We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Excellence Playa Mujeres
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$580
$550
Beloved Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Finest Playa Mujeres(Playa Mujeres)
$485
$384
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa(Playa Mujeres)(Great Value!)
$211
$173
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$397
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Riu Dunamar(Playa Mujeres)
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$414
$284
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$206
$158
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$41
$30
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12,994)
Filter reviews
12,994 results
Traveler rating
10,813
1,551
391
149
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10,813
1,551
391
149
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmartini barchez isabelleflavor marketlobsterthe grillsol barrooftop terracemain poolour honeymooncafe kafecarolina pazec poolnon ecroom servicebuilding conciergefrench restaurantswim up room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7,574 - 7,579 of 12,994 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We spent 10 nights at the resort and returned last weekend. The resort was amazing. The service was top notch along with the food, pool, drinks, accommodations, activities, entertainment and overall atmosphere.


Check-in. We went through 3 security gates when we arrived. Check-in took 10 minutes and we were in our room in 20 minutes.

Rooms - the room was spacious and beautiful. We had towel swans with rose petals on our bed when we arrived. Over the course of our stay, housekeeping seemed to clean up our room at least twice a day. Things were kept immaculate. My wife loved the bed but after two days, I got a sore back (she likes harder mattresses than me). We requested a mattress topper while at dinner one night and it was in place an hour later with the bed remade when we went back to the room. It was heaven after that.

Room Service/Mini-Bar - We only used room service for late night fries so we cannot say much about other dishes. Service was quick and the mini-bar was always restocked at no charge.

Food - The restaurants were excellent. However, we did not end up going to the grill or Barcelona so we cannot speak about them. We particularly liked Flavor Market, Basmati and Chez Isabelle for dinner and Toscana was always excellent for breakfast. In terms of specific dishes, our favorites were the shrimp croquette at Flavor Market, the dal and pakora at Basmati and the mahi mahi at Chez Isabelle. We received excellent service at Toscana from Juan. He was personable and funny and brought us our best dessert of the whole vacation - an off menu crème brulee. Neither of us particularly like crème brulee but this one was amazing. During the week, we went to Basmati, we asked for extra spicy Indian food and a few other specific things. Everything was made perfectly and the chef even came out to check on us. Juan, the manager at Basmati invited us back for our last night and served us himself throughout the meal. The dishes were perfect and the table was very romantic. There were rose petals, special dessert, candles, statues and we ate in front of a fountain. An incredible experience. We ate fresh pizza at the beach every day at lunch - cooked in an oven in front of us as we waited in our swimsuits. I'd highly recommend that as the lunch option.

Activities: There were activities every hour of the day. Some were athletic and others were sit-down so there was something for everyone. In particular, we enjoyed the beach volleyball, water volleyball, water aerobics, archery, towel shaping, name that song and the daily 4 pm poker in the game room. The activities were a great place to meet other people - particularly at poker. I had a riot with Dean, Mel, Gareth, Blake, Cindy, Dale, and Irving, to name a few. Dean, I won't forget the straight flush either! We ended up hanging out and eating with most of the poker crew and their significant others (particularly Suzie-we miss you) a number of nights. Great people to be around and it made our holiday even better. The activities staff at the resort were energetic, helpful and fun to be around. In particular, Addiel was a bright light everywhere he went. His presence made each activity fun and seemed to ensure that the other members of his team functioned at their highest level. To sum it up, everyone is happier when Addiel is around.

Nightly Entertainment - We liked almost all of the shows. There was usually a 7:30 act in the cafe Kafe and a 9:30 act in the theatre (right next door). In particular, we love the jazz trio, particularly Claudia Trevino as their singer. The Michael Jackson show was as good as billed. We even saw it twice and it was a different show the second time with different songs- but just as good if not better than the first time. The comedy magician and the American Way show were also excellent. The only disappointments out of over a dozen acts we saw were the Tren Latino band and the Arabian nights show. However, they were not horrible, they just paled in comparison to the other Vegas quality shows.

Other servers - We just wanted to also make a quick mention of Caesar at the martini bar and Russell at thee pool bar. Both were excellent, fast and always remembered our drinks. Sorry for forgetting your name but the pizza cook at the Sol bar was also great.

Pool - Excellent service. About 5 times during the week, I found myself reaching for my sunglasses just out of reach only to find staff present and handing them to me. The pools were beautiful, clean and there were many loungers. Probably the only negative thing we saw in the whole resort while we were there was that some guests would wake at 7 am, put towels on the loungers with umbrellas closest to the main pool and then leave for 3 hours. This happened despite notes in the daily news reminding guests that this was not allowed. So when you got to the pool at 8:30 or 9, there were 15 loungers reserved but no one there. We did speak to the general manager about it at the feedback session and she said she was aware and that they would remove the towels. The next morning, security did exactly that. Good service.

Beach - The water was beautiful and the sand was soft. There was seaweed but they cleared it every morning. I stepped on no rocks in the water. There were lots of loungers on the beach.

Service: Every employee at the resort from housekeeping, maintenance, gardening, etc. said hola or Buenos dias to us as we passed. When you got lost, staff always tried to take you, not show you, no matter what else they were doing. I cannot imagine a resort with better service - literally.

Just go, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EEH5191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

It is our pleasure to know that Excellence Playa Mujeres exceeded your expectations, making you feel relaxed and pampered all the time. Our commitment is to make of every guest experience, as exceptional and unique as it can be.

Thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to our resort facilities and atmosphere, the food & drinks quality encountered, evening entertainment, and the outstanding service provided by our staff members, who always attended to your needs. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests but reviews like yours serve us to motivate us even more; we have forwarded your message to all our Department Managers.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and have another opportunity to pamper you with our service creating another experience to remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I spent the last week of March at Excellence n Playa Mejures, Mexico. We chose this resort because we stayed at Excellence in Punta Cana a couple years ago and loved it. If customer service is a high priority for you like it is for me than you will not only enjoy that, you will be totally impressed by it at this resort! When we arrived the first thing I noticed was how beautiful the property is. Lush and colorful everywhere! A sincere, warm welcome from every member of the staff. The rooms are spotless with his and her sinks and a shower to die for.
Our room was not as close to the "busy" areas as I would've liked so I expressed this to the front desk and the next day Alfonso (the head concierge) accommodated us and moved us closer. We celebrated my birthday that Tuesday and they sent a small cake with a nice birthday card from Viginia (the general manager). They later decorated the room with balloons and streamers for when we got back from the beach, a perfect beach by the way! The restaurants are excellent and the waitstaff are as proffesional and attentive as can possibly be. I stated in the title of this review that maybe they should be rated as a 6 star resort and I say that because there really isn't one negative! Virginia, Alfonso, Cesaer,Pamela, Eric and their staffs are perfect hosts! If you want something....they will accommodate you totally.
We have been fortunate to stay in wonderful hotels when we vacation and Excellence, Playa Mejures exceeds your expectations. You really couldn't ask for a better resort. Try it and you'll LOVE it.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what room you get.....they're all beautiful!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We just returned from another amazing trip to EPM. We stayed from 3/20-3/29. As this was our 4th trip to the resort, we are pleased to say that they have maintained their already high standards.

As others have mentioned, the resort is beautiful. From the first step into the lobby, all the way down to the beach, it is what my mind conjures up when I think of paradise. We have been to other beautiful resorts in Mexico and the Caribbean and this one is right up there with all of the best. What keeps us coming back is the service.

Everyone that you encounter at EPM is friendly and will go out of his or her way to cater to your needs. Whether you opt for the Excellence Club or not, you can rest assured that you will be greeted with smiling faces and genuine friendliness. This is not the case everywhere you go.

For this trip we opted for the Excellence Club, which was worth every penny. The real value for us both was the private check-in, the heated EC pool (special Thank You to Manuel), and the snacks noon and night in the lounge. The snacks were actually very, very good and we had breakfast and lunch in the lounge during our stay. Late afternoon snacks are a great idea. The service in the lounge is great too. The bartender Jaime knew what we drank and would have a drink ready for us when we sat down.

The room was amazing as always. We had a rooftop terrace with mini-pool which was great in the afternoon. We thought bed was comfortable and have never had a problem with the bathrooms. There is an IPOD docking station in the room, which works for Iphones, but be aware that streaming services like Pandora are not available in Mexico. Make sure that you download some songs before you come if you plan on using the docking station.

Our mini-bar and nespressos were replaced daily. I love the fact that they see what you use and give you extra-anticipating our needs is obviously great. We had room service twice, once for breakfast once for lunch. The breakfast was good, the lunch was mediocre.

The best meal we had was at Chez Isabel, but we also enjoyed Barcelona, Spice and Basmati. On our last night, the guest service manager, Naikare arranged a special tasting menu for my wife and I at Flavor Market. It was romantic, fun and delicious!

Overall the food is even better since our first stay in 2009 - and it was good then compared to other all inclusives. There have been some marked improvements over time; the addition of Basmati, the brick oven pizzas at lunch and an amazing pastry chef. You will not go hungry. Please note the room service pizza is not the same as the brick oven pizza. Room service is probably an area that could use improving. It is good for breakfast but otherwise just ok and slow.

Most mornings we ate breakfast at the buffet which is certainly wonderful, but towards the end of our stay (when we were tired of totally pigging out) we ate at the lobster house. Such a great view and rather private. Also, everything is cooked fresh to order. The portion sizes are small (or probably right sized) but you don't have to be shy about ordering anything you want.

One of the marks of a fine resort is the maintenance of the property. Since we were here last (2011) the trees have all matured and has become very lush. There are an army of landscapers who are constantly preening the palm trees and tending to the grounds to keep the resort looking impeccable. We also noticed that there were maintenance workers constantly painting and tending to the usual wear and tear of a beachside resort. This is an undertaking, but the staff at EPM does it well and is unobtrusive at the same time.

EPM is the perfect place for a vacation where you want to unplug. The atmosphere is relaxed, but elegant enough that it still feels special.

Room Tip: Building 8 has nice ocean views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I had the awesome privilege of staying 3 nights at this property December 2013. (I've been meaning to write this review). We had an amazing time! Let me say everything from the cleanliness of the property to the friendliness of the staff was perfect. Our first night there was a Michael Jackson Tribute show, it was phenomenal! They did not cease to entertain, not one bit. One morning we took the bike tour offered by the hotel. It was exhilarating and very relaxing at the same time. Our guide was great, and I wish I remembered her name! She made it so fun and educational as well! The beach was lovely, lots of chairs available and we loved the wooden style huts we could lay under to get out of the sun. We truly did not want to leave this place! It was quiet, yet eventful in its own way! We would go back in a heart beat! Beautiful resort!!!! Perfect for couples!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 30Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Everything was AMAZING except for the food. The presentation of the dishes were lovely, but unfortunately the taste of the food was not very pleasant.


Other than the dining, everything else lived up to the name Excellence. It was a beautiful resort with phenomenal service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank alexa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews