We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Everything was AMAZING except for the food. The presentation of the dishes were lovely, but unfortunately the taste of the food was not very pleasant.


Other than the dining, everything else lived up to the name Excellence. It was a beautiful resort with phenomenal service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank alexa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,742 - 6,748 of 12,113 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here several years ago. We loved every minute of it. Food was great, many options to choose from. Staff went above and beyond and they were always so friendly.
Drinks were great.. always a fun drink of the day. Rooms were very nice, clean, spacious...

Although, we stayed here several years ago I feel very compelled to write a review now because...We just got back from Cancun. We stayed at Live Aqua this time & regretted every minute of it.. We kept saying that we had wish we had gone back to The Excellence.. I'm not even sure how Live gets close to Excellence with ratings on Tripadvisor because Excellence blows Live's doors off in every single aspect of what makes a vacation enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We are in our early 40's and have stayed at secrets the vine 8/10, ERC with EC 10/10, secrets capri 8/10, Dreams RC with kids 8/10
Beach: 6/10
Room: we have 7012 not EC, i love the swim out but it is incredibly noisy with all the carts going back and forth at anytime and employees not making a note to wisper!
SERVICE: 8/10 , seems to be new staff, it could be better for this class of Hotel
Pools: 10/10 all very warm this time of year, you can swim around and around or just take walks in the pool, it's great.
FOOD: 8/10 there is something for everyone
TIPS: we tip 5$ for breakfast and lunch, 5$ room cleaning, 10$ for evenings, 2$ for 2 drinks and 2 bottles of water!!
Will write again at the end of the week!


Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here March 19-26 for my birthday. We stayed in a rooftop terrace in building 9, totally perfect location. The grounds, service, beach, drinks, and food are all impeccable. People complain about the "small" portions but it's all inclusive so order more. The Lobster House for lunch and dinner, Toscana for the breakfast and lunch buffet, and Spice for asian cuisine are highly recommended! Luis at the front desk, julian at the bar by the beach/pool, and Angel at the bar outside of the theater are absolutely amazing!! The service is exceptional and you will never see anything less than a smile from the staff. The Michael Jackson show was great too! This hotel goes above and beyond and i highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We've just returned from 12 nights at the EPM and can't sum up in a few short words how much we enjoyed our holiday and how fantastic this resort is. I'd go as far as to say you'd have to have a really bad personal experience or be extremely fussy not to find this place top class. All the usual things that contribute to an outstanding location were true (service, food, rooms, cleanliness, entertainment, surroundings) - but it's rare that we see such a great balance, resulting in a fun and relaxed atmosphere everyone there seemed to enjoy.

So a few of the highlights we hope will help you to make this a very wise choice when you visit Mexico:

Check-in - the resort is very secure, behind three layers of security gates all accessible by name and room number only. We were very quickly checked in and handed two glasses of champagne, whisked up to a great room on the 3rd floor of building 1 and left to settle in

Rooms - immaculate, all beautifully decorated, spacious and great views. We had a view over the Spa and lazy river which was fine for us - I'm sure there isn't a bad view in the place. Lovely corner jacuzzi bath and large double shower area

Room Service/Mini-Bar - absolutely fantastic. Premium spirits (Tequilla, Vodka, Rum and Wine) all lined up, with beers, soft drinks and snacks in the fridge. Stocked up every day to your requirements. 24 hour excellent room service that never took more than 30-40 minutes to arrive. We had a few breakfasts on the balcony, and they were all perfectly prepared and on time!

Food - a really superb selection of restaurants, really makes it feel like you aren't at an all inclusive resort. We don't have a bad word to say about any of the food. There were 4-5 choices for restaurants at breakfast/lunch - and 9 restaurants for the evening. Our favourites were Toscana (Italian), Spice (Teppanyaki) and Basmati (Indian). Chez Izabelle is very popular and also great. Service was above and beyond in all of these places.

Entertainment - again, very high standard. Activities in place every hour of the day, around the pool or in the main building - something for everyone. 4pm Texas Hold Em in the Games Room was a great laugh. Errol - if you are reading this, I will never forget/forgive your straight flush. Shout to Blake, Irving, Dale, Gareth, Mel, Errol and all the other regulars at the table. Special shout to Adeel who was a great dealer, and added to the atmosphere.

Evening entertainment - good variety - the shows were mixed, but the singers were of a high standard, and with the bars all open late it made for a really good evening atmosphere

Pool - very spacious - loads of beds, fantastic service all day long

Beach - lovely beach, great waters - sometimes a bit of seaweed washed up, but quickly dealt with

Service - always first class, always delivered with a smile, consistent and rarely unworthy of a tip. They are good people and we appreciated their efforts

Spa - first rate spa. We took the Excellence couple massage with Wellness before. Really good quality and well worth the money.

And finally - the people.....we met many fantastic people on the trip - so we want to say thanks to: Honeymooners - Sophie and Pete, Gareth and Cerys, Stephen & Christine, Dustin & Katy - congratulations again! Irving and Mrs Irving (terrible with names!), The Canadian Mob - Dale 'Papi', Cindy, Steve, Marylin, Drew & Gigi - great couple of nights of food & booze, fantastic laughs and slight terror that I was going to be taken back in Cindy's luggage. Poker hustler & volleyball expert Errol and his lovely wife Parveen.

So in short - stay here and have no regrets!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Dean82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Playa Mujeres, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

It is our pleasure to know that Excellence Playa Mujeres meet your expectations, making you feel relaxed and pampered all the time. Our commitment is to make of every guest experience, as exceptional and unique as it can be.

Thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to our resort facilities and atmosphere, the food & drinks quality encountered, evening entertainment, and the outstanding service provided by our staff members, who always attended to your needs.

We are looking forward to welcome you back and have another opportunity to pamper you with our service creating another experience to remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Really great experience for that 'relaxing holiday'. Preferred its location to anything else on the Cancun strip and as far down to Playa del Carmen. Ten minutes from Cancun, be secluded or included in activities, the choice is yours. Rooms great no matter what your choice just read carefully and look at the hotel plan to check location of rooms.. Club level gives you a few perks but not absolutely necessary if you are on a budget. Hotel staff more than excellent, friendly, well trained and helpful. Food in abundance and very good quality, the lunch buffet in the Toscana Restaurant is probably our favorite. But all very close just your preference. Everything was perfect but the 'timeshare' agents who grab you as you arrive at the airport and pretend to be tour guides helping you find your transfers. WATCH OUT for them and give no money to them. Your transfer cars/buses are outside the terminal so go straight there. Have a great time.

Room Tip: Read infor well and make your choice based on your own preferences for budget and/or position becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brucelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was our 2nd Excellence vacation. Previously visited Punta Cana. Playa Mujeres tops out with more modern facilities, top notch service all around.

Food: best ever at an all inclusive, if you like room service make sure you upgrade to excellence club. Service is faster and increased selection.

Service: best ever, if you don't see it, just ask - it is true, every luxury is looked after.

Grounds: exterior of the buildings showing slight wear, but they are working on it. Otherwise very clean, and well kept everywhere throughout the resort.

Suggestion: add a coffee or Cappuccino bar for after breakfast coffee. Hard to get one, and would have enjoyed sitting in the lobby to relax.

I would highly recommend this resort to couples looking to relax, without a late night party as the evenings shut down around midnight.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank DomLYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,687 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Live Aqua Beach Resort Cancun
1.6 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range: $395 - $784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Savannahville Tours N.V., BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing