We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Playa Mujeres
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18,290)
Filter reviews
18,291 results
Traveler rating
15,544
1,922
503
193
129
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
15,544
1,922
503
193
129
Show reviews that mention
All reviews martini bar chez isabelle flavor market lobster the grill sol bar carolina paz our honeymoon ec pool main pool rooftop terrace cafe kafe non ec room service building concierge las olas french restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 18,291 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a great vacation and time i had for my cousins wedding, so much to do, friendly people every where, lots of places to visit and see, elegance, amazing views all over, is just breath taking, if you have the opportunity to go visit please do so, and if you are planning your next vacation you should totally keep this gorgeous amazing place in mind trust me you will be never regret it

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Micht09travelforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcellenceCollection, Online Brand Controller at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as your vacation destination and for taking the time to write and share your feedback with other travelers.

We are very pleased to read that you were amazed by the resort itself, plentiful choices of things to do nad see, and the staff made your stay awesome.

At our hotel, we strive to make every stay, as close to perfection as possible and we will continue working hard in this direction to provide the best vacation experience ever. We will forward your kind words to the entire team for their contribution.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and have another opportunity to pamper you with our attentive service creating another unforgettable experience. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my review of our experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres from January 12-19, 2020. I will list the pros and the cons in no particular order for your review. I hope you find this review helpful in your decision to stay at Excellence.

This is not controllable by the hotel but worth mentioning. The weather was excellent all seven days. Day time highs were in the low 80’s and nighttime lows in the mid to upper 70’s while we had snow and single digits back in Kansas. It did not rain while we were there.

PROS:

Good pastries for breakfast in the Italian restaurant which served as both the breakfast and lunch buffet.

I had some of the best Huevos Rancheros for breakfast that I have ever eaten.

Dinner reservations are not required, giving you flexibility to eat when you feel like it.

Choice of 11 dining venues and we were never forced to wait for a seat.

Grounds are very well-maintained, manicured and clean.

The main swimming pool is very nice along with the two lazy rivers.

Large number of bars to choose from and the bartenders were very entertaining and animated.

Excellent coffee in the restaurants.

Sand on the beach is very fine and soft. No seashells to cut your feet while walking like on FL beaches.
For 4 of our 7 days we had a wonderful poolside bar server named Guadalupe. She remembered our names everyday and provided prompt, yet unobtrusive service.

The bed mattress is the air foam type. Very comfortable.

CONS:

Inconsistent and discriminatory application of dining attire. I arrived at the lunch buffet building wearing a Corvette cap. Before I could be seated outdoors, I was told I had to remove the cap while I was standing outdoors at the check in counter. In the same restaurant while dining outdoors, a British man wearing a driving cap was seated, allowed to enter the restaurant twice and dine outdoors. Clearly they have a policy against Americans as they probably resent President Trump’s drive to stop illegal Mexican immigration into the US. Nowhere in their restaurant dress codes do they ever mention caps, either prohibited or allowed. Take my word for it; caps are not allowed if you are an American.

Employees fumigated for mosquitoes in the area near the lazy river and Buildings 1 and 2 at 4 o’clock in the afternoon. We stayed in Building 2 and the fumes drove us indoors where my wife kept coughing for 10-15 minutes. You spray for mosquitoes during the nighttime when people are sleeping, not at 4pm when the area is full of people. The next morning, our hallway still reeked of the mosquito killing chemicals.

Shower alternates between hot and cold about every 10 seconds when using the adjustable shower head. There was no problem with the rain head faucet. Makes taking a shower “interesting” to say the least.

No crepe bar. Iberostar Grand has the most wonderful crepe bar at breakfast. We were sorely disappointed this was missing.

No phone service in our room nor the entire building we were in. There was limited wireless in many parts of the complex. We never had this problem at Iberostar Grand last year.

The room’s furnishings are very dated. There is zero privacy in the rooms. There is no door to the bathroom area. The shower has a 3’ x 3’ window looking out into the room. There are two mirrors suspended by chains over the sinks. There is no wall between the headboard of your bed and the bathroom, just those two mirrors about 20” in diameter. You can look into the bathroom and shower from the sitting area of the room. The water closet has a frosted glass door except for a 3-4” edge of clear glass; so you could see someone using the toilet. Basically, you get to “bare it and share it” when using the bathroom.

Entire facility is dated including painting that needs to be done on some exterior surfaces of the buildings and the stain on some of the decks was fading and peeling.

They have a dedicated coffee bar and pastry shop that also sells about 20 flavors of sorbet. I was really excited to visit it as I love both coffee and sorbet. The sorbets are totally lacking in taste and have a grainy texture. Some of the worst I have ever had. Save yourself the calories.

Drunks in their robes are popping a champagne cork over the railing and hollering from the 3rd floor of Building 4 over to another building at 17:30 one afternoon. I’m on my deck watching a video waiting for my wife to finish her shower. I’m wearing headphones so as to show respect for the guests on either side of me. Apparently respect only goes in one direction at this resort. Excellence Resorts clearly places more value on making money versus ensuring that their guests behave themselves. Once they have your money they could care less what transpires.

Cigarette smoking, loud mouthed drunks take over the hot tubs making it impossible to breathe the fresh beach air and relax. Instead of crashing waves, all you hear is one drunk trying to shout over another drunk. This tended to happen in the afternoons because the drunks were sleeping off their hangovers from the previous day. Again, Excellence Resorts clearly places more value on making money versus ensuring that their guests behave themselves.

Clean Room sign means nothing. We leave our room at 07:30 and put up the Clean Room sign. Come back around 12:30 to change for lunch and the room is not clean. Come back from lunch and they’re cleaning the room preventing us from changing to go back to the pool. This happened several times during our stay.

The music at night is obtrusively loud both while outside on your deck and in your room. Why must they have live bands cranking up their speakers every night? We stayed in Building 2, and I can’t imagine how loud it must have been in Buildings 1 or 7.

The waiter in the Indian restaurant rushed us through our meal. We had just placed our drink order and within a minute or two, he was back impatiently waiting for our food order, yet it took him 10 minutes to bring our drinks!

As you can see the cons outweigh the pros and I would not recommend Excellence Playa Mujeres. The two show stoppers for us were the lack of privacy in the rooms and the haphazard application of mosquito fogger into the guest’s lungs. I believe you will be happier at Iberostar Grand located very close to the Excellence facility. It will provide a better customer experience for you.

Room tip: Stay away from the stairs and elevators. The drunks are hooting and hollering starting at 12 midnight until about 2am. Friday is the worst
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank LS6CarGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcellenceCollection, Online Brand Controller at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Excellence Playa Mujeres and for taking the time to share this review with the TripAdvisor community.

On the one hand, we are very pleased to read that our immaculate grounds and facilities were great and you enjoyed plentiful restaurant choices to eat great food and no reservations are required, so our guests can thoroughly their holidays and do not have to stress about making one in advance.

On the other hand, we are sorry to read that the dress code, noisy guests and smoking policies were not enforced strictly. Therefore, please, rest assured that your discontent has been already addressed to the appropriate department in order to straighten the policies which currently applies in our property.

Last but not least, we would like to emphasize that at Excellence Playa Mujeres, we are absolutely aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guest to make feel them comfortable in our hotel. Besides, our maintenance team fumigates constantly to have a hygiene in all the facilities and avoid this kind of issues.

Nonetheless, we assure you that every constructive criticism you have shared with us has been taken very seriously by our team in order to keep standards.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you with the memorable experience you deserve again. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our 2nd stay at Excellence Playa Mujeres. It was even better this time around. Aroma and the Sports Bar are awesome additions. We traveled with friends- a total of 6 in our group. We stayed in the Excellence Club section and loved it. The room was beautiful. The beach was amazing! Bali beds are my new favorite! The ocean was a little too cool for me. I'm happy we had the option of heated pools in the Excellence Club. We enjoyed hydrotherapy and a massage at the spa.
A few people who made our stay excellent are: Diego (escorted us to our room upon check-in to the Excellence Club), Edgar (at the Martini Bar and Sports Bar), Juliana (Excellence Club Beach attendant extraordinaire), Guadelupe (at the Lobster House). Sadly, I cannot remember the name of more people- Edgar may have served us one too many :-)

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Cassie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcellenceCollection, Online Brand Controller at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as your vacation destination and for taking the time to write and share your feedback with other travelers.

We are very pleased to read that we were able to surpass your expectations due to the Excellence Club benefits were worth it, the relaxing massages and treatments we offered at Miilé Spa, nice room you were accommodated in, and the outstanding service provided by our staff since the attitude of our staff is intended to exceed our guests’ highest expectations and provide them a service as much personalized as possible. We can assure you that we will forward your kind words along to our team for their contribution to how memorable and special was your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and have another opportunity to pamper you with our superb service. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a wonderful vacation ! We knew it would be as this was our sixth stay at an Excellence Resort and our second time at Playa Mujeres. They do live up to their name and reputation in every way. The resort is stunning and so well maintained. The food was incredible at all the restaurants we were at. One of the things we enjoy the most at Excellence resorts is not having to make reservations for dinner, giving us the freedom to go where and when we want. Service and staff at this particular resort is truly outstanding. My partner and myself are both from a Human Resources Management background and when a server tells you that he loves his job and that he has a great boss, that says a lot. Management is also very present, walking around, talking to guests, holding a manager's cocktail party, making sure that all your needs are met. Our most sincere thanks go to all the members of the Excellence Playa Mujeres team for making our vacation such an enjoyable and memorable one. We'll definitely be back !

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 76moniquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcellenceCollection, Online Brand Controller at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Excellence Playa Mujeres and for taking the time to share this review with the TripAdvisor community.

We would like to thank you for mentioning the reasons why our guests keep on choosing an Excellence Resort. Delicious food served, pristine grounds and facilities, and above all the exceptional service provided by our lovely staff what make wonderful any holiday experience.

The strengths you mentioned are the core pillars of our identity in order to provide a memorable guest experience, as exceptional and unique as it can be. We promise to congratulate the staff you named on your behalf for their contribution to your wonderful experience whilst in our property.

We appreciate all your comments that will certainly encourage other readers to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back soon. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was first class all the way around. Facilities and a variety of options to dine out or eat in. Felt like they really wanted you there and to enjoy your stay. Lucia at the pool bar was amazing in her ability to get you anything you need with a smile and a slight bow that was adorable.You will not be disappointed. All 10 of us in our party had the same experience

Room tip: pool side swim up
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perryh189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExcellenceCollection, Online Brand Controller at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Excellence Playa Mujeres as your vacation destination and for taking the time to write and share your feedback with other travelers.

We are very pleased to know that our colleagues and amenities were able to make your stay a relaxing and memorable experience due to the excellent service provided. They are very passionate about their job and they do all their best to meet every need. It is also lovely to read that there are plenty of food choices due to the wide range of international dining options we offer. As a luxurious all-inclusive resort, we personalize our service and cuisine to suit the different tastes and preferences of all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and have another opportunity to pamper you with our superb service. Please, receive our warmest regards from The Excellence Collection.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews