We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence was Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We booked this trip with only 3 criteria in mind: only leaving for a brief side trip to Chitzen Itza; lying by a pool with each other, a stack of books, and a cold drink; and to gather up as many rays of sunlight as an Ohio winter would require to hold us over until the sun shines again come spring! Mission accomplished. The accomodations were completely beyond our expectation: beautiful rooms, beautiful pools/beaches, exceptional service on all fronts, incredible selection of bars/restaurants, completely all-inclusive as advertised! We were thoroughly pleased and impressed and would recommend this trip to anyone seeking relaxation in one of the most picturesque spots in Cancun! (our only negative comments would include that of some of those before us: the mosquitoes were particularly profound, at least at this time of year, and before the heat of day, or soon after the sun set).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SAReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12,270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,127 - 11,133 of 12,270 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2009

My husband and I spent months trying to decide where to spend our honeymoon and ended up at the Playa Mujeres. We LOVED it. Granted...we splurged and got a rooftop terrace, club level room...but that also got us a great honeymoon package, great room, etc. I'm sure we would have loved the resort without the extra amenities that we paid for ...but we really enjoyed having our own space and pool on the rooftop. We would definitely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WisHoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We returned from EPM last thusday and I'm pining for it already!
We travelled with our best friends for special anniversaries and were treated like royalty. On our 'anniversary night' we had the little exclusive room off the restaurant at Chez Izabelle. The only cost to you is a bottle of wine off the wine menu (rather than the house wine) and BOY was it worth it. We spoket to Roodolfo, the manager and he organised it. We had the Maitre' D Julio cooking for us at the table (5 course meal (including Caesar Salad, Fresh Lobster and Crepe Suzettes) I can honestly say the experience made our holiday - We felt SO special just for a few hours. (more so than the rest of the time, which is near impossible)
I cannot fault anything at anytime at the resort. If you go hungry there is no excuse, there is food 24/7 and plenty of choice. There are drinks aplenty, with the bar staff remembering what you ordered before and bringing you a drink to the beach without having to ask for it. The staff are the best we have ever come across.
Special Thanks to Perfecto in the Martini Bar for over-filling my glass of Baileys everytime, and to Maria Jose for the Coco Locos after our Sea Fishing Trip. I hope we can go back, as I don't think I will ever enjoy a holiday resort more than this one. Sheer Bliss..

Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
5  Thank LINBBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Ugly in design but the quality of the room, food and service makes this hotel stand out against the many we have stayed at throughout the world.
I read some of the negative responses written by others and all I can say is that they either have higher expectations than my wife and I or they have a negative attitude.
If you are going there, enjoy whats on offer, they dont serve cheap booze and the restaurants are first class, especially the French!
The only thing that can let this hotel down is the type of person who go there, typically the sort of person who drinks cans of beer whilst standing in the sea and when the can is empty just throws it in the water!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwc1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We spent 4 nights with another couple at the resort and we all were extremely pleased with the resort. We met a travel agent while snorkeling in the area and she said Excellence was by far the best resort she has stayed at in Cancun. You can't find better accommodations or service. The grounds are beautiful and extremely well kept. The staff goes out of their way to please...even made a trip to Walmart for us! The Excellence Club was worth it..upgrading alcohol, room service and the roof top terraces
were great! The restaurants were average at dinner but nothing that would keep us away. Already planning our return trip. Agave was my favorite restaurant. The Grill and Lobster House were good for lunch. Was dissapointed in Spice, the Japanese place, but the saki was good! Toscana was pretty good. Didn't make it to The Flavor Market and tried Chez Isabelle late one night but the wait was long. The breakfast buffet at Barcelona was good but we ordered room service most days and were very happy relaxing in the room. Suggest ordering room service for breakfast the night before so you don't have to wait. They were on time everyday. Mid afternoon snacks and late night sandwiches were great...usually took about 45 minutes unless you ordered off the 10 min express menu.
Recommend visiting the X Lounge after hours. It was a relaxing way to enjoy the beach at night. You MUST try the Miile Spa. The hydrotherapy circuit was awesome! I had a massage and facial and was pleased with both. They run daily specials so check your flyer that is left during your turn down service.
We did ask for better pillows after the first night, but the beds were very comfortable. Towels could have been softer, but if that's the worst thing you can say about a place, how bad can it be? If you aren't happy with your bar selection just ask for whatever alcohol you like and they will bring the bottle! One note, make sure you close your balcony doors all the way or the AC doesn't cool completely. When the doors are closed it's great but it will get stuffy quickly if they are not securely closed. Overall it was a fabulous, relaxing get away... wish we'd stayed longer, but we'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jenpHuntsville_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

everything written about the beautiful rooms is true, they are absolutley georgeous!!!
My husband and I arrived at 10:00 pm night and couldn't really see the grounds yet, but when we did this has to be the most beautiful Hotel Resort we have stayed in. Our room a regular junior suite blk 6000, overlooking bar and lazy river. This was our 5th time in Cancun, we stayed Oct 1st-Oct 8th. The weather was great all week !! When we arrived we were greeted nicley with towel and bubbley, then we were taken to our room 6208 and that was it? He didnt show us around at all, we had fun figuering things out all week.
We were tired from our flight so ordered room service, it arrived quickley, but was disapointing..Tortilla Soup, salad w/ ranch,philly steak sand. all were terrible. Oh well, we were just glad to be there. Then showered,got great robes and slippers,clicked on the TV and surprise!! Hardcore porno! not judgin..just a fyi to the ladies. We loved the lazy river everyday, and the hammocks!! dreamey..also the papala beds we had each day.
although...you have to fight others for a blue float, some tend to hoard and not even use!
The Food: We must not of had the resturants others are talking about?? The food was kinda of bad, wherever we ate. Maybe it's us??? Also the beds ARE hard and the sheets scratchy , but we slept ok. Only one other thing, We were blk 6000 and by the Rivive bar
and we had to go up and get our own drinks the whole week??? Service...The SPA was
over priced for us, from about $260.00 - $400.00 PER couple. We tipped, Maid Service, waiters,ect.. Didn't seem to make a difference in the service.
Summary: The Hotel and ammenities , TOP NOTCH!!
Service Not 5 Star. We felt like the only service we got were by the mosqitoes, they bite day and night. Immagine showering,changing to somthing nice, smell good too, now..
you need to spray down with DEET?? Yuk .
They give you Coke, Coke light, Tecate , Dos Equies?, even Bud/light. also candy bars and nuts.
The night before our derarture, we asked the management for a wake-up call and they said we have to go back to our room and call them? Anyway, they set our alarm clock for us to get up @ 4:30 am and we did. We went to check out and they told us it's only 2:15 am. They thought it was funny!? Meanwhile, we had to lay down in the lobby until our ride showed up. They offered us Nothing, not coffee or even water??
If you want to pay top notch prices, then wait on yourself and eat bad food, this is the place for you. We couldn't wait to get back home and eat an In-n-Out burger!!! YUM

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarribeanQueenBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

From the moment we stepped out of the airport and were greeted by our driver with a sign with our names on it to the moment we left the resort, we were awestruck. The staff makes you feel like you are the only guests at the resort. The restaraunts were wonderful, as well as the room service selections. The only minimally negative comment we have is that the resort is pretty far from many activities in Cancun and the travel time is increased. Even with this factor, my husband and I are still planning on vacationing at this resort again next year! I would give it more than five stars if I could. We have recommended this resort to many friends who have visited and had the same reaction as us.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank burdnurd14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,562 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel del Sol
Hotel del Sol
#117 of 177 in Cancun
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,993 reviews
1.6 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range: $410 - $847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing