We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Playa Mujeres
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,588)
Filter reviews
5,590 results
Traveler rating
3,274
1,388
551
222
155
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,274
1,388
551
222
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seaside grill preferred club golf cart el patio market cafe piano bar oceana restaurant entertainment staff coco cafe room service french restaurant unlimited vacation club bike tour ocean view master suite main lobby pool concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 5,590 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My newlywed husband and I visited this resort and were very sastisfied by all it had to offer. We stayed 5 days in late September. Loved the intimacy and adult only vibe. The entertainment team kept us busy with fun and activities.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sierrak2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconciergeSECPM, Social Media Coordinator & eConcierge at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sierrak2442,

Thank you so much for sharing on TripAdvisor how much you and your husband enjoyed your romantic honeymoon at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort. We are very glad to see that you had a fantastic couples getaway at our all-inclusive and adults-only resort in the Mexican Caribbean, thanks to our romantic atmosphere and fun entertainment activities. Thank you so much for your kind words and hope we have the honor of receiving you again.

Warm regards,
Samuel Castellanos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't have enough nice things to say about Secrets. It was all amazing and the best holiday we probably had in a while.

Food - This was probably the best part about the holiday. When you book with Secrets Mujeres, you get access to their restaurants as well as the restaurants at Dreams resort which is right next door. We had endless options and didn't have enough time in the 11 nights to try all of them. We loved the Italian, Japanese and Mexican cuisine. Also the evening dining bbq parties were awesome!

**Men have to wear long trousers to the nice restaurants. A bit of a stupid rule I think as its a summer resort and most people don't know to pack it so please make sure you pack it so you can get in!**
**We wish there was also a gelateria at Secrets Mujeres. It's available at Dreams for the kids but thought it would be an excellent addition to the adults-only cafe as well**

Entertainment - Our other favourite part of the hotel and resort. The entertainment staff do not get enough credit. They literally work their bums off to make sure their guests are having the BEST time. I want to say thank you to Hector Diaz and Israel. They really went over and beyond with their Zumba classes, games, getting people involved in activities, their enthusiasm as well as their little classes. We really enjoyed the bartending class on making shots :)

Service - It was so good. Everyone was so lovely, the staff was so hands-on and the bartenders were working really hard. For Brits and Europeans, make sure to take lots of dollar bills with you. The smaller change will come in handy for tips, we didn't know there was such a big tipping culture there.

Tip: DO NOT DO THE "PRESENTATION" unless you're ready to splurge thousands on a holiday time share. I think if there was one thing we didn't like about the holiday, it was this aspect. They ask you in the beginning if you want to book their presentation, get a nice lovely lunch and as an incentive they give you a voucher for massage/stores as well as a free 3 days, 2 night stay at their other resorts. Really great deal but your holiday time is precious and it took about three hours for us. Even though they said it was only 1.5 hours maximum. This really put us in a horrid mood as the VIP sales guys who were trying to sell their time share contract to us were not very happy or as nice when we kindly declined no. They put us through 3 rounds of sales people even after we said no once. We really think they should present this more clearly before saying it's a presentation. It is not a presentation, it is a 1-on-1 meeting with their sales representative.

Rooms - The cleaners were so amazing, They came in twice each day. In the morning to clean and make the bed, and then again in the afternoon to remove all the pillows and to leave us chocolates on the bed. Literally the nicest touch and detail. They also restock the fridge with beer, water and fizzy drinks each day.

Excursion - So many amazing day excursions and you can book directly with the hotel. It was so easy, a little more expensive but if you book enough, they do discount packages. We had the best time. Cancun Adventures tours were amazing.

Tips: They give you mosquito and bug spray but make sure you take more repellent and stronger ones. THose mosquitoes are no joke. Men - make sure to pack long trousers for dinners.

Overall we just had the best time. We really loved our stay and felt at home. We didn't want to leave!!! We will be back! Thank you Secrets for an amazing two weeks. We really enjoyed ourselves. The food, the drinks, the entertainment, it was all just amazing. Such a romantic getaway for us after a hard year of working.

Room tip: Rooms with the ocean view, ask for an upgrade if you can. Otherwise, try & stay above the ground floor as there are more mosquitos.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hanadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconciergeSECPM, Social Media Coordinator & eConcierge at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hanadore,

Thank you so much for sharing on TripAdvisor the details of your fantastic holiday at our all-inclusive and adults-only resort in the Mexican Caribbean. We don't have enough words to thank you for such lovely words, it fields our heart with happiness to see that you liked the delicious food of our restaurants, as you mentioned all our guests have free flow access to all the services and facilities of our sister resort Dreams Playa Mujeres located just next to us.
We are more than glad to see that you liked the amazing service, fun entertainment activities and amazing suites at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort. Thank you for your review and hope we have the honor of receiving you again.

Warm regards,
Samuel Castellanos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to cancel our wedding in the states 2mo prior to the event and travel with our family to get married on Isla Mujeres (separate from the resort), while staying at Secrets. The resort was spectacular and far exceeded all of our expectations! We got a swim out room with a garden view. The room was beautiful. I will say the swim out is very cold and hard to relax comfortably in, which defeats the purpose. We also spent $500 extra for this feature, so that was disappointing, I wouldn't recommend it. We had a corner room on the bottom, which was nice and quiet. The A/C never got below 72 (which is not 72 in our US houses, it's a lot hotter) which made it difficult to sleep. Other than those two obstacles, this resort was superb. The staff was extremely friendly. We felt welcomed from the moment we came. I read reviews that said the food was bad, which is definitely not the case. The food was so so good!

Forewarning- there is a shopping trip that is through a third party that will pick you up at the resort and take you to a shopping area for free. While this trip is not associated with Secrets, Secrets does offer at their front desk as an "included perk." The catch is that you have to spend 30min in a jewelry store before you can go off on your own. The jewelry is junk, and the staff is very rude when you decide you want to leave. They even made me fill out a survey answering "why I want to leave." You can walk to the mall, but the stores are everything we have in the US. Don't waste your time. Nothing authentic. We were also told we could take the van back to the resort at anytime we want. Not the case. They schedule you what time they will take you back. DO NOT, I repeat, do not, do it. It was a total waste of a day and scam.

I highly recommend one day of your trip to take the ferry to Isla Mujeres and renting a golf cart. It is very safe and there are tourists everywhere. It is a small island, but it was so so fun to explore and the highlight of our trip! Very authentic and fun. Do not waste your money taking the "excursion" the resort offers to the island. You can take a taxi to the ferry and same coming back. It saves a bunch of money and you aren't so restricted with how much/how little time you want to spend. Golf carts are available for rental immediately when you get off the ferry.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank 22lindseyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconciergeSECPM, Social Media Coordinator & eConcierge at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lindsey V,

Thank you so much for write on TripAdvisor the details of your excellent vacations at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort. We are more than happy to know that our all-inclusive and adults-only resort in the Mexican Caribbean exceeded all of your expectations. We also appreciate your feedback, since it helps us to improve our service, your opinion is very important for us. Thank you so much for your lovely words and hope we have the honor of receiving you again.

Warm regards,
Samuel Castellanos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Restaurants were awesome as was the wait staff, the entertainment team did an excellent job keeping us entertained and busy. Silent dance party was one of our favorites, we went to all the shows and they were wonderful.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconciergeSECPM, Social Media Coordinator & eConcierge at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Michael B,

Thank you so much for sharing on TripAdvisor the details of your great time at our all-inclusive and adults-only resort in the Mexican Caribbean. We are more than glad to see that you liked very much the fantastic attention of our wait staff, the fin activities of our Entertainment team, especially the Silent Party. Thank you so much for your lovely words and hope we have the honor of receiving you again at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort.

Warm regards,
Samuel Castellanos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing! Best resort we have ever stayed at. Very clean. Food and drinks were excellent. Pool was amazing. Never felt crowded. Staff was awesome! Cant wait to go back! Beach was covered in sea weed which was not a problem for us. Drive from airport was a bit scary driving through Cancun.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank gotducks1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EconciergeSECPM, Social Media Coordinator & eConcierge at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear gotducks1973,

Thank you so much for sharing the review of your amazing vacations at Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort. We are very happy to see that you liked very much our clean facilities, excellent food, great swimming pool, and awesome staff. Thank you so much for your lovely words and hope we have the honor of receiving you again, this is your home in the Mexican Caribbean.

Warm regards,
Samuel Castellanos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews