We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, Best All Inclusive Yet!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excellence Playa Mujeres
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We two couples just returned from a 6 night stay at the Excellence in Playa Mujeres. We have been to several all inclusive resorts in the Caribbean. Typically, the food is average and the wine unacceptable (exception is the Velas Resorts and Frieda at the Pacifico Sunset in Cabo). We all agreed that it would be hard to complain about much at the Excellence. While we didn't even make it to all of the restaurants, we were able to eat at our first choice place every evening with no reservations and only a modest wait. Our favorites were the French, Italian and Asian. The Mexican was surprisingly, the least appealing. The rooms are outstanding (approx.. 800 sq. ft. )spaces with en suite Jacuzzi, double shower, lovely furnishings, stocked mini bar and queen size chaise on the ample terrace. The 7 pools and plentiful cabanas and lounges both poolside and on the beach were always available for us. Nightly entertainment is very good with a mix of acoustic voice and guitar, Latin dance quintet and cruise style dance reviews to taped music. The location is terrific, not crowded with hotels and within a short ferry ride of the Isla Mujeres, which shouldn't be missed. To a person, the staff were gracious and hospitable. We send a special hello to our great poolside man, Arturo!

Our only complaint was that for a hotel of this caliber, the beds and bedding should be upgraded. Softer mattresses and pillows and cotton percale sheets would bring the rooms to a perfect 10! If you go, make sure to ask for a king bed and try to get on the third or fourth floor. Do not pay extra for the swim up suite. They have no view and the patios aren't nearly as nice or private as balconies.

Room Tip: Don't do swim up Suite, costs extra and isn't as comfy or private as balconies As in most p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank chicagoloopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12,270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,012 - 7,018 of 12,270 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

I can't say enough about the service, entertainment, comfort, quality and variety of the food and the exceptionally professional and friendly staff. This place was so over the top that I was almost uncomfortable with the level of pampering. We loved that it was secluded. The grounds were lavish and impeccably manicured. The beach was amazing. Every day at lunch, they set up a themed dining experience right on the beach, with live music to boot. The amount and variety and caliber of entertainment was unbelievably good. We would come back here in a heart beat. One of my pet peeves is food waste, and one of the many things I liked about this place, is that the portions are small, allowing you to order several items without any food waste.

Room Tip: We chose a room in the 5000 block of buidings. It was great because it was a bit further away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Julianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We returned to our favorite resort for 'St Valentine's' week because we know that this resort is the BEST! and that we were certain to have a wonderful couples vacation. All our expectations were exceeded once again and this explains why we have been there so many times and will continue to return. Rooms are magnificent, as are the grounds and gardens - all are immaculate (and housekeeping is perfect as is the in-room food and bar service). The food and drink throughout the resort are really imaginative and terrific - and they will adapt to your desires. All of the staff are there to make your vacation superb - always with a smile and attentive to your wishes. It's hard to single out individuals as they are all so great, but particular praise to Fidel -the superfantastic pool barman, as well as Alberto and Ramon and Armando at The Grille, Tian at Basmati and Ana and all of staff at both Spice and Chez Isabelle (our 4 favorite restaurants this time). The same top service is true at any of the Bars and restaurants. The entertainment is also a cut above including professional theatre shows, and music that’s great: rock, latin and pop bands and lots of others. This resort is TOP no doubt due to the warmth and professionalism instilled by Virginia and Eric who are first-class managers. Don't hesitate - you won't regret it: 5-STAR all the way!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Latkes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have just returned from EPM..we were there for 11 days, we have already been to the ERC and The Beloved..so we had high expectations..arriving at the gates and not being on the list of guest were alittle worrying, great reception area and prompt check in, they don't realise you have been before unless you tell them which I thought this strange, my emails to them earlier on in the month allowed us to have a welcome back prezzie in the room though..the hotel is beautiful, the grounds spectacular, the beach does have a problem with lots of sea weed but they work really hard to keep it clear..rooms are so beautiful and well appointed..just what we hoped for..we had a spa view that suited us as it was quiet..block 5..I have to say we had a few issues, in the first 5 days we were their our room only got turned down in the evening twice,but one call sorted that out...my husband had found the toilets at the pool rather un clean, and the handle to the ladies toilet was broken for many days at the pool..some times in the Toscana we had been sat at tables that were not fully set out, no spoons and or side plates missing, also one night we sat at a restaurant for over an hour with no water and no top up to our drinks, they were very busy and we felt bad to mention it as a few more waiters would have made all the difference to the service. Give the manager their due, they quickly apologised and asked us to return another night at a pre arranged time for a retry, which turned out to be what we would have expected...you may feel this is petty but the excellent service makes or breaks a meal. We were having second thoughts about EPM, as at nights, watching the shows, we were not getting waiter service, which we had been used to at the other excellences. My husband spoke to the guest service manager about how we were feeling, they were really upset we felt that way, our experience with service and standards for the rest of our stay were what we expected..impeccable...we came home loving the place more than ever..these people work so hard, I would like to mention a few people that went out there way to make our stay the best..Gloria in the Toscana, her smile is wonderful, Mexican restaurant, Edgar, amazing flaming coffee..Barcelona..Pamela(manager)and Gustov..Chez Izabelle..Christian..Pedro Partido (manager)..Martini bar..Cesar..speedy..!! Not forgetting Cindy at the pool waiter service..thank you all.. I am glad we spoke up about the issues as we now will go back..they acted immediately..

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
10  Thank trotters100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a seven night stay at Excellence Playa Mujeres. We have been to Couples, Sandals, and Excellence PC. This resort is way above any of those resorts. From our arrival at the airport where we had booked a private transfer with Olympus tours- definitely worth it- our driver Hector was great. Quick 25 minute ride to EPM where we were greeted with glasses of champagne and escorted to the Excellence Club lounge for check in. I highly recommend the Excellence Club - definitely worth it for the extra tlc you get.

Our room:We had booked the 2 story roof top terrace. We had room 8468. The room and view were amazing! I had read so many people complaining about the glass doors on the bathroom and shower but that was no problem for my husband and I. Besides, if you already know about this before you go- why complain about it? The room was cleaned each afternoon and turned down each night. I brought small thank you cards which I would leave for the housekeeper with a tip each day. They work hard and deserve a little extra.

The beach: The beach is cleaned each morning and the seaweed was minimal. The service on the beach was very good - thank you Raquel!!

The restaurants: There are 9 restaurants but we only stayed enough nights to try 7. Our favorites were Barcelona where we had amazing paella, the Flavor Market where Luis the amazing waiter set us up with a specially prepared chefs' dinner and Spice where we sat around the hibachi. Our least favorite was the Mexican restaurant. For lunch most days we would get the wood fired pizza and sit on the beach sipping our icebergs.

The pools: All the pools were extremely clean. We would spend our afternoon on our rooftop terrace then go down to the lazy river or the Excellence Club pool and have a few drinks- we miss your awesome drinks David - best bartender at the Excellence pool!

My husband and I had the couples 80 minute massage at the spa ( watch for the daily specials). Simply amazing - would highly recommend it!

Overall this was the best vacation we have ever had and will definitely be returning next year. All the little extras like checking in with us daily to see if we need anything to the extremely friendly staff put this resort above all others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank gads221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were at the resort for a family wedding . Because we booked late we had to upgrade to a Excellence Club suite which gave upgraded amenities , ocean view and a few other perks . One of which being access to a pool and hot tub for Club guests only with a pool butler who couldn't do enough for us. All the staff we encountered during our week stay were very friendly and were intent on doing more than just their jobs.
With the number of restaurants available we couldn't try them all, but the ones we did were excellent and the wines served were also very good.
As this is an adults only resort the entertainment started a bit later in the evening which was great because we had a chance to have a nice unhurried dinner.. There was also entertainment at some bars, so the evenings were not boring as they would be at family style resorts.
We have stayed at numerous five star resorts on both coasts of Mexico and can honestly say that this resort and its' staff are a cut above the rest.

This resort truly defines " INSTANT SERVICE".

Room Tip: Take a second or third floor room unless you don't mind a bit more traffic. The next time we st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Everything about the Excellence was EXCELLENT!! The hotel was immaculate, the service was outstanding, the staff was the MOST friendly and helpful we have encountered in 12 years(including many Sandals resorts). The guest services manager --Naikare Mediaceja was fantastic, she went out of her way to make our stay memorable. The staff at Toscana for breakfast--Armando, Josue, and Alfredo made each morning an adventure, with our departing day a special celebration!! Pamela from Barcelona gave two memorable evenings --- the second being a special 6 course delicious dinner!! While on the beach Gladys took care of us each day, always there and always remembering our order. The only thing I would change would be to add a RETURN GUEST REWARD POLICY. THANK YOU for a wonderful vacation!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose one on the ground floor along the Lazy River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank snowbirds54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Mujeres
0.1 mi away
Finest Playa Mujeres
Finest Playa Mujeres
#3 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,562 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel del Sol
Hotel del Sol
#117 of 177 in Cancun
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beloved Playa Mujeres
Beloved Playa Mujeres
#1 of 7 in Playa Mujeres
3,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa del Palmar Cancun Beach Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,993 reviews
1.6 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excellence Playa Mujeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Playa Mujeres

Address: Prolongacion Bonampak, S/N, Punta Sam | Lote Terrenos 001 MZ. 001 Sm. 003, Zona Continental, Playa Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Playa Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Mujeres
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Mujeres
Price Range: $410 - $847 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Excellence Playa Mujeres 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury adults-only resort nestled among seven swimming pools on a powdery white sand beach, in a community that boasts a spectacular Greg Norman signature golf course. This jewel of Cancun sets a new standard of luxury for all-inclusives with finely tuned amenities such as one-of-a-kind accommodations including two-story rooftop terrace suites with a private Plunge pool, meticulous service, gourmet cuisine, an exquisite spa and the signature Excellence Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Savannahville Tours N.V., Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Excellence Playa Mujeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excellence Playa Mujeres Hotel Playa Mujeres
Excellence Hotel Playa Mujeres
Playa Mujeres Excellence Hotel
Excellence Playa Mujeres Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing