont miss it!

Room Tip: Take the room with the mosquito nets around them (I think all rooms have them, except one)
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navarun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews