We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect place for lunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meadowbank - CLOSED

Meadowbank
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
385 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“A perfect place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We’ve been meaning to have a meal at Meadowbank for some time and last month we finally made it. It was a gorgeous sunny day but not very warm, and they had a cosy fire burning inside. Our waiter said it might be a bit cool to sit outside and he recommended we sit inside in the warm and look out at the sunshine and the lovely view over the vineyard. Someone arrived by helicopter while we were there – that is doing it in style!

We had a superb meal. I had game terrine for starters and my wife had scallops, then I had venison for main and my wife had lamb. Their Frogmore Creek 2008 pinot noir is just gorgeous and complemented the meal perfectly. We shared a mixed dessert platter, which gives you a taste of most of their desserts.

It was a beautiful experience being there, the food and wines were wonderful and the staff gave great service. The view outside was lovely – what more could anyone possibly want?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Highlight of a weekend trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Highly professional, informed friendly and discrete service. A real pro.

Food matched the service. We both had the game terrine which was excellent and most attentively presented.

The assiette of pork, leg, cutlet, loin, baby vegetables and honey mustard jus was succulent and tasty. Served with roasted kipfler potatoes and buttered Brussels sprouts we had no room for dessert.

The food was perfectly complimented by the Meadowbank 2007 Grace Elizabeth Chardonnay which is being run out as the name has changed to Frogmore Creek

One grizzle! Not with the establishment, which is attractive and has very pleasant views, but with some fellow diners, who allowed their children to keep opening the outside doors to allow the chilly wind in and were allowed to run around and approach other diners. Sorry, I don't appreciate it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CondorSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stopped in at Meadowbank at Frogmore Creek Winery because of the reviews we read here. We were on a daybtrip to Richmond and it's right on the road. We enjoyed our Sunday brunch and would reccommend it.

The staff were a little on the novice side for this to be a really top class restaurant, but they're good for a winery bistro.

I agree with other reviewers that the food seems to be all pre-prepared, but it's good Tasmanian fare and it's a great location overlooking the winery and bay. I'd class it as an above average place and it's certainly better than anything else we saw in Richmond.

The wines are all Frogmore Creek but that's really why a winery has a restaurant. Overall we thought itwas just a bit expensive for what you got. It charges in the mid $30s for a mains.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Had lunch here last week. The staff were so friendly. We received complimentary bread and starters from the Chef. Our meals were absolutely fantastic! We sat outside on a sunny day, views are fantastic!
After lunch we did some wine tastings, the wines were splendid, and again staff so friendly and welcoming.
I will definitely be recommending this place to all my friends, and I can't wait to return!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Birthday celebration ... wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked a first birthday lunch on Easter Tuesday for 7 adults and one toddler. We had previously communicated with the Functions Manager to organise a cake. This needed to be gluten free and the chocolate mousse cake provided was awesome.

The meals were fantastic. We ordered a range of meals and they all came out prepared wonderfully, we were all thrilled with our choices.

The gluten free range was wonderful, nearly every dish could be served gluten free without much modification at all.

We will certainly be back, perhaps next time just the two of us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Owenv81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meadowbank also viewed

 
Cambridge, Clarence
Cambridge, Clarence
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing