We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Great BigThank You” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Playa Mujeres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Great BigThank You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My family spent 2 weeks at the Excellence Playa Mujeres (29th June –12th July) and I have to say thank you to the management and the staff for making our holiday such a memorable one.

The staff. There were so many wonderful staff but I would like to give a special mention to:
Gwendolina, the concierge in block 7
Gerardo, the waiter for breakfast and lunch
Angel, the bartender
Pamela in the Mexican restaurant for her wonderful hospitality.
The seating hostesses with their welcoming smiles.

Restaurants.
We found the food to be of an extremely high standard. It was beautifully presented at all times. If we asked for a slight change to the menu that was never a problem.

We have just read a review from a guest complaining about the dress code for breakfast. I would like to applaud the management in sticking to their dress policy. Guests must realise that the high standards of this hotel should be maintained at all times. This cannot be done if certain guests think that they can flaunt the rules by dressing inappropriately.

Construction. Having spent two weeks in the resort we never heard any noise whatsoever. We walked past the building site as we walked along the beach and still could not hear anything.

We loved the quiet ambience at this hotel and that is why we returned for a second time. Having stayed at Secrets Maroma, Secrets Capri, Eldorado Royalle,Eldorado Sea Side Suites and Iberostars this hotel is the best.

If you are looking for a hotel that offers beautiful rooms, great food and drink, wonderful staff and service then look no further than the Excellence.

At present we are planning a return visit for next year.
( The McLaughlin family)

Room Tip: Block 7 is central for everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danielsanibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8,211
    1,264
    319
    121
    64
See reviews for
399
8,191
81
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,591)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I visited the resort for the 3rd time from July 3rd-July 10th. Once again the staff went above and beyond to make us feel special.

We are always happy with our stay, but on this particular stay I asked if we could possibly change rooms to an excellence room facing the excellence pool with the bar. (We were already in an excellence club pool room, sans bar). We never voiced any displeasure with the current room, only asked that should an opening come up, we'd love to switch.

The next day I received a call in the room mentioning that a room was available. Long story, semi-short, we changed rooms but also received many many little touches along with it.

Naikare Mediaceja is the Guest Services Manager at the resort. She went above and beyond just changing our room. She arranged a special dinner for my wife and I. Also one evening, my wife and I were out for dinner, upon returning to our room, we found a special bottle of champagne and a drawn rose petal bath.....for no reason whatsoever. Talk about customer service.

Naikare, you are the best. We are already talking about when we are coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We attended a wedding at this resort and everything was top end, except the weather Novemeber very rainy. The entertainment was moved inside of outside theather, food and drinks great,,,,,the lobster rocks!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huffman, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

This place is awesome. It's a smaller resort, though, it does look like they're expanding with a little bit of construction going on. Didnt effect our trip one bit. The food is yummy; a great selection of restaurants to choose from. The drinks are always flowin' and their bartenders are awesome! Especially Jorge down at the pool bar!!!!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank fhenkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon on 24th of June to 9th of July it was amazing. I am one of them people who take a long time trying to find the perfect place to stay and this time it paid of Excellence Playa Mujeres is amazing! There were only a couple things that I could fault so I will start with them first

1- The beds are pretty uncomfortable even with a mattress topper it wasn’t the end of the world but did have a bit of a aching back some mornings.
2- Pool floats some guests insist that the floats are their own and forget they are there to share so if you are not using it leave it in the pool so someone else can!
3- The spice restaurant I wasn’t very impressed with the service we were sat at our table for a long time before we were asked for a drink or food, and between courses instead of taking away my cutlery he placed my dirty ones back on to the table again to use not the end of the world but I thought it was a little bit strange.

Now on to the good bits!
We arrived at about 4pm to be greeted with big smiles a cold towel and drink we were checked in quickly and shown to our room by the bellboy who explained where everything was. On leaving the day before we got a phone call to ask what time we would like our bags picking up which was nice.

The room – Our room 7201 overlooking the revive bar was lovely there was so much room. We could hear the entertainment in the evenings this didn't bother us as by the time we went to sleep about 11pm it had finished anyway. The showers were great very hot and powerful there is a window into the rest of the room it may bother some but not us and yes there only a frosted door with gaps on the bottom and top if this bothers you send your partner onto the balcony to lie on the double day bed and take in the lovely grounds. Our mini bar got refilled every day with all types of soft drinks, water, beer, wine, oreos, snickers and m&ms. There are also full bottles of Smirnoff vodka, tequila and whiskey in the room for free. We also loved the fact that there was free Wi-fi to use throughout the hotel the signal was always good enough to Skype and access Facebook.

Room service- Large choice of food to choose from it was all cooked perfectly and arrived hot within the time frame they specified on the phone.

Restaurants – Buffet restaurant for breakfast was great loads to choose from really enjoyed it, we weren’t that keen on the buffet lunch however the food was lovely but I don’t think there was enough of a variety. The grill for lunch was great food was all cooked perfectly and we could enjoy a view of the sea while we ate.
Our top 3 restaurants are
1- Basmati – we went there 3 times we enjoyed chicken tikka masala and chicken korma
2- Chez Isabelle – Went there 2 times the filet mignon was delicious
3- Grill – Went there twice it was nice to be outdoors it always seemed quiet here too.

Ground/Pools – Everything is very green the gardens are very well looked after we always saw people mowing the grass or tending to the flowers . Our favourite pool was the lazy river around the spa it was always so quiet and relaxing there. There were always available sun beds it seemed like the hotel was empty, a lot of the time we wondered where everyone was. But on walking towards the beach we realised everyone was in the main pool! This does get very busy so if you want sun beds there I would get them in the morning. The beach is beautiful white sand and clear blue water again we struggled to find sun beds during the afternoon so if you want a day on the beach grab them in the morning.

Shows- We enjoyed the Micheal Jackson show thought it was very good I can see how alot of repeat guests would be bored of it though. The comedian and fire show were also good fun to watch.

Staff – Every member of staff from concierge, restaurant staff to gardeners always made a effort to say hi and gave a big smile which is nice to see.

Trips- We went to Xcaret this was a great day out however I wouldn’t recommend doing it if the weather is scorching hot as it is just too hot to enjoy it fully but if you are having some rainy cloudy days and want to do something fun go for it.

All in all we had an amazing honeymoon we wouldn’t return to Excellence playa mujeres as we learnt our lesson on going to the same place twice but I have recommended this hotel to all my friends and family. If you are hesitating on booking don’t! Just go you won’t regret it!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in block 7201 you can hear music at night if this bothers you get a room in block 1-6 it s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We thank you for having taken time to post a review about your experience at Excellence Playa Mujeres and for choosing our hotel as your honeymoon destination. We wish you well in this especial step in your lives.

Thank you for adding very generous remarks of the positive sides of your vacation with us and mentioning the services that made your stay more comfortable. We also appreciate your detailed feedback, which helped us identify specifically the areas of opportunity encountered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our 3rd trip to Excellence Playa Mujeres and it was a pleasure to return again. A tip use the hotel's private car service for transportation to and from airport makes it so much easier.
As always property was well maintained, grounds, pool, rooms, everything. Rooms was ready as promised and we where welcomed with a bowl of fresh fruit and champagne. Met some great people and had just a wonderful time, met several who where there for multiple visits like myself, so that in it self should say something. Restaurants along with the wait staff where all outstanding and accommodating.
Again thank you to the staff and all the workers for making our stay memorable again.

**I know the gratuity is included but remember these are hard working people who bend over backwards to make your vacation perfect, leave them something extra. It goes a long way.

Look forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: We had a swim up room again which is great after a long day at the beach to just float around the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BigRick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Celebrated our 25th anniversary at Excellence Playa Mujeres from 11 to 19 July 2014. We celebrate big every 5 years and usually stay at all-inclusive resorts. Excellence was by far the best. We had a swim-up spa view suite in building 4. Nice, quiet area but only a short walk from the main pool, beach, and restaurants. Very nice, well-maintained resort. All the staff always had a smile and friendly greeting. Room service was decent and relatively quick (30 minutes). Barcelona and Flavor Market were our favorite restaurants, but all of them were good. Lunch at the beach restaurant was superior. Paella, real tacos, fresh grilled seafood. So much better than the typical beach grill. Highly recommend this resort to anyone looking at a Cancun vacation.
Booked through Travelocity which had the best total price (airfare + hotel) at the time we made our reservation.
Used USA Transfer for our airport transfer. Smooth, no issues. Would use again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PBinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 5 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 2,025 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 181 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 stars 5,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#2 of 5 in Playa Mujeres
4.5 of 5 stars 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
Hyatt Zilara Cancun
#4 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 stars 3,942 reviews
1.6 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
9.9 mi away
Live Aqua Cancun All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Property: Excellence Playa Mujeres
Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Excellence Group LLC, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing