We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisitely Decorated - Beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riversdale Estate Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riversdale Estate Cottages
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exquisitely Decorated - Beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

We stayed here as our base for Hobart. We were almost in the vineyards overlooking the water & mountains & yet a 10 minute drive to Hobart. The cottages are beautifully decorated with a French theme. Just up my alley! We all squealed with delight when we entered the cottage - even my husband, and that is saying something! Very clean & beds comfortable. My mother joined us on our holiday to Tasmania & she was very well accommodated with an extra bed made up for her in the second bedroom with our two girls. Riversdale Estate is located on the road to Richmond only a 5 minute drive away & Richmond a definite visit. We also spent a day in Port Arthur from there. A definite must! Dont go too early to Richmond or any village in Tasmania as most of the shops arent open & thats even at 10am! Most of them dont have definite opening times & I found that very annoying. As we had long days of trying to see as much as we could & the antique shopping I was hoping to do didn't happen as much as I would have liked.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broadway80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    32
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
32
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,014 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

These attractive cottages are 10 minutes from Hobart airport and so close to a quiet flight path,and 10 minutes from cute Richmond.Unfortunately you can not park at the door of all of them,no one ever contacts you (its key in the door and lock up when you go !) There is no close shop or restaurant attached,and no phone.Large satellite dish next door.
Few hangers and poor cloths storage.Partly faulty air con and blinds that do not block the morning light.Could have been a lot cleaner and tidy.The staff had left money from previous occupier purchase of wine or trinkets un collected.
However it looks OK see photos and is two bedroom and fairly priced.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

I stayed here with my two daughters- 11 and 13 - for a week in January, and we all found the cottages charming. They were beautifully furnished in French provincial style and I can honestly say I have never ever slept in such a comfortable bed. The kids thought their beds were equally as good as mine. The kitchen is lovely too if you want to cook, although there's lots of lovely eating places in Richmond if you want to spoil yourself. The pub in Richmond has really nice food especially for kids. The cottages were also a very good base for exploring the wonderful nearby historical town of Richmond (10 mins by car) and Hobart (15-20 mins). Port Arthur is about 1 1/2 hours away. The Cadbury chocolate factory is a must if you have kids (big or small!) and that's about 30 mins away. You do definitely need a car if staying here though as it's a little off the beaten track, being on a vineyard, but that really adds to the experience. We often walked through the vineyards in the evenings before dark, and this was very relaxing and enjoyable.
the few negatives I can think of, if I must be picky, were :
1. you had to pay quite a lot for washing your clothes in the laundry near the cottages ($6 per wash - considering the expensive price of the cottages per night I think the price of laundry was too high) and there was no tumble dryer. I had to ask for a drying rack. to be put in the laundry and there was nowhere in the cottage to dry clothes.
2. If you wanted to rent a DVD you had to do this from reception, which was quite a fair drive away and they cost $5 each. Again, rather high price I thought.
3. I never once had an opportunity to meet the lady I rented the cottage from (Wendy) who seemed lovely on the phone, but was not at reception the one day we went there (it's quite a drive to get there). I found it a little disappointing that there seemed to be no effort made on her part to make contact visually with her guests particularly as we were there for a week.
4. Maintenance in the cottages before each guests' stay could be a better - fixtures in the bathroom particularly in our cottage were almost coming off the walls, eg soap holder, toilet roll holder, and 2 lights in the bathroom did not work.
5. The mirror in the bathroom was at a silly height where anyone under 5ft 2 inches (all but one of us including me) had trouble seeing themselves in it as it was placed too high, and there was no other mirror in the cottage.

I suggest that the cottage is probably better for adults and smaller children rather than teenage children. Whilst there were games and books for young kids, there was little for teenagers other than TV. The TV did not get all channels.

But on balance, the negatives I mention are only relatively minor and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

We stayed at Riversdale Estate Cottages for 3 nights in early March. What a wonderful find!

Only about 15 minutes from Hobart and about 10 minutes from Richmond, this is the perfect place to stay.

Quiet, serene and lovely. You feel like you are a million miles from anywhere here. This is a getaway without really getting too far away. The setting is wonderul. Views over the vineyard to the water, the air is crisp and clean, it is quiet, just an amazing place.

Each little cottage is far enough away from the next, to make you feel like you are the only one here. Decorated tastefully, lovely Kitchen and Bathroom and comfy beds.

Added touches such as magazines, books, music and board games were really lovely.

Even my very fussy children who are used to 5 star luxury loved staying here. It was a bit of a suprise to see the main bed off the lounge without separate walls, but this didn't really matter at all. Our children went off to their bedroom at the end of the day, so it was quiet and peaceful at our end!

We did not know prior, which cottage we had, so it is best to check before hand. Otherwise you will find a little note on each door with your name.

We also ordered a hamper for 2 before arriving so our fridge and pantry was stacked full of delicious goodies, well worth the cost. You can also purchase olives and goodies in your cottage after you arrive.

We will certainly be back for another visit and can highly recommend these cottages to anyone visiting Hobart and surrounds.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welovequeenstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huonville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2008

One of Tasmanias delightful secrets that is a must stay on anyones Itinery as a single, couple or a family. This is a property that has it all; the views,wine, chocolate, comfy beds, clawfoot bath, quality fitout and heaps of helpful local advise. *****

  • Liked — Friendliness of the Owners and the thought that has gone into this Unique Accomodation.
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Apple1Huonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a short touring holiday along the west coast of Tasmania. The first two nights we stayed at Riversdale Cottages - a wonderful quite retreat at a vineyard, very central if hiring a car, as you are based between the airport and Hobart. Oh so quiet, no noisy neighbours or traffic, but only a 15 minute drive to the action of Hobart.
The cottages are kept so immaculately clean and the owners attention to detail is evident in the fully equipped kitchen and living areas. They offer the little touches, such as a range of books, CDs, magazines as well as a LCD TV, games for children (this is a 2 bedroom cottage).
These cottages are beautifully furnished in a French Provincial style which is so cosy, though only built last year, a welcome change from the run of the mill modern contemporary apartments seen in every city.
The large bathroom has a wonderful deep claw bath and a separate shower with the most amazing shower head.
Probably the only downside would be the European styled taps in the bathroom/shower that elderly visitors may have trouble with.
However this would rank as one of the best self-contained places we have ever stayed at.

  • Liked — Spotless presentation, quiet but central location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rover4lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nel, sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

What a find, the idea of being 10 minutes from town really appealed to me. Staying right in the heart of a working vineyard was just fantastic. The cabins are new and immaculate, tastefully decorated in French Provincial, just like the photos on the web site, no nasty surprises. The claw foot bath is deep and the shower rose as big a dinner plate. The cabins are set high on the property with great views of the river and vineyard, just lovely sitting on the verandah in the sun with a morning cuppa. On arrival there was a selection of yummy complementary treats to enjoy whilst watching one of the 200 DVD's you are able to hire from the office. If you descide to stay here you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — Location,location,location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nelliesydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Hobart Airport
4.8 mi away
Hatcher's Manor
Hatcher's Manor
#1 of 1 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 46 in Hobart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resort Seven Mile Beach
Wyndham Vacation Resort Seven Mi...
#1 of 1 in Seven Mile Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
8.5 mi away
Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riversdale Estate Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversdale Estate Cottages

Property: Riversdale Estate Cottages
Address: Denholms Road, Cambridge, Clarence, Tasmania, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Clarence > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riversdale Estate Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riversdale Estate Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riversdale Estate Cottages Cambridge, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing